I shot at 99 this morning!

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Kathy G, Mar 12, 2019.

  1. Kathy G

    Kathy G Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oliver seems to be holding very well at 0.2 units. Should I keep him here awhile longer or start weaning him off?
     
  2. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    That's a lovely cycle today! And great job getting that mid-cycle number today too. I don't think I would take him off just yet. Although if he keeps going like this, my hunch is he'll give you something in the 70's or 80's for PS soon, and force you to skip. Anecdotally, folks around here have found that the better a cat is holding their numbers in the 50-80 range, the better chance of the remission sticking. There's no research that I've found for that, but it's a long-held belief around here. So we typically keep the insulin going as long as it's safe. And so far it's still safe. Fingers crossed for soon though...
     
    Kathy G likes this.
  3. Kathy G

    Kathy G Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    My son got the midcycle for me since I'm at work. He doesn't like to do it but will if I beg....lol
     
    Djamila likes this.
  4. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Go Oliver !’
     
  5. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    What a good son! Kudos to him for taking care of Oliver when it's really important! And good job, mama, for raising a kiddo who will step up!
     
  6. Kathy G

    Kathy G Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Oliver had a pmps of 84 so I went ahead and reduced his shot to 0.1. I'll get some midcycle numbers. :D
     
  7. Rachel

    Rachel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    That's a lovely PMPS! I hope that the numbers stay nice and low for you!
     
  8. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oops. I'm so sorry that I didn't say that more clearly! I meant if you get a number in the 70's or 80's, to go ahead and skip and see how he does for the cycle! Although it doesn't look like the 0.1u hurt anything :cool:. Love seeing these great numbers!
     
  9. Kathy G

    Kathy G Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    The reduction was just for that cycle......we're back up to 0.2 units. :)
     
    Djamila likes this.
  10. Kathy G

    Kathy G Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    And we have our first skipped dose due to a low pre-shot! :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2019
  11. Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA)

    Daddy Jack's Mommy (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Oh my goodness! Oliver is looking good!
     
  12. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Oooooh! This is exciting! Go Oliver!
     

Share This Page