Christina & Kitty Cat
Active Member
Previous post
New thread after Kitty Cat's hypoglycemia scare last night
Context:
Kitty cat had hypoglycemic episode last night, got numbers up with high carb dry food + honey, trying to figure out game plan for today. insulin dose reduced from 1u to 0.5u. Switching to human meter because not enough alphatrak strips.
Sept 15 (Last night)
PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
1 unit Lantus
Fed just under 2 cans FF.
Shot 1 unit Lantus.
+1 134
+2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron + famotidine
+3 55 Purina dry (27%-35%?) + honey
+3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
+4 143
+4.5 158
+5 176
+5.5 254
+6.5 267
+7.5 keytones: negative
Sept 16 (Today)
PM +11 ondanestron + tiny bit of FF
AMPS 431 with alphatrak at usual AM dose time
held off on insulin
AMPS keytones: negative
AMPS 525 (1.25 hr after normal) with one touch ultra HUMAN METER
gave 0.5u lantus (half of normal dose)
History:
Ketones: small
Vomitting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home Monday (14 Sept) same day with ondanestron and famotidine.
New thread after Kitty Cat's hypoglycemia scare last night
Context:
Kitty cat had hypoglycemic episode last night, got numbers up with high carb dry food + honey, trying to figure out game plan for today. insulin dose reduced from 1u to 0.5u. Switching to human meter because not enough alphatrak strips.
Sept 15 (Last night)
PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
1 unit Lantus
Fed just under 2 cans FF.
Shot 1 unit Lantus.
+1 134
+2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron + famotidine
+3 55 Purina dry (27%-35%?) + honey
+3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
+4 143
+4.5 158
+5 176
+5.5 254
+6.5 267
+7.5 keytones: negative
Sept 16 (Today)
PM +11 ondanestron + tiny bit of FF
AMPS 431 with alphatrak at usual AM dose time
held off on insulin
AMPS keytones: negative
AMPS 525 (1.25 hr after normal) with one touch ultra HUMAN METER
gave 0.5u lantus (half of normal dose)
History:
Ketones: small
Vomitting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home Monday (14 Sept) same day with ondanestron and famotidine.