Need a little help 2

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by SashaV, May 17, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Link to previous
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-a-little-help.229604/

    SS up to date.
    I'm so excited to see her PMPS! Today has been the most stable day ever. A bit high, but overall stable.

    When does PZI peak?
    When will I see the full effect? And when will I see if it's time to change dose?
    Hold for at least three cycles right? I won't change dose on my own.

    I really want to test her during PM cycle, and I will. I get up multiple times every night but I'm simply not trustworthy with a needle, but I do make sure she's fine.
     
  2. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Prozinc's peak depends on the cat. Keep doing spot checks every day and you will notice a pattern on when Mauer dips the lowest.
    • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
    • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
    • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit (note: ANY time she drops under 90 change the next dose to 0.25 units less)
    Here is the Prozinc Dosing Method thread for you to review:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
     
  3. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    So no specific time to test?
    Usually I test before and +6 between shots
     
  4. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Those are good times to test but it would help if you were getting a couple more in as well. You want to be able to see the whole picture; when the insulin starts to take effect (usually 1-2 hours after injection) and where it dips (usually 4-7 hours after injection). You can do this by alternating days - for example, one day you can test at +1, +3, and +5, and the next day test at +2, +4, and +6.

    Once you find out when Mauer's onset is (onset is when the insulin starts to kick in), you can check every day you're able to see where the dose is going to take her that day. If her BG has dropped noticeably, you'll know to be on guard to make sure she doesn't drop too much later in the cycle.
     
  5. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Aaah good idea! Holy cow that's a lot of testing. And a lot of teststrips. Those aren't cheap :woot:
     
  6. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Haha true! That's why we go with the cheapest meter!
    And you'll see some people here only get a couple spot checks in a day and others that do 6+ a day. There's no hard and fast rule.
    Personally for me if I saw if my girl was running a little high that day I wouldn't waste the strips/bother her with testing as much.
     
  7. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I already have the cheapest meter. Still they cost 75-100$ for 100 strips
    They go fast with 5 tests a day :banghead:
     
  8. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Tested +11, high enough for a shot.
    Then I don't need to test again in an hour, right?
    I need a new meter.
     
  9. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Yes, still need to test. Some kitties waffle up and down near the PM shot, can't remember the term off the top of my head.
     
  10. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Nope, you don’t. I had freestyle and just switched over to ReliOn from Walmart. It’s $9.99 and $17.99 for 100 test strips. If you do want to stay with Freestyle the best deal I found is on affordablediabetic you can use “save5” code for 5% off and 100 strips will cost you $56
     
  11. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    O
    Oh wait, are you in Denmark? Nvm then sorry :rolleyes:
     
  12. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Exactly.
    However.. the meter and strips are cheaper overseas. I just don't know if my insurance covers. And if UK means business about Brexit I'll need to learn German in a rush.
    US is out of the question I'll have to pay taxes and duties witch is about 50% of the cost.
     
  13. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Cooooome on, I just wasted a good test! :banghead:o_O:D:D
    Oh well, you said to test more and I did. Mauer won't be spooning with me tonight with all my poking :arghh:
     
  14. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Oh while I have a cheaper meter I don’t have pet insurance so you’re still winning lol! :p Love your country btw and have a good friend from college who went back and is there
     
  15. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    An occasional late +10 or +11 is great to have actually! Gives you more data to work with. :D
    Give Mauer an extra treat for dinner for being a good sport!
     
  16. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'll give her a full buffet after her shot!:D
    Is anyone else constantly saying "I shot the cat!!"? With insulin, lol :D
     
  17. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm so glad for the insurance but it starts over every 125 days. That 160$ to get coverage. The 125 days runs out in a week, and I'm moving next month and my own health insurance also starts over in june. I might have to eat the dry food myself!
    Then you'll have to visit! Learn all about "hygge" and jump a bicycle everywhere you go! :D:D
     
  18. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Glad I did test again. Almost too high to read :banghead:
     
  19. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Sasha have you looked on eBay to buy strips? I used to always buy my test strips online and they were 1/2 the price of pharmacies.
     
