Mickey back on the juice after 3 yrs

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Peggy and Mickey (GA), Jun 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Peggy and Mickey (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi There...This is a start over for us. We were on humulin 70/30 for a month 3 yrs ago. I am getting PZI this morning. BG 438. My vet said to start with 3 units 1x a day. But I think I will start with 1/2 unit 2x a day. I do have the meter, strips, lansets and ketone strips.
    Mickey was tested and she said negative for ketones but there is sugar in his urine on a scale he is a 3 out of 10. Does anyone know were I can read about this.
    Thanks in advance.

2. tuckers mom

tuckers mom Well-Known Member

What are you looking for? Info on sugar in the urine? I'm no expert in that, so I don't know where to find that.

You can get ketone and sugar sticks at the pharmacy and check those levels at home.

What insulin do you have? PZI BCP or a different PZI? U40 or U100.

3. Peggy and Mickey (GA)

PZI-they said u40 . I was just confused how sugar is in the urine and no ketones. Joe is picking up the insulin shortly they close at noon and I work until 2pm.

4. sugarsquishy

sugarsquishy Member

do you have mickey on LC food diet? if so i might even go with 1 u. for that high of a bg. my kitty squishy started on pzi, and we are still using it, when i changed his diet i started over using 1 u., and it worked out perfectly for me. my vet had us start with 1u, but then every week i went back before changing his diet she would up it some more till we got to 3 u. then i made the decision to change his diet and start over with 1u. i am still pretty new at this, so if you are not comfortable with 1 u. i would stick with the 1/2. using the 1 u. in my experience so far when squishys numbers were that high was a good. just a suggestion since you are new to pzi.

5. tuckers mom