New Member - Layla

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by CRomano89, Oct 28, 2024.

  1. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    My 8 year old gal Layla was diagnosed yesterday and we are starting on insulin today. We are starting with Novolin due to budget constraints but I am pretty well versed in wildlife and domestic rehab care, so I feel confident in doing a glucose curve at home. Hell, I was the one who found her blood glucose issue before the vet with at home testing! This website has been a godsend! All of the info and resources has me breathing a sigh of relief.

    I am starting her on 1 unit twice a day and going from there. She's a bigger gal, just under 12 lbs and her glucose was 540 at the time of testing so I cannot wait to get started once I get home with the supplies. We already moved her to an all wet diet with Fancy Feast pates which she loves, one battle won! My other cat has neuro issues and is a bit of a handful so it will be interesting to try and keep his food separate, he's very opinionated and nosey (as well as clumsy LOL). My problem is my at home Libre meter only reads "HIGH" over 400 so I won't be able to see a full steady drop at home like I would at the office but I'm assuming my first goal will be to get in a more suitable range. She's received fluids and looks better already with that and the diet change already, hoping we are on the right track now.
     
  2. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Welcome Layla, well, one thing I can say you have most of the battle won, by having all that knowledge, one thing I do want to refer to the Libre, they are only convenient for not having to draw blood, but believe me, by experience using the Libre, they are more a burden than a blessing, the sensors tend to fall off, stop working before the 14 days, expensive, and when you have a High BG it will usually read no more that 395 then it will show only HI, as well as in low BGs it could read even up to 10-15 lower BG numbers, than the reality, most of us members here use the human monitor ReliOn Premier and strips, very reliable and inexpensive, and yes this Forum is and has been a God sent to many of us mommies with diabetic cats, there are I am sure very qualified Vets everywhere, however it is hard to find one that is fully knowledgeable, in Feline diabetes, so they treat it as they do a dog, and the complications begin, if you could create your signature and signature, we will know more about Layla, I will tag someone that can help you with the Novolin and dosing. see the links below to start helping you get started:bighug::cat::cat:
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)
    @Wendy&Neko
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  3. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    Thanks so much for the insight, I totally misspoke(typed?) and meant to say it's the Freestyle Lite meter not the continuous monitor. I was looking at the continuous glucose monitors and must've had "libre" on the brain LOL I was worried that they would be more of a burden than a blessing so that input helps!

    Thank you for the links, I'll work on updating my signature and profile now! :)
     
    CORKY likes this.
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi and welcome to the forum. Well done getting the SS and signature set up. Very helpful.
    Novolin is not a good insulin for cats. Is it Novolin N you are using?
    It is a harsh insulin and hits fast and does not last the 12 hours.
    You need to be giving a good meal an hour before the insulin dose, so she has food aboard when the insulin hits.
    I would also give a snack at +2 and +4 and test then as well to ensure the BG has not dropped too much.
    Here is a link to using NovolinN
    Keep asking questions.:)
     
    CORKY and CRomano89 like this.
  5. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    Yes, it is Novolin N and I understand its shortfalls but it’s the best I can do for now, unfortunately. Hopefully in a few weeks I’m in a better spot and can get her the better insulin.

    I fed her a meal an hour before and administered her first dose tonight. Hopefully we can at least get BG down to registrable levels on the glucometer for our first goal.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  6. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I do understand the need to work within a budget. I’m glad you fed as hour earlier before giving the dose. Well done!
    If you do get a chance to do the swap to a better insulin, I think you can now get cheaper Lantus in the US. That is a very good insulin for cats. Longer lasting and more gentle.
    I will tag @Diane Tyler's Mom GA as she has information about getting cheaper Lantus.
     
    CORKY and CRomano89 like this.
  7. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    2 hr reading is 266. She must feel better already even though it’s still high! I’ll stay up a bit later and check again in 2 more hrs.
     
  8. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That’s a very big drop in 2 hours and although it is good to see the lower numbers, dropping that fast can trigger bouncing which can last for up to three days. This is the issue with insulins like NovolinN. They drop the BG too fast.
    Longer acting insulins like Lantus will normally drop it more sedately and although plenty of cats on Lantus bounce until they get used to the normal numbers again, it is much better for the cats not to have those huge swings. There is not a lot you can do about once bouncing has happened but maybe if you gave a good snack at +1 and +2 you might be able to slow that drop. Don’t be surprised if the BGs stay up high for a day or two. Don’t be tempted to increase the dose. It will be the bouncing that is causing it.
    Information on Bouncing

    Use the remarks column of the SS to give us information about when you give snacks, test for ketones and how she feels etc.
     
    CORKY and CRomano89 like this.
  9. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    Will do!
     
    CORKY likes this.
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  11. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024

    Thank you! This is great! I’m assuming I’ll need a script to send over to these options as well. That was my other hold up, the vet I used for her labs would not prescribe insulin because he doesn’t “do” diabetes consults for cats but wanted to refer me to another vet to get the script written. Unfortunately they were booking weeks out but would try to “get me in” for an emergency sometime this week or I could go to an ER for faster service. I’m still on their waiting list and hoping for a call.
     
  12. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How frustrating for you. I really don’t think there is any excuse for not seeing a diabetic cat that needs insulin.
     
  13. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    I’m wondering if because it dropped so quickly I should stick to .5 unit doses in the future? I gave her a snack at her last testing to try and lessen the blow a bit. Since she was off my meter’s range, I’m not sure if her preshot was still in the 500s as it had been at the vet or had come down to the 400s after her shift to mostly wet food. Either way that’s a big drop. I’ll stay the course for now and keep testing.
     
