Roxana & Henry
Active Member
Hi,
First of all, a huge thank you for the members here who tirelessly help newbies like me save their babies. You are all ANGELS sent from Heaven.
My name is Roxana and my baby’s name is Henry. He is 13 year old male tabby, fluffy (17 pounds – always loved food and always super picky), has the most beautiful big green eyes and the biggest ears (it’s like they are asking to be poked I have him since he was a 5 month year old baby, he came in front of my apartment and never left (he figured he found his forever slave ). He is fully indoors for safety reasons. He is extremely vocal, super picky and a bit of a dry food addict. If he likes a can of something today, tomorrow is Meh…Is crazy about cooked shrimp (vet said no due to calories) and likes raw chicken but not every day.
I fed him high end wet food all grain free and yet, when he was 4 yrs old he had PU surgery due to crystals in urine. 3 years later he needed a cystostomy due to more crystals. He never liked the SO urinary wet food so he was mostly on the dry food since his surgery in 2017 (no crystals since then). He never liked water until his diabetes despite a gazillion fountains and all kind of tricks.
Last December he started drinking a lot of water and I figured something is not right so took him to the vet and was diagnosed with diabetes in January 2022 (356 BG, fructosamine 750). Doctor started on one unit of Lantus immediately and purina DM and each week his BG got higher and higher until we got to 5 units (huge mistake). I have made many mistakes mostly because I did not know any of the rules until I started reading this forum. I hope others can learn from them.
Mistake #1 : The doctor said to feed 12 hrs apart, no snacks and food has to be exactly the same. Well Henry is ridiculously picky and no way in hell I can feed same canned food each day. Initially I tried the LC prescription canned food and he did not touch it except for the Purina DM Morsels which is not LC (has soy – really cats eat soy??). After a week he got sick from it and was very scared. Switched him Purina DM Dry Food – at ridiculous 15% carb content. He got his energy back 4 days later and was no longer depressed. That is why the lantus was not working at lower doses because of the stupid dry food full of carbs.
Mistake #2: Instead of increasing the Lantus in small doses the dr said to go in 1 units and very soon he was at 4 units and I got desperate because his BG was still very high. Because I got desperate I got the acromegaly test – which was negative and an abdominal ultrasound (thanks to the growling I was hearing when he was on the Purina DM morsels) – all clear- no signs of pancreatitis or other issues. No DKA ever thank God. I have blood work results (generally good outside of the BG, some dehydration, high cholesterol) but plan on getting another test this Saturday to see how he progressed so I will upload after.
Mistake #3 : Increased insulin at the same time of food change to canned which is a big NO NO. When he was at 4 units, vet said go to 5 units and I also transitioned to Fancy Feast fully at the same time as I was desperate ( I thought lantus was not working). Poor kitty was hypersalivating which was weird but thought maybe it was the food because he used to do that with urinary SO sometimes. Well it is because he was going way too low and then bouncing back. Honestly it is a miracle I did not kill him. Two weeks of this madness and no I did not do testing then. Mad at myself.
Mistake #4: We got the Libre sensor and quickly noted his first Hypo, I panicked when I saw the numbers going down so super-fast and I stuffed him with the PURINA DM Dry but that did not work fast enough and went into hypo. I think it took about 1.5-2 hours for that food to kick in. Should have done karo syrup plus some MC or HC wet food probably. I took him to the vet immediately for monitoring and they refused to do a blood prick saying the Libre is very accurate. RRR. Henry had no symptoms he was sleeping and was annoyed I woke him up. The BG bounced back very quickly back to over 300. The next week the dose was decreased, then increased way quickly, and he had another hypo. It was very hard to figure out the dose after the two hypos ( he was bouncing and it was crazy) and was strange that with 2.5 units in the AM and 2.5 units in the PM he was going into hypo but if I did 2 and 2 he was going over 400. It was a strange time so vet said do 2.5 in the AM and 2 in the PM. I was so terrified of the hypos and lack of support/direction from vet (very hard to reach or get a response back). S0 I kept him at that dose for a while. However, Henry refused to eat the Fancy Feast (from all types he only liked the beef) even with stuff sprinkled on it. I put him then on Feline Natural Freeze Dried Lamb in the AM and Hounds and Gatos in the PM (he got bored of the Hounds and Gatos after one day). When we got a new Libre 14 days sensor, it was clear he was very high, despite feeding what is supposed to be LC food. The vet said be consistent so feed the freeze dried both in the am and the pm. I did and his BG went over 500.
Mistake #5: I fed him one snack at +4 in the morning but not in the evening. Sounds like more snacks in the am and pm are better. Thank goodness because my boy starts screaming for food around 4-5 pm and it is hell until 6.30-7 pm.
