? Max 8/20- had a 50 @ +5 in 8/19 AM cycle; PMPS 110 (shot 0.1 skinny), +3 69, +5 84, +9 124, what now

Rebecca & Max (GA)

Member Since 2020
8/19

Our elderly dog made it thru the day and came home late yesterday afternoon. Not heart related and not kidney failure as the vet suspected as blood tests were pretty normal..so now we are back to square one. He had a 3-pound weight loss and is having difficulties with his back legs. Another dog from the litter after him (same parents, just a litter 1 yr later) had serious issues (degenerative spine/disk issue) and completely lost the use of his back legs. Time to look more into that...and maybe even have to make that very tough decision. :nailbiting:

I am setting alarms to test Max during the day so I don't forget him, and lo and behold, he dropped to 50 at +5 yesterday. Yeah, did not need to worry about him too!! Fed him the FF gravy and that was enough to bump him up. Nadirs seem to be hitting around +5...or the low dose of Lantus is petering out a bit quicker. I'm noticing he's starting to rise near +6/+7. I know that may be expected with the low dose, so I'm not too worried...just noticed that pattern the last few cycles.

So, now what? I knew I had to focus on our dog throughout last night, so I gave Max a skinny 0.1U because I hadn't had time to repost once he hit 50, and he was too high, IMO, to skip. At 0.1U, what's the reduction dose? Is there one, or does he stay at that until there's a pattern of dropping to 50 or lower? Are the higher PS values mini bounces, or are the numbers still okay? From what I remember reading, the 50s, 60s, and up to the 80s are the norm for OTJ, with a few low 100s allowed, and I don't see Max there yet.

With all that is going on at home, when I notice Max starting to get low around +2/+3, I will offer him some (3-5) Temptations cat treats to try and hold him if I know I cannot be around in an hour or two to retest. I am wondering if that could be messing with his early rises or higher PS numbers as well? As usual, any advice is greatly appreciated... once again, lack of sleep has my brain turning to mush.

Sadly, I feel like I have focused SO much on Max, that I have failed Bandit. I cannot even tell when he really started dropping the weight, how sad is that? I know I am only human, and can only do so much, but it still makes me feel horrible. :(
 
I'm so sorry about your pooch. It's very difficult to juggle multiple things like that. Prayers for you and the furry ones:bighug:

Carbing early can affect the latter half of the cycle. Use to have that problem with my boy. Messed with his duration. Ended up with some higher PS(not too high though).

As far as what's after .10u. You get into drop dosing and needle shots. I'll let others explain that. But, it is exactly as it sounds...giving a drop of insulin. Needle doses are giving what insulin amount is in the needle. Not hard to learn but, i don't have first hand experience with it:rolleyes:

I hope you have a wonderful day Rebecca. Hang in there:bighug:
 
The next dose down is a drop dose. That’s where you hold the plunger in while inserting it into the syringe and then let go of the plunger. It will suck a drop into the syringe. When you shoot, you’ll need to hold the plunger in for about 10 seconds if you can so the insulin will go out.
 
I'm so sorry about your pooch. It's very difficult to juggle multiple things like that. Prayers for you and the furry ones:bighug:

Carbing early can affect the latter half of the cycle. Use to have that problem with my boy. Messed with his duration. Ended up with some higher PS(not too high though).

As far as what's after .10u. You get into drop dosing and needle shots. I'll let others explain that. But, it is exactly as it sounds...giving a drop of insulin. Needle doses are giving what insulin amount is in the needle. Not hard to learn but, i don't have first hand experience with it:rolleyes:

I hope you have a wonderful day Rebecca. Hang in there:bighug:
He was the highest he’s been today at AMPS since 8/10. I’m guessing the treats and the skinny shot combined to result in the increase. I went back to the full 0.1U, and will watch him closely today (and will hold off on the cat treats unless absolutely necessay!). I haven’t wanted to give a tiny bit of the the FF gravy to mess keep him from dropping, but I forget that dry/kibble stays in the system a lot longer than wet food. :banghead: Just not sure if giving some FF gravy (like 1/2 tsp) would be okay if I know I cannot be there to watch/test. Kind of feel like I’m skating on a frozen pond with Max’s levels, and don’t know where the thin ice is! He’s been as low as 43 and had no hypo symptoms, but I know that the one time I relax some, he’ll be in trouble. I just need to get more comfortable with numbers in the 60s and not freak too early. :rolleyes:

Not looking forward to needle shots, but if that’s better than skipping, so be it. I just don’t want to jump too soon.

