? Missed Lantus doses, bouncing.

EarthyCarbonCookie

Member Since 2020
My spreadsheet is not up to date. I hadn't entered in awhile and then I dropped it in the water bowl.

9/6/2022 I sent Carl to board at a vet office, I was going to be out of town 9/8-9/12. He refused to eat while there, and the caregiver wasn't taking readings, so I just went and got him and made last minute arrangements for his care. My family member has an odd schedule, ANDA neighbor was going to fill in.

As it turns out, he missed about 5 doses while I was away in addition to the 2 he missed by being in boarding.

I was prepared for bouncing and illness and I sure want disappointed although it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be.

I need to put this in a spreadsheet but lack time before this post.

9/12
No shot no test in AM
PMPS 225
Shoot 2u (normally 3 but he hadn't had any for 36 hours)
I must sleep so we pray it's ok

9/13
AMPS 118
feed glycobalance, no shoot
+2 109
During the next few hours I tested frequently to make sure numbers weren't dropping...Vomiting, inappetence, hissing
65 karo, cerenia, onsior, Mirtazapine. Continue testing
+6 109
+8 139
No shoot, got him to eat gravy friskies and his dry Elsey's

9/14
AMPS 327
+3 314
+6 228
+10 314
He's eating ok, shot 2u

9/15
AMPS 225 2u
+4 123
Now he doesn't want to eat again, more gravy food, just a spoonful
+8 164
PMPS 225 2U

9/16
AMPS 301 2u
+5 251
PMPS 246 2u

9/17
AMPS 272 2u
+10 259
PMPS 266 2u
+1 314
+2.5 238
+6 219

Apply Freestyle Libre 14 day
9/18
AMPS 64 libre/82 meter no shoot
+4 49 Libre/79 meter
+4.5 41 onLibre, 78 on meter
Not eating, gave small amount glycobalance then later friskies gravy style
+6 58 Libre/174 meter - big diff!
+8 187
+10 236
+12 342 on Libre/324 meter


Should I restart Lantus? Very small dose? Hold off?

He seems fine tonight, ate a modest amount of normal pate.

c4fC81B
Carls libre reading
 
You won’t like what I have to say. Please put all those BG readings on your spreadsheet and then I will be happy to give my input. Someone else might feel differently. I will say 2 units is too big a dose. Any drop under 90 earns a reduction when following SLGS. Has he been getting that much every time he got a shot?
 
Last edited:
Thank you I am going to try. In addition to Carl I'm dealing with a very sick kitten, post operative cat and kitten with abcess, take care of my other pets and own health issues. Using the spreadsheet on my phone is tedious and the speech to text doesn't work on the sheet.

He had not had insulin today 9/18
 
When you did give insulin was it 2.0? He’s likely been bouncing. We almost never see a cat hi from 2.0 to OTJ.
 
Yes 2.0

When I got home on 12th his numbers were 225 and since he hadn’t had insulin since the day before I went with 2 instead of his normal 3. Then the next day his numbers looked pretty normal so I thought it was OK. Then on the 13th he dropped so low I didn't give him any at all. On 14 through 17 his numbers looked good so I felt 2u would be ok, then he dropped again and hasn't had insulin since because it was so low.

I should have consulted here first off, I'm just scrambled.

I don't know what my next steps are for him, to get him back on track.

Thanks for replying.
 
He’s not ready to stop insulin. I think perhaps you should start with 1.0 or maybe 1.5. Dose every cycle and get amps, pmps, and some mid cycle tests. . It might or might not not be enough but he’s been too low. Hold the dose for 7 days unless the bg drops under 90. If that happens a reduction is earned. Post for dosing advice if high after 5 days. I will tag a few others to see what they think.
@Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
I agree we need to see some data in the SS to really help you.
Are you testing for ketones in the urine? If not I would do so. You will need a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and follow the directions on the bottle fryer collecting a urine sample.
I think I would drop to 1 unit and see how that goes.
 
I've been testing for ketones and there's none. His numbers for last couple years have normally been mid-200 with nadir around 150. If he goes much lower than 150 he stops eating. I'll start with 1.0 today

Thank you all
 
Back
Top