JADE 10/30/21 AMPS 456 +5=352//PMPS 452

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
She sure runs high in the morning. Acting normal (spunky) and has pooped (twice!). Vet says to stay on .5 unit for a week and then to do a curve next week at some point. Will probably have to be on Tuesday as it's my only day off.
 
You mean if she’s less than 200?
Yes. It’s so difficult knowing exactly what to do.
Also, I just took a new job and I work from 3-11:30
sometimes. I think my vet took that into consideration as well. The thought of Jade going hypo when I’m gone causes incredible anxiety for me. So, she thought it best for both of us to start low and increase as opposed to start higher and decrease. I keep a very close eye on her behavior as well.
Do you think this is a bad idea?
 
A couple of thoughts...

A timed feeder can help you to be less anxious about being at work. It was very helpful for me given that I was working full time when I was managing Gabby's diabetes. You can have the feeder open so there's food available if Jade's numbers are dropping.

Just an FYI - Ultimately, you're going to need to shoot lower numbers. We typically suggest that new members post and ask for help if they have a reshot that's lower than 200. You're not really a "new" member but it's been a while since you've been giving insulin. I'd encourage you to not skip unless necessary and, there are options other than skipping outlined in the dosing methods sticky.

Jade's numbers may be a bit high if you just started insulin on 10/26. It takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to form. With SLGS, you'll want to wait a week before increasing the dose.

Also, a housekeeping item -- could you edit your subject line to include Jade's name?
 
A couple of thoughts...

A timed feeder can help you to be less anxious about being at work. It was very helpful for me given that I was working full time when I was managing Gabby's diabetes. You can have the feeder open so there's food available if Jade's numbers are dropping.

Just an FYI - Ultimately, you're going to need to shoot lower numbers. We typically suggest that new members post and ask for help if they have a reshot that's lower than 200. You're not really a "new" member but it's been a while since you've been giving insulin. I'd encourage you to not skip unless necessary and, there are options other than skipping outlined in the dosing methods sticky.

Jade's numbers may be a bit high if you just started insulin on 10/26. It takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to form. With SLGS, you'll want to wait a week before increasing the dose.

Also, a housekeeping item -- could you edit your subject line to include Jade's name?
Oops. Of course! And definitely I’m planning on doing a curve next week, probably on Tuesday. Since she went below 200 for PMPS on the very first evening, I felt comfortable following the vets advice on not shooting. I 100% know that following her advice will not always happen and feel I confident in the instruction I get from you guys. And, sometimes I take advice from both and follow my gut. I will relearn, it just takes a little time. I ALWAYS appreciate the feedback/ guidance. This is the very first place I came to when she relapsed.
 
Yes. It’s so difficult knowing exactly what to do.
Also, I just took a new job and I work from 3-11:30
sometimes. I think my vet took that into consideration as well. The thought of Jade going hypo when I’m gone causes incredible anxiety for me. So, she thought it best for both of us to start low and increase as opposed to start higher and decrease. I keep a very close eye on her behavior as well.
Do you think this is a bad idea?
Well with your work schedule maybe that’s just the way it has to be. Eventually you will have to shoot when she’s under 200 or you won’t be able to get her regulated, I don’t think. If you can at least get her into healthier blue numbers it would be good. Don’t stress though. Right now you are just starting and you will get a feel for how she responds to the insulin and if she is a diver or bouncer. But this takes time.
 
Some people on this board work during the day and they manage it. I bet you will make it work! I’m wondering if there’s a sticky note that talks about working and trying to manage insulin.
 
Wonderful- I just read Sienne’s comments about the auto feeder. I was going to suggest it. It’s going to be okay. You already know you will get lots of good help here. Take care!
 
Wonderful- I just read Sienne’s comments about the auto feeder. I was going to suggest it. It’s going to be okay. You already know you will get lots of good help here. Take care!
Oh. One more thing you probably already know that skipping a dose is (usually) not the best option. Consistency is important! As Sienne said, there are frequently other options. That’s where this great Board comes in!
 
This post is about TR specifically, but the tips work just as well for people using SLGS.
Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
When she goes to 1 unit, if she’s a bit on the low
Then you will definitely have to shoot below 200.
I know that and I will for sure when the time comes. Her curve is on Tuesday and I’m quite certain we will go to 1 unit. First time around with her, I did shoot under 200.
 
A couple of thoughts...

A timed feeder can help you to be less anxious about being at work. It was very helpful for me given that I was working full time when I was managing Gabby's diabetes. You can have the feeder open so there's food available if Jade's numbers are dropping.

Just an FYI - Ultimately, you're going to need to shoot lower numbers. We typically suggest that new members post and ask for help if they have a reshot that's lower than 200. You're not really a "new" member but it's been a while since you've been giving insulin. I'd encourage you to not skip unless necessary and, there are options other than skipping outlined in the dosing methods sticky.

Jade's numbers may be a bit high if you just started insulin on 10/26. It takes 5 - 7 days for the depot to form. With SLGS, you'll want to wait a week before increasing the dose.

Also, a housekeeping item -- could you edit your subject line to include Jade's name?
Here’s a hypothetical question…when we go to 1 unit, and her number is let’s say 150, would it be better to go to .5 as opposed to skipping a dose?
 
If the curve shows the dose is too low, your next dose would be 0.75 units.

Some insulin is better than none if you see a low number. It's an option, though full dose is best. There are other options too, like stalling. Eventually you gather enough data to know when you can shoot full dose. You can also lower your "no shoot number" as you gather data.
 
This post is about TR specifically, but the tips work just as well for people using SLGS.
Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!
She's pretty high again at her PMPS. I hate seeing these high numbers but the SLGS specifically says that as much as I want to up her dose, don't. To be patient until the one week curve.:nailbiting: Her behavior is good! Eating, playing,peeing,purring and preening. I just have to trust the process. Patience is NOT my strong suit.
 
Back
Top