Need a little help

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by SashaV, May 14, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    So from yesterday's low I went down to 0.4U prozinc or how you say it?
    Isn't she supposed to go up by now?
    Is it safe for me to go to bed? Or wait and do a new BG in an hour?
    Should I go down even further?
    I just really want her stable now please :(
     
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Being the worry wart that I am I'd wait and test again in an hour. I know the experts have a way of figuring it out better though.
     
    Deb & Wink and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  3. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm as nervous as a jumping flea! I'll stay up.
    Go pee with the dog and go fetch some barf for tomorrow and then check again. Seems like she's "waking up" I think.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm not much at reading spread sheets I do know if theres an established pattern you can make a more precise decision.
    I hope I havent messed up your evening if in fact you could have just gone to bed. There will be more responses to be sure.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  5. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Are you at PMPS right now, with a reading of 4.8? Did you decide to skip, or are you waiting to make the final decision?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  6. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm skipping 10000%!!!! Don't have the guts for anything else!:nailbiting:
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  7. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Btw, can you explain PMPS and AMPS?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  8. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    No worries at all!:bighug:
    Would have stayed up all night if it wasn't for you guys:smuggrin:
     
    Deb & Wink and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  9. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Sounds like a plan!

    And yes, as @jt and trouble (GA) says, get at least one more test in tonight. She's still going down from the morning's shot, you want to make sure she starts to come back up soon. I think she wants more treats!

    AMPS: AM(morning) Pre-Shot test
    PMPS: PM(evening) Pre-Shot test
     
  10. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    She loves treats! I'll do that right away!
    Gaaaah not easy for us not americans. Really can't remember pm am :banghead: and witch is witch
     
  11. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Think of it in alphabetical, since AM comes before PM :)
     
  12. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    That's a great one! Thanks!
    A lot easier here, from PM/24:00 numbers start from 1, at AM/12:00 13 and so on until 24. And everyone is in one timezone! Very important :woot:
     
  13. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Haha right?? If it's any consolation for the life of me I can never remember if 12 AM is midnight or noon - it's the end of the day so it makes sense to be PM, but also the beginning of the day! But in the middle of the night :eek:
     
  14. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    But since it's AM and A is first in the alphabet it must be 12 noon right? Or am I a lost cause?
     
  15. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I think that's you and me both LOL
     
  16. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Nooooooo is it wrong?!:banghead::banghead::banghead::(
     
  17. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    AM is morning and PM is evening but midnight/noon is confusing since it's in the middle of the day/night. Just forget 12:00 :woot:

    I think 12 AM is actually midnight...which doesn't make sense to me but OH WELL.

    Just remember AM is day cycle and PM is night cycle... and day comes before night ;)
     
  18. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    When does AM become PM?
    So sorry for my stupid questions but I really want to learn :woot:
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  19. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    In US terms AM becomes PM at noon... which is weird but I digress.

    In terms of kitty cycles it's just day vs night cycles.
     
  20. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    LOL I always think of having to get up and..PEE at night. :p
     
    Deb & Wink, SashaV and Panic like this.
  21. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I love that! :woot:
     
  22. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    10.6mmol.
    Why does this keep happening? :banghead:
    0,3 or 0,2 tomorrow?
     
  23. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    So from 12 noon it's PM and after 24 night it's AM?
     
  24. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    HMM. Well she's earned a 0.25 reduction from tonight if I'm reading the spreadsheet right.

    I had to think about it for a minute but yes!
     
  25. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    So 0.4 with a 0.25 reduction is...?
    Numbers really aren't my thing. Maybe I should give her more treats throughout the day
     
  26. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    0.15 units
    Are you using U40 syringes?
     
