? Lisa PMPS 380 do I shoot?

Hi! that seems plenty high for shooting per protocols.. But perhaps I don't know your previous history. Is there a particular reason you think you shouldn't shoot?
 
Hi! that seems plenty high for shooting per protocols.. But perhaps I don't know your previous history. Is there a particular reason you think you shouldn't shoot?
I don't know what to do and it is shooting time! you can see in my ss it is just low compared to other pre shot values!
 
You can wait for more experienced people, and the choice is ultimately yours, but in my opinion your PMPS is plenty high for shooting. If this is a new low, make sure to monitor often after shooting, and post, so people can help you guide if she goes much lower (but unlikely given her SS so far)
 
yes we had lowered the dose and rose it again
what should I do? two days ago it was 487 pre shot and then went as low as 123
I think I understand what your concern is, so perhaps I can help reassure you by saying that's not how Lantus works. While you did see a 350 point drop on that cycle, when she went from 487 at preshot to 123 by +5.5, that doesn't mean if you start at a preshot of 380, she'll drop again by 350 points. As the preshots come down, the cycles will tend to flatten out.

You are doing a great job with testing, and as you gather more data, you will become more comfortable with understanding how the insulin is working for Lisa and how carbs from the food you feed (and when) affect her cycles. Have you seen these basic concepts yet?
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Many people on Lantus find that getting a +2 can be an early indication of how the cycle may go. If it is significantly lower, it means you'll need to continue to monitor , but if the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually means that you can take a break from testing.

Does this help?
 
I think I understand what your concern is, so perhaps I can help reassure you by saying that's not how Lantus works. While you did see a 350 point drop on that cycle, when she went from 487 at preshot to 123 by +5.5, that doesn't mean if you start at a preshot of 380, she'll drop again by 350 points. As the preshots come down, the cycles will tend to flatten out.

You are doing a great job with testing, and as you gather more data, you will become more comfortable with understanding how the insulin is working for Lisa and how carbs from the food you feed (and when) affect her cycles. Have you seen these basic concepts yet?
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Many people on Lantus find that getting a +2 can be an early indication of how the cycle may go. If it is significantly lower, it means you'll need to continue to monitor , but if the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually means that you can take a break from testing.

Does this help?
Thank you so much for your informations!!she is on 258 at +2.5
 
I can't stay with you, sorry. but have you fed her since shooting (I don't see any notes on your SS)? You should do similarly to how you did in the Pm cycle of May the 10th. You gave her a few snacks and tah kept her safe. If you compare this evening to that evening she is higher, so if you do similarly you should be ok.
 
Back
Top