Hi all, my 17 year old was just diagnosed with diabetes and we've been prescribed 2 units of caninsulin twice daily. (which I'll reduce to 1 unit based on the recommendation here)
However, I would like to ensure that I've gotten his diet correct.
Last night he measured 436 pre-shot and 327 post-shot. This was his first shot of insulin ever which the vet gave him 2 units of.
He was then fed his diet of boiled chicken breasts and liver mixed with tuna with brine and fish oil. He's been on this for the last week.
12 hours later, this morning he measured 490 pre-shot.
Does this indicate an issue with his diet? Or is it normal for the body to produce some glucose to compensate for the dose of insulin at the start.
I'm struggling to find more ways to cut down carbohydrates even further.
Thanks!
However, I would like to ensure that I've gotten his diet correct.
Last night he measured 436 pre-shot and 327 post-shot. This was his first shot of insulin ever which the vet gave him 2 units of.
He was then fed his diet of boiled chicken breasts and liver mixed with tuna with brine and fish oil. He's been on this for the last week.
12 hours later, this morning he measured 490 pre-shot.
Does this indicate an issue with his diet? Or is it normal for the body to produce some glucose to compensate for the dose of insulin at the start.
I'm struggling to find more ways to cut down carbohydrates even further.
Thanks!