  27. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    No idea really. Only gave her these two shots. It's a 1ml syringe with a needle already attached. I'll look first thing tomorrow.
    Right now I need sleep so I'm fresh for her 10AM shot
    But I'm not shooting tonight. Not nearly high enough for my ballz with this new insulin. Very very potent insulin I might add.. . :banghead:
     
  28. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    yes
     
    Deb & Wink and Panic like this.
  29. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    No. U100 syringes
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’ve asked @Deb & Wink to look at the dose now that you are using U 100 syringes and Prozinc
     
    Deb & Wink and SashaV like this.
  31. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Hope I haven't ****ed it up :(
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  32. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I don’t think so because you are using a U 100 syringe The dose needs to be adjusted. Deb will do that when she decides how much insulin Mauer needs. I done use Prozinc so can’t help you there.
     
    Deb & Wink and SashaV like this.
  33. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You actually need the U100 3/10 ml syringe not the 1 ml syringe as it’s easier to draw up small amounts. When you drew up the insulin was it well below the 1 unit mark? You said you gave 0.2 ml
     
  34. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Exactly. Only two small lines
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  35. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you take a photo of the syringe and show me where you drew it up to please
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  36. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    It's up. Didn't know how else to do it
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  37. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That looks like 4 units to me, not 0.2 units.
    And the conversion for that is 1.6 units of prozinc.
    That is going to be too much for him. He is in danger of dropping too low and having a hypo as 1.2 dropped him to 49 yesterday.
    Can you take him to the vet and tell him what has happened. The vet may need to put him on a glucose drip if he drops low.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  38. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    The only other thing you can do is take his BG very hour or more often if he drops low and try and keep him up higher with some high carb food and honey if necessary.
    Do you have plenty of test strips, high carb food and honey and feel comfortable doing that?
    If he starts to drop too low you would have to go to the vet.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  39. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    How do you see 4 units?
    It's a 1ml syringe with 10,20,30,40 and so on I gave her 0.2 two tiny lines under the 10 marker. Half of yesterday's dose on 0.4
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  40. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Each of those lines is 2 units. Were you using the same syringe yesterday?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  41. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Yes.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  42. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Each of those lines is 2 units...I corrected myself after you pressed reply.
    So what about the day before when you gave 1.2 units, what syringe did you use then?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  43. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Same syringe only have those
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  44. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you show me in a photo where you drew up to for 1.2 please? When you have taken the photo, press ‘upload a file’ which is just below where you are writing this post and it will upload the photo. Thanks
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  45. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    So this was in reality 24 units?
     

    Attached Files:

    Deb & Wink likes this.
  46. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I think I got it. I'll call my vet right away
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  47. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    No need to call the vet at the moment. I will explain
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  48. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    My vet says I haven't given her 24U
    I'm so confused :banghead::banghead:
    Holy cow the levemir was a heck of a lot easier!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  49. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I can see what has happened and why Mauer was dropping low.
    The syringes you are using are U-100 syringes. But each of those little lines on the 1 ml syringe is 2 units each.
    On the U-100 3/10 ml syringes the lines are 1 unit each and they have 1/2 unit markings and you can draw up smaller amounts and they are the syringes you should be using
    We don’t use the syringes you have as they are hard to give small doses.
    To compound the issue, if you are using Prozinc you have to use a Conversion chart to give the correct amount.
    So you are not actually giving as much insulin as it looks because you using Prozinc.

    So ever since you have swapped to Prozinc you have been giving too much insulin.
    The bottom line is Mauer should be OK.
    He got 4 units tonight but on the conversion chart that is 1.6 units. That was a lot when I looked at the SS and compared it to the last 2 days but now that we know what has happened it is OK.
    Does that make sense to you?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  50. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    No it really doesn't :banghead::(
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  51. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    So the first day you gave Prozinc you drew up 14 units on the U100 syringe and thought it was 1.2 units. That gave him 5.6 units Prozinc.
    The second day you drew up 8 units And thought it was 0.4 units in the U-100 syringe and that gave 3.2 units Prozinc
    Today you drew up 4 units And thought it was 0.2 units on the U-100 syringe and that gave 1.6 units Prozinc
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  52. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Now it makes a little sense. A little...
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  53. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Good!:bighug:
    Now we need to change the SS so it reflects what has happened.
    In the U column of the SS can you change the 1.2 to 5.6
    The 0.4 to 3.2
    The 0.2 to 1.6
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  54. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    How do I figure it out in the future?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  55. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think the best thing to do is get some of the U-100 3/10 ml 30 or 31 gauge 6mm or 8 mm syringes.
    They are the same type of syringe as you have now but have a smaller capacity 3/10 ml compared to 1 ml and they have 1/2 unit markings and each line is 1 unit not 2 units like on the 1 ml syringe.