  14. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Unless the BG drops under 90 I would stay with the 1 unit dose.
    Getting those early snacks in might help the drop, although it can be hard to control the drop with Novolin N.
    Here is some more information about NOVOLIN N. It also contains information about vetsulin so make sure you are reading the correct information
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You can definitely get 5 pens of Lantus or the generic Glargine

    You can Check
    CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens either Lantus or the generic Glargine , plenty of members use the generic
    Just call around and see who has the cheapest price , it's really not that expensive
    With the pens just keep them in the fridge middle shelf , they all have the expiration date on them .They will probably say 2025 or 2026

    Also
    The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
    Its generic lantus

    If you use the Good Rx
    GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

    I think I found it for you
    GoodRx / Customer service

    1 (855) 268-2822


    GoodRx coupon.
    https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
    Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menu says generic glargine 1carton of 5 3ml pens.


    Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen! You will see a small gray rubber stopper, insert the syringe there
    [​IMG]

    We use the syringes because with using the pens you can only adjust the dose by whole units with a pen so we use the syringes since we either increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2024
    CRomano89 likes this.
  16. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I know money is tight , these test strips are probably cheaper than the Freestyle Lite
    Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
    Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
    https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

    The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
    https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
    At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  17. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024

    This is great info thank you! I’m still working on securing a prescription (which I’m sure you need for those?) but those sound like a great option once I have it! I called around a few other vet offices today to try and get things moving.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA likes this.
  18. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    Since removing dry food, her BG hasn’t gotten back up to the 400s and 500s again so that’s promising! I still had some dry out the other day so I’m sure she dabbled here and there. I’m planning on putting both cats on all wet diet now after learning how awful dry is.
     
  19. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    Hi All, I updated my sheet and we are staying pretty consistent here. I have been having a hard time testing at the 3 hr mark to catch the nadir but seems to be in the 180s. We are at 1.25 units. Should I stay the course, increase, go back down? Does this look ok for now? We have an appt with a new vet clinic scheduled the first week of December so hopefully I'll be able to get her on a better insulin then. Her energy levels and overall demeanor have greatly improved. No ketones in urine, healthy appetite and she now stands nice and tall instead of her previous crouching and hiding all day.
     
  20. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Glad to hear Layla is feeling better
    I think you could go up to 1.5 units as long as you are getting a test in every cycle during that cycle. We need to see how low the dose is taking Layla. Are you leaving out food for during the cycles. It’s important she eats during the cycle.
    If the BG drops under 90, you need to reduce the dose.
    Yes, do try and get a swap to either Lantus or Prozinc. They are much better insulins for cats.
    Please keep posting.
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  21. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024

    Yes she does have food out throughout. I did increase it once to 1.5 but got nervous because I didn’t see the numbers dip as low as I was expecting. Wasn’t sure if I was increasing too soon. Maybe I will wait until the weekend so I can be home to test more often during the cycle when I increase.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  22. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Good idea
     
  23. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    A bit bummed. I’ve noticed my Freestyle Lite is providing wildly varying test results. I can prick and test 3 times and get 3 totally different numbers. So that probably means my first week of testing wasn’t as great as I thought it was going. I’m going to stick with the CVS Truemetrix for now. Even though it reads higher it seems the most accurate after multiple back to back tests.
     
  24. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I see you sent up to 2 units. We recommend going up in 1/4 unit increments unless the BGs are consistently in the 300s and above.
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  25. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    PM pre shot number was at 159! I’m shocked! Do I retest after she eats dinner? I’m obviously not giving her shot tonight.
    She’s been eating less (but a normal amount for a cat her size, just not ravenously hungry as she was before). Good news?
     
  26. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Layla, with that drop to 75 on 12/3 in the pm cycle, you needed to have reduced the dose back to 2 units. Any drop under 90 when doing SLGS earns a reduction in dose. And because you are using NovolinN any drop under 90 is another reason to reduce the dose back to 2 units.

    If you get a test when is a lot lower than the Preshot like you did on 12/2, 12/3 and 12/4 in the pm cycle, I would recommend you test again an hour or 2 later to see how low the BG is going.
     
  27. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    Thank you, I have reduced her dose back to two units this morning. Her a.m. pre shot number was 315.

    That night that she went to 70 I am almost certain my husband gave her 2.5 unit instead of a quarter. When he showed me where he drew it on the syringe, it was way closer to the half mark line than I usually do. Are there any needles that mark in quarter increments?

    I need to get better at waking up in the middle of the night to do another test. I used to think her nadir was around three hours, but who knows it might be later
     
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Unfortunately no
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  29. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Our littles like to be unpredictable and keep us on our toes ;)
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  30. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024
    I bumped her down to 2 units and yesterday did a test every 1 hr during the day since I was home. She looked good! This morning was nearly identical pre shot and she dropped to 90 at the 3.5 hr mark. What in the world?! should I go down to 1.75 or hold steady with 2 for now?

    I have the sneaking suspicion she had been eating my other cat’s dry food during the middle of the night for the last few weeks. They both are on wet now and her numbers have been relatively low ever since hmmmm
     
  31. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Technically, you don't reduce the dose unless numbers are below 90. Layla has been at the 2.0u dose for only 3 cycles and it may be good to let her get used to this dose.

    If it's feasible to have both cats eating the same food, it will make your life much easier. There's no reason that a non-diabetic cat can't eat the same low carb diet. In fact, it's preferable for all cats to eat a low carb diet. Cats are obligate carnivores. They don't process carbohydrates well. This is a link to a great site on feline nutrition if you want to do some reading.
     
    CRomano89 likes this.
  32. CRomano89

    CRomano89 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2024

    Thanks!! I’ll keep her on the course. And yes, it’s much easier now with both on the same food. My other cat is a bit picky about the wet but he’ll learn.
     

Share This Page