Nancy S
Member Since 2021
I am brand new to this forum. I have a cherished cat,my favorite cat EVER, KittyLou who was diagnosed with both hyperthyroid and diabetes on June 1. She had received a heavy dose of Depo Medrol in early may for a small rodent ulcer on her lip. Her symptoms began shortly after the shot. On June 9, KittyLou began with Basaglar 1.5 units, and increased to 2 units on June 23 after her first glucose curve at the vets. All was going pretty well, except I was not yet confident about testing. I started testing intermittently on the 4th of July. All was still going pretty well, although KittyLou was not regulated yet. The bad thing is, no matter how hard I have tried, Lou will only eat dry food. When diagnosed, she was switched to Purina DM dry. On July 14, I got the bright idea of switching to Dr. Elseys Chicken Dry food which is supposed to be a low carb dry food. (I went from an 18% carb food down to a 4% carb food, as I understand it). After the food switch, the BG went really high (506 AM preshot), but started yo yo ing. Lou had at least 2 days of over 400 point spread between the high and low for the day. I made the mistake of bouncing around with the insulin, trying to react to the high and lows. I am in panic mode now.
I have a spreadsheet of all of this. Today, I am giving her 1.5 units twice a day ( and have been at this dose since the last vet visit on July 20). Today she is over 500 at every reading.
I have no idea if I am giving her too much insulin or too little. I just want to cry because I am not doing right by her and I dont know what to do.
Who can help me interpret these numbers and give me hope?
I have a spreadsheet of all of this. Today, I am giving her 1.5 units twice a day ( and have been at this dose since the last vet visit on July 20). Today she is over 500 at every reading.
I have no idea if I am giving her too much insulin or too little. I just want to cry because I am not doing right by her and I dont know what to do.
Who can help me interpret these numbers and give me hope?
Last edited:
Cute picture of KittyLou
Just linking to your post on health since that had some background -