How is Misty looking?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bree & Misty, Oct 3, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bree & Misty

    Bree & Misty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Hi,
    How are Misty's numbers looking?
    We've seen some blues and greens in the pm cycles, but every curve I've done in the past month seems to have fallen on a bounce day.
    Also, I reduced today, was that the right choice? I know according to the SLGS method Misty earned one, I only ask because after a previous technically earned reduction, @JanetNJ said she thought I shouldn't have reduced yet and the low number was a one time thing. Thoughts?
    Thanks!
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Oh nice! Yep earned that reduction. :).
     
    Bree & Misty likes this.
  4. Bree & Misty

    Bree & Misty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Thank you!
     
  5. Bree & Misty

    Bree & Misty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  6. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    If she goes back up and is over 120ish over the next 3-4 days you can always go back up in dose. :)
     
    Bree & Misty likes this.
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Janet just curious since Misty earned a reduction on 10-2 during the night cycle and then on 10-3 AMPS she shot 1 unit, then 10-3 Night Cycle she shot 1.5 units
    What would the units be for 10-4 AMPS
    @JanetNJ
     
  8. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Hi Diane!

    Dose reductions are done with Prozinc based on the most recent full dose, which was 1.75U. The dose reduction is taken from the last full dose that produced the low, (not the token dose because of a lower than normal pre-shot), so the reduced dose going forward should be 1.5U.

    @Bree & Misty - You're doing fantastic!!
     
    Bree & Misty and JanetNJ like this.
  9. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    1.5
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thank you @Shelley & Jess :cat:
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  11. Teetee (UK)

    Teetee (UK) Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    I'm confused by this, although it not hard to confuse me lol.
    Why has Misty earned a reduction, well i know why of sorts. The SLGS method states that if Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot which Bree did.
    Yet on the modified prozinc method which i use for Duke it states reduce the dose by 0.25u anytime you see a BG below 50 on a human meter or 68 on a pet meter.
    Can anybody explain why this is to me please, as i say i'm confused.
    @JanetNJ @Shelley & Jess
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  12. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    One is a more aggressive protocol than the other. Some are not comfortable with their cats at lower numbers, esp at first.
     
    Shelley & Jess and Teetee (UK) like this.
  13. Teetee (UK)

    Teetee (UK) Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    Thanks @JanetNJ, that explains it perfectly.
     
  14. Bree & Misty

    Bree & Misty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Thank you :)
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  15. Bree & Misty

    Bree & Misty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    I'm not able to test often enough to follow MPM because of my work schedule, so I stick with slgs to keep Misty safe since I'm gone most of the day and won't know if she's dropping into hypo range. :)
     
    Shelley & Jess and Teetee (UK) like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page