    The other option is to get the U40 syringes that go with the Prozinc insulin and no conversion is needed.

    However if you use the U100 syringes you can give smaller doses more easily but you must use the conversion Chart.
    We can help you with all of that.
    For now, I would go and make yourself a cup of :coffee: and sit down.
    I’d get some tests in during the cycle say at +2 and +4 to start with to see how he’s going with this dose.
     
    SashaV likes this.
  56. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I think I'll stick to these ones. I've already been though caninsulin and levemir and now prozinc my head can't really follow :banghead:
    I've been sitting down this whole time. Its friday! Cleaning day yay! I'm about to have a freaking migraine over all this crap. It sucks. Big time. I'll test her in a moment so it's +3 and then I'll start my cleaning.
    Thank you so much! You've been really helpful!:bighug:
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  57. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Wow!!!!! Good catch, Bron!!!!!
     
  58. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Im not surprised you are about to have a migraine......I’m breathing a big sigh of relief too!
    I’m just glad it is all OK.
     
    Deb & Wink and SashaV like this.
  59. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Numbers going down but not too fast.
    Gosh it would be easy to just skip the cleaning!
    Thank you guys. Don't know what I'd do without you!:bighug:
     
    Ann & Scatcats and Deb & Wink like this.
  60. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It was just luck! I felt uncomfortable about it and was wondering how Sasha got the 0.2 so easily on the syringe.
    It is really worthwhile asking people to take a photo of what they drew up.
    Those 1 ml syringes are a real trap.
     
  61. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Pleasure!
    259 is Ok. Did you give a small snack?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  62. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I put her down on the table they're eating at. Think she ate a bit. But she's getting fresh food now.

    My vet had taken the 100U syringe in consideration when she gave me the dose. Thankfully. Otherwise it wouldn't have been just a trap but a deathtrap.
     
  63. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Just looking at your SS. Don’t forget the PM cycle as well. It is just as important as the am cycle.
    You are only getting half the picture if you only test in the am cycle. Cats often drop lower at night.

    Don’t forget to change the doses in the U column of the SS.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  64. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Am I supposed to get up during the night to test?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  65. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It’s a good idea to get a before bed test in every night, and if that test is lower than the preshot it is a good idea to set the alarm to check that the BG has not dropped low. Cats often drop lower at night.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  66. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I already do.
    Test before first shot, +6 and before second shot. And in between if I'm nervous or seeing something off. Up at 9, test and shoot at 10, test at 16-17, test and shot at 22, off to bed and over the next day.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  67. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    9.1mmol at +6 seems a bit sleepy and eating well. Problem is, how do I figure out the units in the future? And do I give 1.6U tonight, depending on the BG?
     
  68. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I think so, but this probably needs a ProZinc person like @Deb & Wink to look over your spreadsheet and think about it. The current 1.6U is not that different from the Caninsulin dose you were transitioning from, so it's kind of starting over on the new insulin. You've gotten some movement (but not too low!) so far on this dose today, so it might not be a bad dose to try for a while.
     
  69. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    And maybe I can actually give her two shots a day on this dose! Since it's not to low like the other days :D
     
  70. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Sasha, you have those 1ml syringes, but they are really too big for measuring small doses of ANY insulin.
    Please, go buy some 3/10 cc U100 syringes to use with the U40 Prozinc insulin.
    Or buy some U40 syringes to use with this U40 concentration insulin.

