New member! Help!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Khora Tatyana, Oct 18, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Khora Tatyana

Khora Tatyana New Member

Hey there! My name is Khora. I run a small cat rescue that previously only really took in special needs kittens. I’ve just ended up with a diabetic 10 year old, and have another one coming tomorrow!!!!

Charlotte is a 10 year old black cat, currently on 2 units of Lantus once a day (Given at 10AM, it’s currently 8PM). I have purchased a glucometer on the way home with her and want to get her into remission! She’s currently on a rx diet that’s 14% carbs, I plan on moving her onto a food that’s 11% but eventually rotating or mixing it with raw food.

I do not know when to test, when to feed her, or how to adjust insulin doses for her based on the glucose readings! I’m very new to diabetic cats. Any advice (especially on what to do RIGHT NOW because I don’t know if I should be testing before I feed her or....?) would be super appreciated! I’m reading through as many files as fast as I can but I feel lost.

2. Gill & Mac (UK)

Gill & Mac (UK) Member

Hi Khora - the many experienced sugar kitty parents on here will give you all the help you could ever want. As someone else fairly new to all this I just wanted to say welcome to the best and friendliest site you could ever help to find.
    Also thank you for taking care of all those kitties who need help and love.

3. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

WELCOME TO FDMB!
    Boy you have your hands full! Well you're about to jump into the deep end! The good thing is this is completely doable.
    First of all Lantus need to be administered every 12 hours. Splitting that 1 unit into half every 12 hours
    You should test before each shot to make sure its safe to admin insulin.
    Let kitty eat. An uncontrolled diabetic is ravenous. They cant metabolize their food properly.