Learning to shoot the lower numbers

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Katsallday, Jun 1, 2021.

1. Katsallday

Katsallday Member

Lately tuna has been giving me hell at pre-shot times. About half the time he'll be under or at exactly 200. I'm so scared to shoot under 200 and I think I need to learn to get over that fear and learn how to dose out a token shot because he does rise later in the cycle. If you check his spreadsheet you'll see the multiple times I've elected to NS instead of token because I'm scared and I also know that shooting under 200 for a diabetes newbie could be dangerous and I am still a newbie. You can also see from his spreadsheet that I am crazy about BG testing. The only times that I don't test consistently at least every other hour is when I'm asleep and I can't be roused by my alarm. I think I have a good amount of data at this point to try to predict what will happen if I give a token dose but I really need someone else's opinion on this. For the first time since Tuna was diagnosed I saw him in the 500s this morning and I am not happy about that. I don't know if it was a crazy bounce or from all the no shots that I've been doing but from what I understand about insulin it should be out of his system by now. why I'm pushing 103 at +10 doesn't make sense to me. Any ideas?

Last edited: Jun 1, 2021
    Deb & Wink and KittyKatMama like this.
  2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Hi.... I answered on your other thread. I would suggest trying 0.25 for both shots and see if it evens out more so you have two shootable numbers.

Deb & Wink and Shelley & Jess like this.
  3. FarmKitty

FarmKitty Member

Hey there! When I was learning to shoot Dixie lower than 200, I started with no-shot for the first few times, then moved to a token dose, then 0.25u, 0.50u, and so on until I was giving her a full 1.0u of ProZinc.