I know that is a lot but long story short, now I am feeding him LC carb (but varied between brands and types otherwise is a no go – mostly Feline Wellness Pate, Halo, Fancy Feast but less bec he hates it, Weurva) with a bit of Young Again dry food (so I can distract him why give him the Lantus) and a bit of freeze-dried food (stella and chewy or feline natural). He was 20 pounds but lost 3 pounds after he ate the Purina DM morsels. He has been stable at 17 pounds. I suspect the freeze dried food, the raw chicken and even the young again may increase his BG higher than normal. I think I read an article here about the foods that are too low carb may increase the BG more than the FF type food. I will try to limit as much as I can but little man needs his treats ( I ordered Dr Elsey and Epigen and will see if that is better for him despite higher carbs and calories). I started poking his ears but it has been very hard, he is very feisty at 6.30 AM when all he wants is food not the annoying prick. It has gotten a bit better, got some readings during the day but mostly failed I will continue to try to get better but meanwhile will do the Libre sensor again. I sometimes scan the sensor in the middle of the night ( 3 am, 5 am) and the morning I have no recollection I did it. My unconscious mind has been trained well lol
I started the spreadsheet and I have the most recent Libre numbers and now going back to add more rows at the begging of it but it is a lot of data and it takes time (I hope you can see it and take a look at the last 2 weeks) . He is having a new Libre put on Saturday and I am planning to start him at a new does on Sunday – 2.75 (up with 0.25 from 2.5) – does that sound right?
I have some questions:
1. I did a furshot today 5/12 in the AM. Can I still increase from 2.5 to 2.75 on Sunday? He has been pretty high, and I think that still should be ok.
2. What is the best way to make sure I approximate the 0.25 unit? I have half unit syringes (Ulticare) but my concern is I will not be consistent if I just eyeball the half of the half unit.
3. What is the best recommendation for how many snacks, how much and when? No food 2 hrs before insulin shot, I got that part but not sure about the rest : This is his current schedule:
1. 6.30 AM my alarm goes off, Henry knows that means food he starts meowing loudly, I try to test, I fail (for now), then I feed, then at 7.10 (AMPS) I give the injection plus a bit of young again dry food to distract him from the injection. I am not a morning person so I am mostly asleep lol
2. Test at AM +2 (9 am) – one piece of stella and chewy freeze dried – is that too much?
3. Test at AM +4 followed by a treat plus Snack at 11 -11.30 AM, 4 hours after shot ( 1 tbsp of freeze dried – may have to switch to wet if possible as I suspect this increases his BG way much).
4. Test at 6.30 PM (pmps), feed (different can of LC) and then insulin at 7.10 pm plus young again
5. Test at pm +4 followed by a treat plus Snack at 11 -11.30 pm, 4 hours after shot ( 1 tbsp of freeze dried – may have to switch to wet if possible as I suspect this increases his BG way much).
4. How long do we stay at 2.75? 6 cycles min? Or a full week since I got a furshot today and needs the insulin depot to build.
5. I have noted the Libre last week was consistently over 400 with AT showing numbers of 300 or less. I also bought Free Style Lite glucometer but errored out on me. I will try again. I plan to scan often the FL sensor ( I work from home, but have many Teams calls during the day and can’t always do the ear prick). I plan to take ear pricks as much as I can. I know everyone uses a human meter here but so far I had more success with the AT than the FS Lite to be honest. All of them are made by Abbott and should be calibrated but no they are not (that can be another thread in itself lol). Henry has pet insurance and the sensor costs frankly nothing. What do you guys think I should be using along with the sensor? The AT or the FS Lite which is for humans. For example, if the sensor says it is going low, do I doublecheck with AT or FSL to make sure? I read mixed results about Relion and want something that is supposedly more reliable and takes less blood because I have a hard time with that.
6. How do people test for urine ( read some articles with the spoon trick but too hard for me, I tried some special litter from Chewy but was a tiny amount and Henry said no thanks. When I hear him going to the restroom, I quickly run and try to dip a test strip before the urine is absorbed by the clumping litter. Not the best because I can’t always be there when he does it. No ketones so far, tested a few times recently.
I am sure I will have a ton more questions. The best thing I did was going to another vet who is feline specialist and sent me to this forum (she is also busy and it’s hard to get a call back). I read tons and tons of articles and hoping to get better and better at testing and handling lower numbers but until then I will be a pest and bug you guys because I love my baby to pieces and I have lost a lot of time and made many mistakes so far. I was completely blind and lost until I found you. Please be our guiding light Henry is now in great spirits, runs around and plays like a kitten. Outside of his high numbers and increased thirst (much better now) you would never know he has diabetes.
Thank you for reading this crazy long thread.
