Need advice Borderline PS- to continue Insulin ?

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Suit Keng Ho, Jun 26, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Suit Keng Ho

    Suit Keng Ho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Dee Dee was diagnosed May17, went into remission one week after switching to 100% went food.
    Went dental last month, came back with ear infection, wet stools from Antibiotics.
    Diabetes relapsed after 2 days on eardrops (with Steroids- main suspect).

    Stayed at Vet for one week, unable to regulate, sent home with Caninsulin, 1.2 units, 12 hourly.
    Recommended Shot only above 8.0 (144).

    Attached his readings. Has been having borderline BG for past week.

    Should i reduce dosage and continue to shot if above 8 ?
    I feel his recovery is not strong - BG borderline 7-8 (120 to 150).
    (Prior to relapse, his BG averages 4.5 to 5.8)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Suit Keng Ho

    Suit Keng Ho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
  3. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Do you use a human or pet meter
     
  4. Suit Keng Ho

    Suit Keng Ho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    i use a human meter. His BG drops 3 hours after meals.
    He has been giving Borderline PMPS. Now testing out, skip shot for the past 10 days.
    But still feel his recovery is not strong.
     
  5. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Yeah that pancreas is trying to work. I think for now I would skip if 175 or lower and just a tiny dose over that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page