? MISSY AMPS 154, 156@ +3, 167@ +6, PMPS 198, 157@ +3.5 Rising numbers, possible causes?

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
YESTERDAY: AMPS 156, 128@ +3, PMPS 158, 111@ +3, 132@ +6
For continuity: ? - INCREASED SINUS ISSUES, SNEEZING BLOOD...POSSIBLE MASS | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Missy's not doing well lately, she still declining more and more everyday; per IM doctor, 2 weeks ago we started her on 2.5mg Prednisolone every day for 1 week and then switched to 2.5mg every other day: still not sure is helping with any of her sinus issues but I definitely notice she has zero appetite, constipation and growling more and more to a point that I can barely touch her, no brushes and she doesn't even purr anymore. GIving insulin ijections has become very difficult too.
I was expecting the numbers to raise but not this much at a low dose Prednisolone.

In addition, last monday hubby added a big frozen turkey in the fridge to slowly defrost by Thanksgiving and I only found that out a few hours later when I saw the termometer sitting next to the insulin was at 32-35F (temp is usually at 40F). I checked the inusle Glargine pen right the way but it looked clear and didn't notice any floaters: ANY CHANCE IT COULD OF FROZE A BIT? HOW ELSE CAN YOU TELL IF INSULIN GOT FROZEN?

Thoughts? @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
I’m sorry she’s not doing well. That’s not a low dose of prednisone and most likely explains the higher bg. My cat that had lymphoma was on 10 mg and Chai with either IBD or scl was started on 5 mg. The prednisolone is needed so you just might need to increase her insulin dose. I think if the insulin was frozen you would see a change but I’m not sure about that. :bighug:
 
I’m sorry she’s not doing well. That’s not a low dose of prednisone and most likely explains the higher bg. My cat that had lymphoma was on 10 mg and Chai with either IBD or scl was started on 5 mg. The prednisolone is needed so you just might need to increase her insulin dose. I think if the insulin was frozen you would see a change but I’m not sure about that. :bighug:
I'm so sorry, I wrote the wrong dose...I meant 2.5mg (doctor gave me 5mg pills and told me to split it in a half). This low dose pred is an attempt to possibly lower the inflamation on Missy's sinus....we believe she may have a tumor or some like that but anesthesia, rhinoscopy and other procedures like chemo or radiations are not an option for Missy; she doesn't let me touch her or pick her up anymore, probably won't be able to take her to the vet anymore if I have to without getting hurt and cause her big stress events. She can barely walk anymore and her quality of life it's very low...really hate force feeding her at every single meal, even her favorite food/treats.
 
That is a very low dose. Poor baby. Poor you. I know some give gabapentin before vet visits should it be necessary. I’ve never used it though for anything. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That is a very low dose. Poor baby. Poor you. I know some give gabapentin before vet visits should it be necessary. I’ve never used it though for anything. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I've used Gaba on Missy before for vets visits and it's "ok" to use for that but will not use as an everyday low dosage again as I almost lost her to it awhile ago.
I'm going to order new insulin cause Missy's numbers keeps climbing and I want to rule that out
 
Oh Simone. I’m really sorry to hear this about Missy. You are such a valiant fighter for your fur babies. Things don’t sound too good for Missy. She kind of went downhill after Micio died. You are such a sweet kind-hearted soul, and have tried your very best for Missy even though she’s difficult to handle. I had my doubts that you would even be able to give her insulin at first, but you did! You are my hero!

If the insulin looks normal, it’s probably okay and not frozen. I suppose you could try fresh insulin? I don’t know if you have another pen to try? Perhaps her condition and/pr the Prednisolone is raising her BG?
 
Looking at Missy’s spreadsheet. She spends a lot of the time in blue, which is not bad, especially for a cat on pred. I think your bigger worry is to make sure she can still receive insulin and also, of course, her quality of life. You are my hero Simone.
 
Any chance you think the Lantus is stinging her? Just wondering if Levemir might make her feel more comfortable.

As for appetite, is she getting ondansetron for nausea? And/or any appetite stimulants?

Did you ever get the IGF-1 test redone like you thought about doing in the summer when you got the just positive result back?
 
Oh Simone. I’m really sorry to hear this about Missy. You are such a valiant fighter for your fur babies. Things don’t sound too good for Missy. She kind of went downhill after Micio died. You are such a sweet kind-hearted soul, and have tried your very best for Missy even though she’s difficult to handle. I had my doubts that you would even be able to give her insulin at first, but you did! You are my hero!

If the insulin looks normal, it’s probably okay and not frozen. I suppose you could try fresh insulin? I don’t know if you have another pen to try? Perhaps her condition and/pr the Prednisolone is raising her BG?
I did open a new pen but numbers still rising, I got a PMPS 216 tonight! I really don't think 2.5mg pred every other day is the only cause of this spike.
Going to get a new box of pens next week just to rule out a possible bad insulin but I'm very concerned something else is going on...
 
