May have to skip a dose - PMPS 379 01/02 Baby G

babyg

Very Active Member
Hi, everyone,

My new job's schedule is pretty consistent except for one day out of the year where I have to be there for however long it takes to get the job done (January 2nd). Depending how things go, I may get home on time or I may be late, and how late--who knows.

From what I've been reading online and talking with our vet, it sounds like if I'm an hour or two late, to just go ahead and give the shot like normal and then give it again at the usual time in the morning (which would, of course, then be an hour or two early).

But if I'm more than a couple hours late, I should probably skip and start anew in the morning at our usual time. I'm thinking that's the more likely scenario. Does that sound about right?

Aside from a few rare instances, I never skip doses, so I'm kind of nervous and hoping it won't hurt her if I do. It doesn't help either that she's been running quite high lately and I'm still trying to get that under control (she's been turning her nose up at the wet food again so that's why...eating dry food = more carbs). :(
 
But if I'm more than a couple hours late, I should probably skip and start anew in the morning at our usual time. I'm thinking that's the more likely scenario. Does that sound about right?

Sorry nobody got back to you sooner!

Lantus craves consistency so should be given as close to every 12 hours as possible. If you know you're going to be late, start early and add 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day so that when Jan 2nd comes, you can still give the shots as close to every 12hrs as possible and then work your way back to your usual time.

If you do end up shooting 1-2 hours later than usual (because you can't adjust times in advance), then the following shot would need to be 12 hours after the PM shot, so if you usually shoot at 6am/6pm but can't shoot until 8pm, then you'd want to shoot at 8am the next morning and then work your way back to 6am/6pm
 
If her numbers were high enough you might have been able to shoot an hour early, but you'd have to post here to get confirmation. Two hours is too early. You would have to skip either tonight or tomorrow morning - your choice.
 
I'm thinking if I have to skip, I'd rather do it tonight and then in the morning give her shot a little early (5 instead of 630) because I usually get home around 530. That way she gets it as early as possible in the morning and at relatively the same time again in the evening and then over the weekend I can slowly work her towards 630 again.
Otherwise, doing a reduced dose now would not be advisable? Because of the depot?
 
Correct, the depot will still control part of the cycle tonight even with a reduced dose. Though she's been high enough not too much a concern. It's more the timing of the nadirs might be overlapped.

Moving dose time back is less of a concern than with moving the shot forward. Shooting earlier tomorrow sounds like a good idea.
 
I was going to skip but when I checked her glucose again, she was 395. I felt panicky and gave her the full dose. I'll just have to be late to work tomorrow and hopefully they'll understand but either way, my cat comes first. I stayed later for them today the one day out of the year they need it, so that will have to suffice. I'll have to try working her back over the weekend. Since she got her shot now at nearly 920, and I need to leave at 7 Monday morning, I'm hoping that is feasible.
Also, Monday we are supposed to get a lot of snow so we all may be able to work remotely which would also buy me a little more time to straighten out her schedule.
Thanks everyone for helping me try to think this through.
 
Last edited:
Quick update. I did the math and if I give her shot 20 minutes early each cycle starting this morning (ideally 15 but those extra 5 minutes add up and I'm hoping aren't pushing anything too much?), I should able to arrive on time to work Monday. I'll be home all day Sunday and majority of the day Saturday so can monitor. She's also due for a dose increase soon. Question on that...I know the depot reset because of last night, but at the same time, i only increased last time by .25 but should have gone for .5 (I think you @Wendy&Neko told me so and were right; I chickened out). So I'm thinking ok to up her by .25 on the day I was normally going to do her increase again if this all wouldn't have happened. Interested to hear your guys thoughts.
 
Thanks, Heather. I hadn't heard from anyone in time so I went ahead with my plan and thankfully she's doing good. :) it helps that I have the weekend to be home and monitor.
 
Could you update your spreadsheet? It's the first thing I look at, especially if someone is looking for dose help. But with nothing below 200 on her spreadsheet, the length of time on this dose and the amount you test each day, I think the increase was OK.
 
Back
Top