And thanks for the encouragement. Doggie dude is hanging okay. Orders grippy socks from Amazon to try. I have pee pads taped down all over his path around our house so he can get traction on the wood/tile floors (omg it’s hilarious). I have a 91 yr old dad here too, who is a fall risk so rugs/runners are out of the question (I swear, I have my own old folks home here with the almost 15 yr old dog, two 16 yr old cats, a 10 yr old dog, and my dad :joyful:)! I can and will get thru it all!!:D
 
The next dose down is a drop dose. That’s where you hold the plunger in while inserting it into the syringe and then let go of the plunger. It will suck a drop into the syringe. When you shoot, you’ll need to hold the plunger in for about 10 seconds if you can so the insulin will go out.
Oh, THANK YOU for that advice on the needle drop! That’s how I start his doses already (the pushing in the plunger), so that’s a huge relief to me!
 
Just not sure if giving some FF gravy (like 1/2 tsp) would be okay if I know I cannot be there to watch/test
Depending on his carb sensitivity, would dictate what I would leave out. Better to be a lil cautious if you're scared he's gonna drop while you're away. If he needs the higher carb food to keep him a float while you're away...so be it. He should be able to bring his # back down.

You're a good daughter and fur mom Rebecca!! God has a special place in his heart for people like you:bighug:
 
It's hard when you have multiple sick pets. Don't forget to take care of you too. :bighug:
At 0.1U, what's the reduction dose? Is there one, or does he stay at that until there's a pattern of dropping to 50 or lower? Are the higher PS values mini bounces, or are the numbers still okay? From what I remember reading, the 50s, 60s, and up to the 80s are the norm for OTJ, with a few low 100s allowed, and I don't see Max there yet.
Since Max didn't drop below 50 yet, I'm glad you went back to 0.1 units. You want him going below 50, or a week in solid green before reducing again. As for what the next dose might be, it can be useful to know how many drops are in your 0.1 units. Take a practice syringe, load some coloured liquid, and try practising getting even sized drops. Rotate the plunger to get a drop out. Once you can get an even sized drop, load your 0.1 units and count the drops. I've seen variations in how many drops are in 0.1 units.

What is your feeding schedule for Max? For cats on tiny doses, and a sputtering pancreas close to remission, it can help to feed a small meal around +8 or +9 (2-3 tsps) to see if you can kick start the pancreas and bring down those preshots.
 
It's hard when you have multiple sick pets. Don't forget to take care of you too. :bighug:

Since Max didn't drop below 50 yet, I'm glad you went back to 0.1 units. You want him going below 50, or a week in solid green before reducing again. As for what the next dose might be, it can be useful to know how many drops are in your 0.1 units. Take a practice syringe, load some coloured liquid, and try practising getting even sized drops. Rotate the plunger to get a drop out. Once you can get an even sized drop, load your 0.1 units and count the drops. I've seen variations in how many drops are in 0.1 units.

What is your feeding schedule for Max? For cats on tiny doses, and a sputtering pancreas close to remission, it can help to feed a small meal around +8 or +9 (2-3 tsps) to see if you can kick start the pancreas and bring down those preshots.
I just took a + 3 and he’s still in the blues, so I feel like I’ve messed up. I almost always feed him between +9 & before +10 so he’s done before the 2 hour fast (use alarm reminders for that), but there have been a few times he’s not interested. I will try going back to +8. Today has not been a great food day for him either, it’s hot, he wants to be outside in his favorite shade spot, go figure. I was scared he was going to be low by the time I got back home to test, so relived to find him not...hopefully tonight’s cycle will see better numbers. It’s been a long time since I haven’t seen green after the PS. :(
 
It's hard when you have multiple sick pets. Don't forget to take care of you too. :bighug:

Since Max didn't drop below 50 yet, I'm glad you went back to 0.1 units. You want him going below 50, or a week in solid green before reducing again. As for what the next dose might be, it can be useful to know how many drops are in your 0.1 units. Take a practice syringe, load some coloured liquid, and try practising getting even sized drops. Rotate the plunger to get a drop out. Once you can get an even sized drop, load your 0.1 units and count the drops. I've seen variations in how many drops are in 0.1 units.

What is your feeding schedule for Max? For cats on tiny doses, and a sputtering pancreas close to remission, it can help to feed a small meal around +8 or +9 (2-3 tsps) to see if you can kick start the pancreas and bring down those preshots.

ARGH! I started this like five hours ago and forgot to post it :banghead::banghead:

I just took a + 3 and he’s still in the blues, so I messed up. I almost always feed him between +9 & before +10 so he’s done before the 2 hour fast (use alarm reminders for that). I will try for a +8 tonight.

And took a +6.5 and he was back down to green at 78 (but a total poop head!). Will keep his dose steady until we see all greens or he drops below 50.
 
Back
Top