GA Help --- Should I give her the shot???

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Miriam Van Scott, Jul 7, 2021.

  1. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Harriett is on Lantus, 1.5 units twice a day

    Yesterday, her morning BG was 204 (that's typical lately) and she started to eat so I gave her the shot. However she only ate a few bites of food (usually gobbles it up!) then wouldn't eat any more. She threw up (hairball and saliva) and just wanted to sleep.

    She refused to eat ANY of her lunch or dinner. Threw up again (same as before) that afternoon. I did NOT giver her the evening insulin shot since she hadn't eaten.

    This morning her BG was 468 --- highest it's EVER been! She still won't eat so my question is: do I give her the shot to bring her number down or skip the SECOND shot in a row, even though her number is so high?

    PS - Please don't say 'take her to the Vet,' we're already scheduled for an appointment today. I'm wondering about what to do NOW!

    Thanks!
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Has she not eaten at all except for the few bites of food with the AM shot yesterday? Does she have a history of ketones?
    What does her vomit look like?
     
  3. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    She had a tiny amount of food yesterday 6am, nothing since. Her vomit is mostly watery with a very small amount of undigested food
     
  4. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    No history of ketones. She was diagnosed last year and no complications since then
     
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Do you have and ondansetron? Is there any food you can tempt her with? Doesn't matter if it's high carb. She needs to eat.

    What time is the appointment with the vet?
     
  6. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    We gave her a regular (high carb) cat treat but she vomited it back up.

    Our appointment is at 10am (about 2 hours from now)
     
  7. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    So glad you are taking her to the vet. Prayers your kitty will be okay.
     
  8. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If you have any Ketostix I would try and test a urine sample if you can, just to check ketones are not in the picture.
    If you are unsuccessful I would make sure the vet tests for ketones.
    It sounds as if she will need an injection of cerenia to help with the vomiting. also….ask for some oral cerenia and ondansetron medications to bring home.
    I would give her a 1/2 dose of the insulin. And keep monitoring the BG after the dose.
    It would be very helpful if you could set up a spreadsheet after things settle down.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  10. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Back from the vet, with sad news. Harriett has DKA and is in kidney failure. She's badly dehydrated so they've given her IV fluids and vitamins, and now we're praying she somehow rallies and gets through this.
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry to hear this. Prayers that she gets well soon!
     
  12. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Thank you!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm so sorry, praying she'll be ok ,please keep us updated
    Come on Harriet we are all rooting for you ♥:bighug::bighug:

    :bighug:
     
  14. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I am so sorry Harriett has DKA. Please let us know how she gets on.
    Hopefully, the kidney values will improve with rehydration and as the DKA improves.
    We don’t many vines.
     
  15. Miriam Van Scott

    Miriam Van Scott New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Thank you so much to everyone who replied or sent advice. It's wonderful to have your support and see photos of your adorable cats.

    Unfortunately, Harriett had underlying congenital kidney and pancreas problems and did not respond to DKA treatment. She crossed the Rainbow Bridge today at 8 years & almost 2 months old.

    I thank you all again, and hope for better outcomes and long lives for all these beautiful animals.
     
  16. A Fae

    A Fae Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2021
    So sorry your fur baby has crossed.:bighug:
     
  17. Librarianista

    Librarianista Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2021
    Oh dear :(

    So very, very sorry for your loss.
     
  18. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm so sorry Miriam , fly high sweet Harriet ♥:bighug::bighug:cat_wings>o
    Please take care Miriam :bighug:
     
  19. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    So deeply sorry for your loss Miriam. Your sweet Harriet will join all the beautiful kitties that have crossed the Rainbow Bridge.
     
  20. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm so sorry for your loss.
     
  21. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    So sorry Fly High pretty little one:rb_icon:cat_wings>o:rb_icon:
     
  22. Purrberry

    Purrberry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2020
    My goodness..I am so very sorry. cat_wings>o
     
  23. Jay Dee

    Jay Dee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2021
    I’m so sorry for your loss cat_wings>o
     
  24. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    I'm so sorry for your loss. Give her siblings extra hugs.
     

Share This Page