Need Help. Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by TritonMom, Oct 26, 2019.

1. TritonMom

TritonMom Member

Today I started home testing and it read 489.

It’s pretty high. My kitty is on Vetsulin 1unit twice a day. I am currently giving him Fancy Feast Grilled about 3 times a day. He is always hungry so I might give him another one late night.

Any suggestions?

2. Idjit's mom

Idjit's mom Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to FDMB. Congratulations on home testing, it's the best way to keep Triton safe and see how the insulin is working.

Set up the spreadsheet and record the insulin and testing data. Always test before shots to be sure the BG (blood glucose) is high enough to shoot. Getting mid-cycle tests shows you how low the BG is going between shots and will help you evaluate if the dose is effective.

FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions
    Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid

Read the Beginner's Guide to Vetsulin at the top of this fourm:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.186099/

Testing is a process of practice and patience, here are some wonderful tips from member Chris & China (GA):

Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing. Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.