  20. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Yeah and no. My strips are expensive no matter where I buy them. I'm thinking maybe it's cheaper to get a new meter with cheaper strips. UK is usually cheaper but with Brexit they might not be anymore. I want Walmart in Denmark :D:D
     
  21. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Id do some research and see what you can find. It is the cost of the test strips that are the ongoing cost. It is hard when the strips are so expensive. I feel your pain.
    I found a supplier on eBay who sold for a good price and I got all my strips from her. Earlier I got them from all over the world. Even South America.
     
  22. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I am researching. Right now I'm looking in France.
    You use freestyle optium? Is those strips not identical to freestyle precision neo?
     
  23. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Possibly I will have to look and see. You need to make sure the strips are compatible With the meter
     
  24. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I know. There's nothing in Denmark called freestyle optium. So I'm wondering if it's just a different name in parts of the world?
     
  25. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
  26. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  27. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think it might be the same one as the freestyle optimum neo meter but rebranded for another country.
    Can you show me the test strips you use?
    My daughter works for Abbott. I will ask her if she can find out about your meter and the strips.
     
  28. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
  29. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    They do look the same but I will try and find out definitely.
     
  30. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Looks exactly the same.
    Thank you so much, you're so kind!
     
  31. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @SashaV
    I heard back from my daughter about the meters.
    The Precision and Optium meters are the same products, just sold in different markets. They used to sell Precision here in Australia but switched to the Optium brand.
     
  32. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Really?! So I can use Optium?
    Wonderful! Thank you so much, and thank your daughter from me :bighug:
     
  33. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Do you mean use the optimum strips? if the meters are the same I would think you could. Get some and compare with what you have but if the meters are the same the freestyle optimum test strips should be fine.
     
  34. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I have the freestyle meter, so since they're the same a should be able to use the optium strips?
     
  35. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Freestyle precision neo I mean
     
  36. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That’s how I read it they are the same meter. Just rebranded for another country
     
  37. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'll try the optium strips then we'll see :D
    Is something good happening? Look Mauers last four numbers!
     
  38. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Good to be out of the red. we’ll ask @Deb & Wink if he needs an increase in dose. I’m not a Prozinc user.
     
  39. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Out of the red, still a bit high but stable :D
     
  40. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    I think you should increase the Prozinc dose.
    Try 1.5U of Prozinc (as measured in a U40 syringe).
    Multiply by 2.5 to get the amount to measure in the U100 syringes you are using.
     
  41. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
  42. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    So just to be clear. You have been giving 1.2 units of Prozinc but when you draw it up in the U-100 syringe you are actually giving 3 units. Is that correct?
     
  43. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Must be. I draw up tre big lines. Like in the photo
     
  44. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Therefore 1.5 of Prozinc equals 3.8 units if you draw it up in the U100 syringe have a look at the conversion chart I sent you.
    Do you understand that?

    So you draw up just under the 4 unit line. Can you send me a photo of it before you give it please?
     
  45. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I have looked at it, and it gives me nothing :(:banghead:
    I'll just take a photo now so you don't have to wait.
     
  46. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Like so? :oops:
     

    Attached Files:

  47. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    The first one looks closer to 3.8 than the second photo which looks closer to 3.5
    It needs to be about half way between the 3.5 and the 4 unit mark
     
  48. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    This?
     

    Attached Files:

  49. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Maybe a tiny bit more
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  50. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Towards the 4unit marker? I think I got it then
     
  51. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Do you have another photo for me?
     
  52. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    This must be it
     

    Attached Files:

  53. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Yes that looks good.
     
  54. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
  55. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’ll try and explain it better.
    The Normal Syringe for Prozinc is the U40 syringe, but because you are using a U100 syringe, you need to use a conversion table to get the correct amount.
    If you look at the conversion table I sent you the other day you will see that it is in columns of blue and white.
    The blue column says “to get this many units of Prozinc” and the white column says”fill a U100 syringe to this mark”.
    So you look up the dose of Prozinc in the blue column you need to give, then run your finger directly across to the white column and you will see the correct amount to give.
    So 1.5 units of prozinc is 3.8 units if you give it in a U100 syringe.
    Here is the Conversion table again.
     

    Attached Files:

  56. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Oooh but that doesn't look like the one from this site. This conversation chart is much easier to read!
     
  57. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page