Looking for some feedback

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Danielle & Goose, Dec 27, 2018.

1. Danielle & Goose

Danielle & Goose New Member

Hello, my cat Goose was diagnosed on Dec. 11. At the clinic his glucose was 26.68mmol/L / 479mg/dL. I've voraciously read all the FAQs and beginners guides and once I had everything to start testing him at home, I started building his spreadsheet. I worked as a veterinary nurse for a few years about 10 years ago, but it was in a state that allowed learning on the job. I only encountered one diabetic cat during that time, so didn't get to learn much about feline diabetes.. the learning curve has been steep especially as it seems I haven't gotten the best advice from my veterinary clinic (plus dealing with the differences from US to Europe and some of this needing to be done in Dutch as I'm in the Netherlands now. :eek:)

I was told to give him 2.5 units of Vetsulin BID. We came back to the clinic 3 days later for the first +4 test and his number was around 5.2/94. 4 days later another +4 test was 137. During both of these visits he was incredibly stressed. I told the nurse that he had been seeming quite lethargic and was suspecting maybe the dosage was too high. She assured me his numbers were in normal values, so to keep going, I could test again in another week. Whilst the clinic does advocate home testing, they only recommended testing every few days, then weekly, or even monthly. No pre-meal testing was ever advised. I was also talked into getting a VetPen which I really regret getting now due to no .25unit adjustments available.

(The clinic sold me wet and dry Hills MD which thanks to Dr. Lisa, I now see still isn't good enough. I moved him to Purina Gourmet Gold pate, which is the European version of Fancy Feast. I feed him about 20 minutes before giving insulin, allow him 6 hours to come and go eating his portion, then don't let him eat 6 hours before the pre-meal blood test.)