    Whichever syringes you decide to buy, you need ones with half-unit (1/2 unit) markings on the insulin barrel, so you can measure the in-between doses better. So you can measure the 0.25U dose changes. That is what we use when changing a dose, 0.25U increments.

    If you keep using those 1ml U100 syringes, you are going to overdose Mauer. Let's please keep Mauer safe, with the correct syringes.

    You need to be consistent with the dose, and that is going to be nearly impossible to do that using the 1ml syringes.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) and Chloe007 like this.
  71. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Is it these ones?
    https://www.med24.dk/medicin-og-med...nyler/bd-micro-fine-plus-0-3-ml-u-100-100-stk
     
  72. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
  73. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    They're ordered hopefully they'll arrive tomorrow morning.
    So what dose do I do then?
     
  74. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @Deb & Wink can advice your with the dose as I haven’t used Prozinc.
    But when you get the syringes, have a good look at them and note where the 1 unit and 2 unit lines are. If I were you I would post a photo of where you think the dose should be before you give it. Just to be sure you understand the lines.
     
  75. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'll do that. Problem is the time difference. I shot 2 hours ago. There isn't anyone awake at this time.
     
  76. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I am awake. I live in Australia.
    If I know what time I will make sure I am here. We need to get @Deb & Wink to advise on the dose and then I can check it before you give it. How does that sound?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2020
  77. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Absolutely perfect!! Omg you guys are so kind!!!!
     
  78. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    You're 8 hours ahead of me, so at your 18:00 I'll give the first shot. I really hope the syringes gets here tomorrow morning :nailbiting:
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  79. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    @Deb & Wink could you please have a look at Mauers SS and help me with a dose?
    Hopefully the right syringes arrive tomorrow and @Bron and Sheba (GA) are helping me tomorrow with drawing it up right.
    Please :bighug:
     
  80. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    I'd actually like to see a slightly reduced dose, since Mauer dropped so low on 5/13/20 AM/morning/daytime cycle.
    For now, I would think that Mauer needs 1.25U of Prozinc. I will be giving you the insulin amounts according to the U40 concentration.

    That amount will be adjusted as Mauer's insulin needs change in the future.

    The conversion for Prozinc using U100 syringes instead of U40 syringes is 2.5 times the U40 dose.
    So 1.25 times 2.5 = 3.125U drawn up in the U100 syringe. Let's not try for that precision right now.
    Make the dose 3U in the U100 syringe.

    I'm being conservative in the dosing recommendation. That is partially due to my thought that Mauer is bouncing right now. When he clears this bounce, he is likely to need less insulin and closer monitoring.
    So please get a blood glucose test during the PM/Night/evening cycle at around +2.

    You should get at least one more test in every the PM/evening/nighttime cycle. Without that test, you are missing half your data, and it's really hard to see what is happening. Many people are able to get another test before they go to sleep. Please try to do that additional test every PM/evening/nighttime cycle.

    "Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)"

    @Bron and Sheba (GA) Using the Prozinc SLGS dosing protocol guidelines here. The protocols are written based on using U40 syringes.
    Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS

    If Mauer's BG level drops below 5 mmol/L (90 mg/dL) at any point in the 12 hour cycle, pre-shot test time or in the middle of the 12 hour dosing cycle, that would be an immediate dose reduction of 0.25U. (0.25 times 2.5 = 0.625U in a U100 syringe).

    I'm on the east coast of the US, but have not been able to sign on and answer questions until later in the evening, > 19:00 to 20:00 hours eastern daylight savings time. So when it is 19:00 hours here, it is 01:00 hours the next day in Denmark.

    @Ann & Scatcats Please introduce yourself to Sasha and her cat Mauer. Mauer is on Prozinc right now, but has used levemir and caninsulin already in his short journey with feline diabetes. He was diagnosed the beginning of March 2020 and his human mother Sasha is doing her very best to get Mauer feeling better.
     
