Lily update AMPS 119

Elizabeth20

Member Since 2020
Hi

Previously.

Finally Lily cracked, after two cycles at the increased dose, and appears to have had a late nadir as I've seen before with her after a stubborn high. Acting completely normally for a morning, scratching the carpet, making agreeable noises, being generally in the way so nk concern that she's been much lower overnight. I fed a little and tested again half an hour later and got 115. Shot anyway because consistency, and will just test hourly to see which way she's going. Any better ideas welcome!

Really hoping that this or maybe an eighth of a dose less is the one for her, and that she starts to feel a bit happier. She went for me yesterday trying to get her post test treat which has never yet been withheld and which she normally just opens her mouth for and lets me drop in. Teeth and claws both into my hand. Little sod.

Liz
 
Good job shooting the 119. It’s always a good idea to get a +1 and a +2 when you first start to shoot lower numbers so you don’t get any nasty surprises at +3.
She didn’t have a food bump at +1 so I’d feed her a small snack now and test +2. If she still hasn’t risen by +2 I would give her a small snack of a higher low carb, such as around 8 to 10% carbs.
 
Elizabeth, I see you have a +2 of 4.3 (77). Did you give some food after getting that BG?
Because it is so early in the cycle I would give Lily some medium carb food now to bring her up a bit and test again in 30 minutes to see she is not dropping further.

@Bandit's Mom are you able to keep an eye on Lily please. It is late here and I am heading to bed very soon.
 
Hi, yes she had a snack stick straight after and is now eating some food mixed with honey and warm water. We are now half an hour past that read so I was planning to test again in half an hour and check she's on her way up.
 
I thought the snack sticks were higher carb than they are. Gave her one after her second breakfast. But they are 7.5%. Hence the honey. She's turned her nose up at medicinal Dreamies!
 
I haven't got anything specific, just a couple of sachets of Sheba in gravy that someone gave me, not sure exactly which ones, and a pouch of Royal Canin in gravy
 
That's what I figured. The list of foods is brilliant but am I right that it gives LC food only? I will use the calculator and get some in that are a known quantity for her.
 
Yes. I realized after I sent it to you that it's all LC. You will need some MC (11-15% carbs) as well as HC (>15% carbs). Today would have been a good day to feed MC at +2. :-)

You can always mix a little honey or HC/gravy with LC to get MC but it's difficult to know what carb% you are feeding that way.
 
That makes sense (always a nice feeling after two months of confusion!). She's up to 5.4 so danger averted for now. Will check again in an hour.
 
Back
Top