Here is what I think is wrong...

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Peggy and Mickey (GA), Jul 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Peggy and Mickey (GA) Well-Known Member

I came home this am and fed all of the cats...Now at 8am or so I will test and shoot Mickey...And I just realized that I am testing him on a food spike..I think. Someone had mentioned this. So he ate at 6:30 so his food already kicked in which is giving me higher numbers...right?? or am I off base?

2. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

I would think that he would have a bit higher #'s when you first test after feeding him, and then once the insulin kicks in (I think it's about an hour after shooting.. I don't know), then the insulin would start bringing his #'s down. I'm no expert by far, though, and hopefully someone on here can answer your question.

When I test Blackie 1 hour after she eats and gets her shot, sometimes the # is a bit higher, and then it gradually drops to her nadir #. Sometimes the # starts dropping after. Like I said, I'm not an expert on this by any means. LOL Just seems logical.

3. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

Yes, your test could be affected by the food. It may not make that much difference, but the #s do go up after they eat. Mr. Tinkles usually goes up by 100 or so after eating. The general advice is to not feed for 2 hours before testing and shooting to avoid the food affecting the test. That was why I asked you when you were feeding in relation to the testing.

Onset for the insulin is about +2.