Huge Swings. Any advice appreciated.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MeltyCat

Member
I gave low carb wet food at 7:00pm.
Gave 2u at 7:30pm.
Gave dry meal at 8:30pm.

PMPS 23.4 (7:00pm)
+1 - 21
+2 - 14.7
+3 - 9.8

(this is usually where I start to get anxious)
At about +3.25 (10:45) I go test crazy.

10:45 - 6.2 (Ah! Dropping fast.)
10:55 - 5.4 (GIVE ALL THE TREATS)
11:05 - 5.8 (This is where I should have relaxed)
11:25 - 5.4 (no no no no no)
11:45 - 5.9 (Inner voice, he's been at 5 and change for over an hour and he's in great humor, it's time to stop freaking out)

Any suggestions on what to do to avoid this are much appreciated.
 
The lowest he can go safely is about 60 mg/dL or 3.3 mmol/L and he wasn't near that.
So,
Test
- if about his normal pre-shot, feed
- if way below his normal pre-shot, stall 30 minutes without feeding and go back up to Test until he is shootable or you decide to skip
Wait 30 minutes
Shoot - maybe 1.75 instead of 2.0 units, although he remained safely high enough so you could shoot 2 units
+2 feed some more
Depart
Come home
Test

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top