Im going crazy with all these new symptoms

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lando demando, Aug 30, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lando demando

Lando demando Well-Known Member

I am hoping for some reassurance or cheering on. Since i started Landos Insulin 8/18 he had anorexia, suspected pancreatitis and today is having trouble breathing! He had lots of mucus and runny eyes. Am i doing something wrong!? This feels like an avelanche.

i stopped the curve i started today, but will continue with his insulin. Unless its dangerous to shoot when a cat is VERY congested

2. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

Sorry no one has responded, I hope you took him to the vet today :bighug:

Lando demando likes this.
  3. DArcey and Buddy

DArcey and Buddy Member

I’m not an expert, but I am really sorry to hear you and your kitty are going through all this.

With the trouble breathing, if it has not resolved, you may want to go to the vet.

In terms of the pancreatitis and the anorexia, I hope I can offer some reassurance. When a cat is dealing with pancreatitis, they often stop eating, so the anorexia may be caused by the pancreatitis- and with the right meds, you can likely get both under control. My cat Buddy was in the hospital a month ago, and one of the main things that put her there was very severe pancreatitis (as well as DKA). It was so bad that the vets suggested we might have to put her to sleep. A few weeks later, with the right meds, she is eating well, has regained weight, and is back to her normal self.

For a long time, she only had “suspected” pancreatitis as well, and so we did not have any meds for her. She would stop eating, and sit in the meatloaf position, and generally not be feeling well when she would have flare ups of the pancreatitis. Now, with the proper meds, she seems to be thriving.