Kathy4Skipper
Member Since 2021
Part One is located here: post-2811519
On 6/29/2021, Skipper's PMPS values were dropping:
PM test at 8:49pm = 198.
PM test at 9:10pm = 197. Fed everybody else but Skipper, which might have been a mistake because "anticipation releases insulin." per google search.
PM test at 9:40pm = 190.
PM test at 10pm = 178.
I wasn't sure what exactly to do since he was dropping, so I gave a token dose of 0.25u. I remember that @FrostD said he might drop if he hadn't eaten in a long time, but I fed 1/2 his meal at +9, so my thought was that he was dropping because the insulin was still working. (thoughts welcomed!)
The token dose obviously wasn't enough because his next morning AMPS=HIGH. The rest of the day was good with a PMPS=272, so I gave his full dose of 1.75u in the evening.
This morning's AMPS=185, so I stalled 20 minutes.
AMPS+20 minutes = 203, so I went ahead and gave his full dose of 1.75u.
Now that I'm thinking about it, I read that if his "preshot is above 200 but lower than his normal preshot, a lower dose may be wise."
Since I didn't give a lower dose this morning but rather his regular dose, I'm wondering if I messed up... or if you think this was a good dose to give since we're finally getting into the lower numbers.
What do you think?
On 6/29/2021, Skipper's PMPS values were dropping:
PM test at 8:49pm = 198.
PM test at 9:10pm = 197. Fed everybody else but Skipper, which might have been a mistake because "anticipation releases insulin." per google search.
PM test at 9:40pm = 190.
PM test at 10pm = 178.
I wasn't sure what exactly to do since he was dropping, so I gave a token dose of 0.25u. I remember that @FrostD said he might drop if he hadn't eaten in a long time, but I fed 1/2 his meal at +9, so my thought was that he was dropping because the insulin was still working. (thoughts welcomed!)
The token dose obviously wasn't enough because his next morning AMPS=HIGH. The rest of the day was good with a PMPS=272, so I gave his full dose of 1.75u in the evening.
This morning's AMPS=185, so I stalled 20 minutes.
AMPS+20 minutes = 203, so I went ahead and gave his full dose of 1.75u.
Now that I'm thinking about it, I read that if his "preshot is above 200 but lower than his normal preshot, a lower dose may be wise."
Since I didn't give a lower dose this morning but rather his regular dose, I'm wondering if I messed up... or if you think this was a good dose to give since we're finally getting into the lower numbers.
What do you think?