Roxana and Henry
First of all, a huge thank you for the members here who tirelessly help newbies like me save their babies. You are all ANGELS sent from Heaven.
My name is Roxana and my baby’s name is Henry. He is 13 year old male tabby, fluffy (17 pounds – always loved food and always super picky), has the most beautiful big green eyes and the biggest ears (it’s like they are asking to be poked I have him since he was a 5 month year old baby, he came in front of my apartment and never left (he figured he found his forever slave ). He is fully indoors for safety reasons. He is extremely vocal, super picky and a bit of a dry food addict. If he likes a can of something today, tomorrow is Meh…Is crazy about cooked shrimp (vet said no due to calories) and likes raw chicken but not every day.
I fed him high end wet food all grain free and yet, when he was 4 yrs old he had PU surgery due to crystals in urine. 3 years later he needed a cystostomy due to more crystals. He never liked the SO urinary wet food so he was mostly on the dry food since his surgery in 2017 (no crystals since then). He never liked water until his diabetes despite a gazillion fountains and all kind of tricks.
Last December he started drinking a lot of water and I figured something is not right so took him to the vet and was diagnosed with diabetes in January 2022 (356 BG, fructosamine 750). Doctor started on one unit of Lantus immediately and purina DM and each week his BG got higher and higher until we got to 5 units (huge mistake). I have made many mistakes mostly because I did not know any of the rules until I started reading this forum. I hope others can learn from them.
Mistake #1 : The doctor said to feed 12 hrs apart, no snacks and food has to be exactly the same. Well Henry is ridiculously picky and no way in hell I can feed same canned food each day. Initially I tried the LC prescription canned food and he did not touch it except for the Purina DM Morsels which is not LC (has soy – really cats eat soy??). After a week he got sick from it and was very scared. Switched him Purina DM Dry Food – at ridiculous 15% carb content. He got his energy back 4 days later and was no longer depressed. That is why the lantus was not working at lower doses because of the stupid dry food full of carbs.
Mistake #2: Instead of increasing the Lantus in small doses the dr said to go in 1 units and very soon he was at 4 units and I got desperate because his BG was still very high. Because I got desperate I got the acromegaly test – which was negative and an abdominal ultrasound (thanks to the growling I was hearing when he was on the Purina DM morsels) – all clear- no signs of pancreatitis or other issues. No DKA ever thank God. I have blood work results (generally good outside of the BG, some dehydration, high cholesterol) but plan on getting another test this Saturday to see how he progressed so I will upload after.
Mistake #3 : Increased insulin at the same time of food change to canned which is a big NO NO. When he was at 4 units, vet said go to 5 units and I also transitioned to Fancy Feast fully at the same time as I was desperate ( I thought lantus was not working). Poor kitty was hypersalivating which was weird but thought maybe it was the food because he used to do that with urinary SO sometimes. Well it is because he was going way too low and then bouncing back. Honestly it is a miracle I did not kill him. Two weeks of this madness and no I did not do testing then. Mad at myself.
Mistake #4: We got the Libre sensor and quickly noted his first Hypo, I panicked when I saw the numbers going down so super-fast and I stuffed him with the PURINA DM Dry but that did not work fast enough and went into hypo. I think it took about 1.5-2 hours for that food to kick in. Should have done karo syrup plus some MC or HC wet food probably. I took him to the vet immediately for monitoring and they refused to do a blood prick saying the Libre is very accurate. RRR. Henry had no symptoms he was sleeping and was annoyed I woke him up. The BG bounced back very quickly back to over 300. The next week the dose was decreased, then increased way quickly, and he had another hypo. It was very hard to figure out the dose after the two hypos ( he was bouncing and it was crazy) and was strange that with 2.5 units in the AM and 2.5 units in the PM he was going into hypo but if I did 2 and 2 he was going over 400. It was a strange time so vet said do 2.5 in the AM and 2 in the PM. I was so terrified of the hypos and lack of support/direction from vet (very hard to reach or get a response back). S0 I kept him at that dose for a while. However, Henry refused to eat the Fancy Feast (from all types he only liked the beef) even with stuff sprinkled on it. I put him then on Feline Natural Freeze Dried Lamb in the AM and Hounds and Gatos in the PM (he got bored of the Hounds and Gatos after one day). When we got a new Libre 14 days sensor, it was clear he was very high, despite feeding what is supposed to be LC food. The vet said be consistent so feed the freeze dried both in the am and the pm. I did and his BG went over 500.
Mistake #5: I fed him one snack at +4 in the morning but not in the evening. Sounds like more snacks in the am and pm are better. Thank goodness because my boy starts screaming for food around 4-5 pm and it is hell until 6.30-7 pm.
I know that is a lot but long story short, now I am feeding him LC carb (but varied between brands and types otherwise is a no go – mostly Feline Wellness Pate, Halo, Fancy Feast but less bec he hates it, Weurva) with a bit of Young Again dry food (so I can distract him why give him the Lantus) and a bit of freeze-dried food (stella and chewy or feline natural). He was 20 pounds but lost 3 pounds after he ate the Purina DM morsels. He has been stable at 17 pounds. I suspect the freeze dried food, the raw chicken and even the young again may increase his BG higher than normal. I think I read an article here about the foods that are too low carb may increase the BG more than the FF type food. I will try to limit as much as I can but little man needs his treats ( I ordered Dr Elsey and Epigen and will see if that is better for him despite higher carbs and calories). I started poking his ears but it has been very hard, he is very feisty at 6.30 AM when all he wants is food not the annoying prick. It has gotten a bit better, got some readings during the day but mostly failed I will continue to try to get better but meanwhile will do the Libre sensor again. I sometimes scan the sensor in the middle of the night ( 3 am, 5 am) and the morning I have no recollection I did it. My unconscious mind has been trained well lol
I started the spreadsheet and I have the most recent Libre numbers and now going back to add more rows at the begging of it but it is a lot of data and it takes time (I hope you can see it and take a look at the last 2 weeks) . He is having a new Libre put on Saturday and I am planning to start him at a new does on Sunday – 2.75 (up with 0.25 from 2.5) – does that sound right?
I have some questions:
1. I did a furshot today 5/12 in the AM. Can I still increase from 2.5 to 2.75 on Sunday? He has been pretty high, and I think that still should be ok.
2. What is the best way to make sure I approximate the 0.25 unit? I have half unit syringes (Ulticare) but my concern is I will not be consistent if I just eyeball the half of the half unit.
3. What is the best recommendation for how many snacks, how much and when? No food 2 hrs before insulin shot, I got that part but not sure about the rest : This is his current schedule:
1. 6.30 AM my alarm goes off, Henry knows that means food he starts meowing loudly, I try to test, I fail (for now), then I feed, then at 7.10 (AMPS) I give the injection plus a bit of young again dry food to distract him from the injection. I am not a morning person so I am mostly asleep lol
2. Test at AM +2 (9 am) – one piece of stella and chewy freeze dried – is that too much?
3. Test at AM +4 followed by a treat plus Snack at 11 -11.30 AM, 4 hours after shot ( 1 tbsp of freeze dried – may have to switch to wet if possible as I suspect this increases his BG way much).
4. Test at 6.30 PM (pmps), feed (different can of LC) and then insulin at 7.10 pm plus young again
5. Test at pm +4 followed by a treat plus Snack at 11 -11.30 pm, 4 hours after shot ( 1 tbsp of freeze dried – may have to switch to wet if possible as I suspect this increases his BG way much).
4. How long do we stay at 2.75? 6 cycles min? Or a full week since I got a furshot today and needs the insulin depot to build.
5. I have noted the Libre last week was consistently over 400 with AT showing numbers of 300 or less. I also bought Free Style Lite glucometer but errored out on me. I will try again. I plan to scan often the FL sensor ( I work from home, but have many Teams calls during the day and can’t always do the ear prick). I plan to take ear pricks as much as I can. I know everyone uses a human meter here but so far I had more success with the AT than the FS Lite to be honest. All of them are made by Abbott and should be calibrated but no they are not (that can be another thread in itself lol). Henry has pet insurance and the sensor costs frankly nothing. What do you guys think I should be using along with the sensor? The AT or the FS Lite which is for humans. For example, if the sensor says it is going low, do I doublecheck with AT or FSL to make sure? I read mixed results about Relion and want something that is supposedly more reliable and takes less blood because I have a hard time with that.
6. How do people test for urine ( read some articles with the spoon trick but too hard for me, I tried some special litter from Chewy but was a tiny amount and Henry said no thanks. When I hear him going to the restroom, I quickly run and try to dip a test strip before the urine is absorbed by the clumping litter. Not the best because I can’t always be there when he does it. No ketones so far, tested a few times recently.
I am sure I will have a ton more questions. The best thing I did was going to another vet who is feline specialist and sent me to this forum (she is also busy and it’s hard to get a call back). I read tons and tons of articles and hoping to get better and better at testing and handling lower numbers but until then I will be a pest and bug you guys because I love my baby to pieces and I have lost a lot of time and made many mistakes so far. I was completely blind and lost until I found you. Please be our guiding light Henry is now in great spirits, runs around and plays like a kitten. Outside of his high numbers and increased thirst (much better now) you would never know he has diabetes.
Thank you for reading this crazy long thread.
Roxana and Henry