Any chance you think the Lantus is stinging her? Just wondering if Levemir might make her feel more comfortable.

As for appetite, is she getting ondansetron for nausea? And/or any appetite stimulants?

Did you ever get the IGF-1 test redone like you thought about doing in the summer when you got the just positive result back?
Insulin glargine may be stinging her but Missy sarts growling/hissing as soon as I gently pull up her hair to give her a shot. She developed such a sensitivity on her skin (she has the same growths Micio had) and she doesn't let me touch her anymore...I can barely caress her.
I don't think she's displaying symptoms of nausea but we did try Cerenia everyday for a couple of weeks before, did not make a difference on her appetite. I know of Ondansetron, tried many years ago along with Cerenia but no change, also vets in here don't seem big fans of it and I have to bag them for it
She does still eat her fave freeze dried treat though pretty well but I feel like she cannot smell/taste food anymore due to her sinus issues, maybe that's part of the Acromegaly side effects.
Appetite stimulants were tried before and didn't have a good reaction.
 
I find ondansetron to be way better for nausea than Cerenia. Cerenia is great if there is vomiting.
she has the same growths Micio had
That is so strange. Do you have any pictures of them? The skin sensitivity isn't something I've seen associated with acromegaly before.

I've seen other cats have such a reaction to Lantus that they reacted even before the shot went in, like they knew the sting was coming and wanted to avoid it.
 
What are you giving her for constipation? The constipation may be contributing to her lack of appetite and general discomfort.

I am surprised that she hasn’t been on prednisolone for her IBD before now - since she’s had IBD since 2010.
 
What are you giving her for constipation? The constipation may be contributing to her lack of appetite and general discomfort.

I am surprised that she hasn’t been on prednisolone for her IBD before now - since she’s had IBD since 2010.
I agree, I noticed that after she finally poo she feels and can "eat" a little better. Her biggest problem lately is the fact she cannot hold the "poo" position long enough to complete the defecation cause her arthritis and hind legs weakness and sometimes she push so hard she'll ended up vomiting...exact thing Micio experienced.
I give het Kibow Fortis every morning, I started adding Psyllium Husk, I increased the amount of fat on her diet by adding a little bit of duck fat every other day, sometimes I add a little bit of Miralax but I try not too often....soo hard to find an equilibrium as too little won't do much and too much will give her runny stool and, either way, it will end up in a mess and the clean up is inevitable along with a big stress event (I try to keep her hair short but she doesn't let even get near her butt anymore).
Also, the lack of movement is causing her constipation.

She has been on Budesonide for IBD for the last few years and worked great on her 'till early this year I saw her glucose numbers spiking and we very gradually remove it.
 
I find ondansetron to be way better for nausea than Cerenia. Cerenia is great if there is vomiting.

That is so strange. Do you have any pictures of them? The skin sensitivity isn't something I've seen associated with acromegaly before.

I've seen other cats have such a reaction to Lantus that they reacted even before the shot went in, like they knew the sting was coming and wanted to avoid it.
What's even more strange is that Missy developed diabetes about 1-2 after Micio passed along wit testing positive to Acromegaly and she also started having those what I first called skin tags along her spine/back, tail, neck and even one on her foot. They keep getting bigger overtime and release oils and some blood, it almost look like a tick that gets bigger overtime till it falls, but it's not ticks). Missy and Micio are not related at all.
Taking Missy to the vets for more testing, at this point, not an option, the stress would be too much and hurt her even more...unless there's a real emergency
I will try to take some pictures later on.
 
I agree, I noticed that after she finally poo she feels and can "eat" a little better. Her biggest problem lately is the fact she cannot hold the "poo" position long enough to complete the defecation cause her arthritis and hind legs weakness and sometimes she push so hard she'll ended up vomiting...exact thing Micio experienced.
I give het Kibow Fortis every morning, I started adding Psyllium Husk, I increased the amount of fat on her diet by adding a little bit of duck fat every other day, sometimes I add a little bit of Miralax but I try not too often....soo hard to find an equilibrium as too little won't do much and too much will give her runny stool and, either way, it will end up in a mess and the clean up is inevitable along with a big stress event (I try to keep her hair short but she doesn't let even get near her butt anymore).
Also, the lack of movement is causing her constipation.

She has been on Budesonide for IBD for the last few years and worked great on her 'till early this year I saw her glucose numbers spiking and we very gradually remove it.
I remember now about the Budesonide. Thank you for reminding me. With everything she has going on, I’m not surprised her BG is up — and then the small dose of pred is also contributing to it, it seems. You can, of course, adjust her insulin, but with everything she has going on as well as how difficult she’s making it for you to test (and the stress on her if she’s getting really upset) then you may have to settle on letting her be in safe blue numbers and be satisfied with that. It sounds so much like Micio when you say she is too weak to stand in the litter box for a long enough time to go - and the vomiting too.
 
Back
Top