6/28 Jessi PMPS 250 +1 257 +2 320 +3 358, not a bounce, what is going on???

Stefania S

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jessi-6-27-amps-382-1-361-2-255-possible-bounce.278945/

Hi all,

I wasn't going to increase the dose since I am waiting to be updated on Jessi's recent test results to know if we will be going with surgery or another treatment. I thought I should hold this dose until after any procedures, but seeing her numbers staying in the high range the last couple of days is making me wonder if we need to increase to 1 unit.

We have had some low numbers on this dose, but that's on the Libre, of course, so they probably aren't as low as they seem.

I would love some advice on whether to hold this dose or increase to 1.

Could this still be a bounce from the lows we saw a few cycles ago?
 
I've been writing 0.8 as the dose in the spreadsheet because the calipers I recently got don't have hundredths. So first I was giving .7 and writing it as .75 but then I decided to give .8 and write that in the spreadsheet. I don't notice much difference between .7 and .8 in how these affect her BGs. If anything it could be that since I've been using the calipers and dosing more accurately, she could be getting less than before overall. But I have no way of knowing this.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jessi-6-27-amps-382-1-361-2-255-possible-bounce.278945/

Hi all,

I wasn't going to increase the dose since I am waiting to be updated on Jessi's recent test results to know if we will be going with surgery or another treatment. I thought I should hold this dose until after any procedures, but seeing her numbers staying in the high range the last couple of days is making me wonder if we need to increase to 1 unit.

We have had some low numbers on this dose, but that's on the Libre, of course, so they probably aren't as low as they seem.

I would love some advice on whether to hold this dose or increase to 1.

Could this still be a bounce from the lows we saw a few cycles ago?

I notice that you are using a Libre. My vet suggested that I get one for my cat. Would it be possible to tell me where you purchased yours? Thanks in advance for your assistance. Sincerely, Sharon
 
It's hard to say without checking those low Libre numbers against a human meter, whether you should increase or not. Any chance of getting a check with a BG meter when you see a low? You have been on this dose long enough that you could increase, but if she really has been seeing 50's, that doesn't give you a lot of room to increase.
 
It's true, the Libre inaccuracy makes it harder to make dosing decisions, although that's what we've been doing until now. With SLGS there was a bigger safety margin.

I'm starting to take baby steps towards BG testing. I did make a real attempt about a week ago when I got nervous because her behavior was off and I didn't trust the Libre. I managed to get a drop of blood but when I tried the scooping it onto my thumbnail approach it failed, the blood spread out and I couldn't get enough onto the meter stick. My shaking hands didn't help much.:rolleyes: I had to hold her down and after the first failed attempt she was done, and I wasn't going to use more forceful methods. I have to be careful not to create too many lasting negative associations. I didn't re-attempt since then but this morning since she was happily purring and hanging out in our kitty 'treatment area', (the place where I do shots, change bandages, brush/comb, etc.) waiting for me to give her more treats, I decided to use it as an opportunity to start desensitizing and positively re-enforcing for blood testing. I didn't actually do a poke but I pretended to several times just before or after giving treats. It's definitely going to take some time for it to become something she lets me do. If I really need to I can use more forceful methods, but those are hit and miss since I'm working with a struggling kitty.

One good thing is that she likes getting ear rubs, and yummy treats have an amazing effect on her.:p But as soon as she feels me holding her ear, she gets nervous and jerks away. She is super protective of them, now more than ever since she has had her ears poked countless times by various people over the last few months under stressful conditions, and sometimes kind of brutally, with needles that were too big, or hitting the marginal vein, that kind of thing.

That's a long answer to a simple question. The short answer is, I'm working on it. ;)

So, I should wait to raise the does until I can blood test? What if we go on with numbers like these for days without anymore lows, would it be safe enough to increase to 1 unit then?

I don't mind waiting, it's just that I want her to be as well as possible before we move onto some pretty hefty medical treatments.
 
I notice that you are using a Libre. My vet suggested that I get one for my cat. Would it be possible to tell me where you purchased yours? Thanks in advance for your assistance. Sincerely, Sharon

Hi Sharon,

Here in Italy the Libre has to be purchased directly from the company, especially to be sure it's authentic. In the US, I notice there are more options like online pharmacies that sell it and even more price variations. I also don't need a prescription for it here, unlike other countries. The company is Abbott Care and if you google Freestyle Libre you should find the link to your country

Once you get a sensor here's some info put together by a member who used the Libre for several months before moving on to BG testing:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/...f13UiOiEM-6MsrFNpR9ztaPawF6dLk2b906QZ6VP6/pub

I didn't know these things when I started. Even now, I haven't moved on to putting the sensors on myself yet. I had to gather all the necessary supplies which I'm still doing. But I will be doing that soon so that I can apply it with more care and so that we don't have to go to the Vet every time.

I hope this helps!
 
I changed the bandage on her neck just an hour and a half before time for the PM shot. This is the third time that I notice that when I do this the numbers shoot up. Each time I thought I was somehow missing the shot, but now I'm starting to see a connection. When I change the bandage, I have to peel it off of the tumor. It gets so stuck on it takes me as much as ten minutes wetting it and waiting for it to soften enough to remove it gently. She gets very upset and stressed each time. I have to keep her there so I can cover it well before letting her go and the stress builds. But maybe there is also something physical happening related to the tumor when it gets uncovered, and the scab gets peeled away. I don't know.

All I know is her numbers are sky high AFTER the shot. The last time this happened it was a fur shot, weeks ago.

I guess there is always a chance it was a missed shot somehow, but wouldn't there be enough insulin in the depot to bring the numbers down at least into the 200s?

We were doing so well, even if a bit on the high side, we were seeing stretches of blues and gentler curves....

Can I get some feedback on this please?

It's super stressful to see her numbers so high so early in the cycle. And she is of course restless, ravenous and scratching her neck like crazy!
 
She could also be bouncing from that 100 today. I think if you don't see greens the next couple cycles, you'd be OK to increase to 1.0 unit.
 
She could also be bouncing from that 100 today. I think if you don't see greens the next couple cycles, you'd be OK to increase to 1.0 unit.
Oh really, they can bounce from a number as high as 100? I didn’t know.

ok, I’ll wait to see what happens next 2 cycles.

I’ll probably check in here first before increasing just to be safe.

when numbers are high do we change feeding amounts or timing at all? She’s ravenous and I keep giving her the usual small portions. But should I give more or less than the usual and do I still need to split her meal up into lots of little meals?
 
Just look at this graph :eek:

upload_2023-6-28_23-31-7.png


it actually looks like she may have gone below 100 on the graph.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-6-28_23-31-7.png
    upload_2023-6-28_23-31-7.png
    54.1 KB · Views: 132
Cats bounce from numbers they aren't used to. Cats all above 300 can bounce from numbers in the 200's. Cats can also bounce from fast drops. You don't need to change feeding if they are high.
 
Back
Top