Karen & Obie -- a new thread for you

Discussion in 'Acromegaly / IAA / Cushings Cats' started by Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA, Mar 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA

Phoebe_TiggyGA_NortonGA Well-Known Member

QUOTE:
    Hi everyone, I'm not very experienced in this board, but hope to learn more. After reading about high dose cats, I realized my Obie was probably acromegalic. Well, yep, he is! His IGF1 is 409!!! I have him up to 10 units levemir twice a day, but it seems he still needs more. He is incredibly hungry all the time. I switched him several months ago off of dry food. He is currently on Wellness cat food and gets a little piece of raw meat with his dinner. He also got a PLI done which shows him to have pancreatitis. What do I do now? I don't know how much to feed him! (He gets 1/2 of a 5.5 oz can three times a day. Is this too much, not enough. Acckkkk!

Karen (and Obie)
    ---------------------

Hi Karen,

How big is Obie?

With my 4 cats, I give 2 12oz cans of Wellness per day ---- but really my measure is by how empty the bowls are - we give one can in the morning and one can in the evening --- but there is always food available. They almost never clean out all the bowls (a little is left over at the next meal time).

SOOO -- my kitties are relaxed about food because there is ALWAYS food available. Tiggy was apparently a counter-surfer before we adopted him -- getting into all sorts of things like bread and pasta. At our house, he has not done that at all.

Does Obie gobble everything available? Try giving him as much as he wants -- as long as he doesn't gobble and puke -- and see how much that is.

Norton ate as much as 12 oz per day (approximately) just himself.

When you get closer to the right dose of insulin, Obie's appetite will calm down. Really :smile:

2. Nancy and Cody

Nancy and Cody Well-Known Member

Welcome Karen!