Lady 5/23 AMPS 326 +2 299 +4 203 +6 207 +8 203 +10 207 PMPS 207

AnimalsAreAnime

Member Since 2022
Hi my cat Lady is on 6U of insulin this is her test results...
AMPS 326 +2 299 +4 203 +6 207 +8 203 +10 207 PMPS 207

Should I increase her dose by half a dose? she's not really much different from when she was at 4U.

The vets arguing to bring her up by 1U at a time as it doesn't seem to be affecting her much

Sorry my spreadsheet is kind of broken, it doesn't automatically show up on the US side for anything post 2021, not sure how to fix this, so i've just pasted the figures across to it.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MPZIFE7GWosDvdXs5Ee8ZgeyH0PoHB7mvjVzJi2YQd0/edit?usp=sharing
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the FDMB. Looks like this is your first post but you are all set up. How old is she? Any other health issues or medications she’s been on? Has she been on steroids? It’s important to test before every shot and at least a before bed test at night.

It doesn’t look like you are following a dosing method. We have been successful with two here. I will link the sticky on them for you to read. If you aren’t interested add Custom dosing to your signature. Let us know how you decide on increase and decreases.

I will also ask @Bandit's Mom to fix your spreadsheet.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Hello and welcome. I can "read" the World spreadsheet, but it's not a lot different from the US one. Today's data is line 353 on the US spreadsheet. We'll see if @Bandit's Mom can also start a set of tabs to separate the data between last year and this, to make it easier to read (less scrolling).

One thing that concerns be about the data is that you don't have any night time data. Since we determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat, and many cats go lower at night, we like to see some of that night time data. Since you have the Libre, it should be easy to gather a few data points in the PM cycle. Even if using a human meter, we suggest people get a "before bed" test. It's common enough for cats to go lower at night, then higher during the day.

Based on the data I do see, which shows a low of 122 (at least in day time data), and increase to 6.5 units would be OK. But I'd like to see a couple sets of night time data first if possible.

Can you tell me a bit about how you discovered your beautiful girl was diabetic? Does she have any other medical conditions? When was her last bloodwork? When a cat gets up to 6.0 units, we start looking for some secondary conditions that cause insulin resistance and thus a need for higher amounts of insulin.
 
Welcome to the FDMB. Looks like this is your first post but you are all set up. How old is she? Any other health issues or medications she’s been on? Has she been on steroids? It’s important to test before every shot and at least a before bed test at night.

It doesn’t look like you are following a dosing method. We have been successful with two here. I will link the sticky on them for you to read. If you aren’t interested add Custom dosing to your signature. Let us know how you decide on increase and decreases.

I will also ask @Bandit's Mom to fix your spreadsheet.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Lady is 11 years old, no other health issues or medications, she hasn't been on steroids. I have been trying to test before each shot and am still working on it, but unfortunately she really doesn't like it, and I inevitably end up at the doctors with infected bites, shes fine with the insulin shots. TR i guess...
 
Hello and welcome. I can "read" the World spreadsheet, but it's not a lot different from the US one. Today's data is line 353 on the US spreadsheet. We'll see if @Bandit's Mom can also start a set of tabs to separate the data between last year and this, to make it easier to read (less scrolling).

One thing that concerns be about the data is that you don't have any night time data. Since we determine how to change the dose based on how low it takes the cat, and many cats go lower at night, we like to see some of that night time data. Since you have the Libre, it should be easy to gather a few data points in the PM cycle. Even if using a human meter, we suggest people get a "before bed" test. It's common enough for cats to go lower at night, then higher during the day.

Based on the data I do see, which shows a low of 122 (at least in day time data), and increase to 6.5 units would be OK. But I'd like to see a couple sets of night time data first if possible.

Can you tell me a bit about how you discovered your beautiful girl was diabetic? Does she have any other medical conditions? When was her last bloodwork? When a cat gets up to 6.0 units, we start looking for some secondary conditions that cause insulin resistance and thus a need for higher amounts of insulin.

I can do some night time data. She was diagnosed because she starting drinking a lot of water and being constantly hungry, she's still constantly hungry...She doesn't have any other known medical conditions. Her last bloodwork was in march and that was fine, but I'm not sure what they tested for.
 
Back
Top