Lantus left out of fridge overnight

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by dfee3, Apr 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dfee3

dfee3 New Member

Hi there. There seems to be a lot of confusion about how long insulin lasts, as well as how best to store it. I'm a newbie and am wondering about the effectiveness and life of our vial of Lantus -- after we accidentally left it out of the fridge overnight (about 15 hours total). We hope not to have to replace it, especially after we broke the first one a couple of weeks ago.... Thanks for any help.... :?

2. Patty & Champ

Patty & Champ Well-Known Member

I'm sure someone with more experience that I will answer your question for you, but I've been told that it's fine out of the fridge (as long as it's not in a hot room or in sunlight) for a few hours. Just make sure before you use it that it's clear and there are no "floaties" in it. If you notice your kitty's numbers not doing as well on that vial of insulin, you may need to replace it.

3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

The vial is different than the pens and is supposed to be kept refrigerated. You have more flexibility with the Solostar pens (see the sticky above on How to Handle Lantus). I would pay careful attention to the insulin, like Patty suggested. In addition, if your cat's numbers stop making sense -- some cycles the insulin seems to be working, some cycles not -- get new insulin.

Most of us use the Solostar pens. They end up being more economical than the vial since it is not uncommon to have to throw out insulin. The manufacturer recommends new Lantus after 28 days. Some people here get longer use. Others of us swap out our insulin after 28 days. Regardless, you get 5, 3ml pens in a box of Lantus vs. a 10 ml vial. And, if you should drop/break a pen, you don't lose as much.

4. dfee3

dfee3 New Member