  81. Ann & Scatcats

    Ann & Scatcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    @SashaV and Mauer, Dav jeg heder Ann og er Halv Dansk og bor i Sverige lige udenfor Göteborg. Jeg har det lit mere en svaert nå da jeg er blevet coronasyg og det hele er mer en sinsygt for oss i Sverige. Vi er paa samme tid dog og du har fået god hjaelpe her allereden.
    Og saa har du mange gode blod glucose i de blå nummer allereden. Jeg er dog mer vant til at arbejde her paa engelsk og vi skall helst anvende det da vi har peer review og fag medicinsk og saa alle andre, og det er mange, kan hjaelpe.

    Hvor gammel er Mauer?

    Du er i hvertfald paa ret vej.
     
  82. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Hej Ann
    Mauer er snart 11.
    Er du ramt af covid? Hold da op! Håber du kommer ud på den anden side uden mén :bighug:
    Jeg er så ked af at se hvor svært I har det Sverige :( det er bare slet ikke okay!
    For min skyld kan vi sagtens fortsætte på engelsk, jeg er vist ved at være ret godt med :nailbiting:
    Dit dansk er super flot! Ikke det jeg er vant til fra en svensker :D
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  83. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Sasha,
    When is your next dose due? Did you get any tests in during the cycle?
     
  84. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    1 hour! My syringes has arrived!
    Not during the PM cycle. I'm usually not a morning person so getting up this early is very new to me, so to be sure I don't sleep in I go to bed right after the PM shot. Yes my life has changed dramatically since this diagnosis :banghead:
    Normally I'd be on US time.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  85. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Please try and get at least one test in every cycle as we need the database to help Mauer.
    So have you read what Deb said about the dose above?
    She wants you to draw up 3 units of Prozinc on the new u100 syringes you have just got. That will be less than 1.25 units of Prozinc that you need to write in the units column of the SS. Write in 1.2 please.
    When you are ready, can you draw up the insulin and take a photo of the syringe please.?
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2020
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  86. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Is this right?
     

    Attached Files:

    Deb & Wink likes this.
  87. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you turn the syringe around so I can see the numbers on it please?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  88. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    14.1mmol just threw up twice but eating
     

    Attached Files:

    Deb & Wink likes this.
  89. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Took her BG, now feeding raw and a half hour to her shot. Is it wrong to feed her before?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  90. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Yes you have drawn it up correctly.:)
    Try and get a +2 and a +4 at least this cycle if you can and if the BG is still dropping, take one at +5 or 6.
    Will you be offering small snacks during the first half of the cycle?
     
    Deb & Wink and SashaV like this.
  91. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    The routine is test, feed then shoot in that order. So you are correct.
    If you were going to stall because the BG was too low, you would not feed, but wait until you tested again to see if the BG was rising without food.
    But today the BG is fine.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  92. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Yay I got something right!
    Sure. She got one after testing. And she's getting fresh canned food after her shot.
     
    Deb & Wink and Panic like this.
  93. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Problem is, she vomits when she gets to hungry. So before it becomes nausea I feed her. If she holds her number at +2 and +4 when do I test next? Before PM shot?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  94. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    well done!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  95. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If she isn't continuing to drop, you can next test at PMPS.
    You could give her a small snack at +9 each cycle so her tummy isn't empty too long
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  96. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    That won't be enough. She gets 130 grams of raw during the day and canned food. And 25-50 grams raw for night. Free access to canned and dry. She's like really hungry at the moment
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  97. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I didn't mean only feed her at +9. I meant you could also give her a small snack at +9 on top of what she normally gets if you think her tummy will be empty and she might vomit.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  98. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Aaaah :D
    Its It's much easier with these syringes. One big line is one unit and small ones are 0.25 right? And the needle is half the size
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  99. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Except I still have to convert the dose since prozinc is 40U
    Maybe I don't get it
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  100. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Shot is in. Only took 2 syringes to not give to much or to little :banghead:
    I'll get the hang of it soon!
    I test at +2 and +4 if +4 is holding, I'll test PMPS and hopefully I can stay awake to test that cycle at +2
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page