? New here. Kitty just diagnosed last week.

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Joan Strack, Jan 10, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joan Strack

Joan Strack New Member

Hi there. I'm new to all of this. My kitty was just diagnosed last week. Yesterday was 7 day on Insulin. She's on Vetsulin. 1 unit 2 times per day. When the vet diagnosed her, her Glucose was at 500. He showed me how to inject the insulin and did her first unit that evening. The next morning, I gave her another unit. That afternoon, I took her Glucose and it was around 260. It's been running 250 to 270. I take it in the evening before I give her her nightly unit.

Yesterday, her Glucose was at 340. Is that normal? That one day it might be running 260 or so and the next, it's up that much?

I had also started giving her Fancy Feast treats in these little packets. It's basically a one-inch piece of chicken that she eats while I get her shot ready.

Could that have anything to do with it?

She is also on Hills Science diet M/D. I have three other cats and cannot feed her separately and keep her out of the community food bowl - so the vet suggested that food for all of them.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Joan

Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    Cherish Gallagher and Bobbie like this.
  2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Hi Joan... Great job jumping right into home testing! Sounds like you have a great vet!

It's very normal for the numbers to vary. Would it be possible to get some mid day readings? Like one at 4 hours after the shot and 6 hours? Then the next day at like 5 hours.... Or even better do a few curves where you take readings every two hours for 12 hours.... That will give you a great picture of what's happening.