This morning as I was giving my cat his insulin while pushing down on the syringe it felt like it moved further than it usually does, but I don't know. I've been using 100 unit syringes because the store has been out of 30, but that's happened many times in the past. I'm 95% certain he only got the usual 9 units (9 units on the 100 unit scale) of Prozinc 40, but I'm not 100% certain. He might have gotten 18 units. I *always* use 100 unit syringes. But just to be safe, I'm staying home with Tom today and will check his sugar levels every hour if the numbers start dropping faster in a few hours I'll check every half hour.
Tom has had diabetes for at least 5 years and my wife and I agreed that only I would give him shots since there is no miscommunication on who gave him a shot and whatnot. That has worked good. There are times when he gets fed that I can't absolutely if I have given him a shot or not so I default to no shot since that is safer than double dosing. It rarely happens. Tom is a male ragdoll like cat, sleeps most of the day and night, 15 pounds about 10 years old.
I've given him shots so many times that I really think I didn't double dose him, but I have no way of knowing for certain.
I have honey, syrup, wet and dry food, BG test monitor and plenty of strips.
If sugars drop to low levels, how much syrup and/or honey is recommended?
6:45AM Hour 0, BG reading is 375. Tom is sleeping.
7:45AM Hour 1, BG reading is 376. Tom went back to sleep.
8:45AM Hour 2, BG reading is 281. Tom seems fine.
9:45AM Hour 3, BG reading is 245. Tom is back to sleeping.
10:45AM Hour 4, BG reading 214. Tom is getting tired of all this testing and putting up a fight. I hit a geyser and blood got everywhere. I'll do the other ear next time.
12:30PM, BG reading 161. Tom is sleeping. Judging from this it's unlikely he was double dosed, I'll test again in 90 minutes.
2:00PM, BG is 187. Tom is sleeping.
4:15PM, BG is 225. Tom is his usual self.
Tom has had diabetes for at least 5 years and my wife and I agreed that only I would give him shots since there is no miscommunication on who gave him a shot and whatnot. That has worked good. There are times when he gets fed that I can't absolutely if I have given him a shot or not so I default to no shot since that is safer than double dosing. It rarely happens. Tom is a male ragdoll like cat, sleeps most of the day and night, 15 pounds about 10 years old.
I've given him shots so many times that I really think I didn't double dose him, but I have no way of knowing for certain.
I have honey, syrup, wet and dry food, BG test monitor and plenty of strips.
If sugars drop to low levels, how much syrup and/or honey is recommended?
6:45AM Hour 0, BG reading is 375. Tom is sleeping.
7:45AM Hour 1, BG reading is 376. Tom went back to sleep.
8:45AM Hour 2, BG reading is 281. Tom seems fine.
9:45AM Hour 3, BG reading is 245. Tom is back to sleeping.
10:45AM Hour 4, BG reading 214. Tom is getting tired of all this testing and putting up a fight. I hit a geyser and blood got everywhere. I'll do the other ear next time.
12:30PM, BG reading 161. Tom is sleeping. Judging from this it's unlikely he was double dosed, I'll test again in 90 minutes.
2:00PM, BG is 187. Tom is sleeping.
4:15PM, BG is 225. Tom is his usual self.
Last edited:

