New member, Tabby

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jingwen

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone,

I'm Jingwen and I'm from Singapore. My timezone is GMT+8.

Tabby (estimated to be 8 years old and above) is a stray cat that I have been feeding for a couple of years. Over the past few weeks, I realized that she has been drinking more water and eating more. However, she continues to lose weight. Thus, I brought her to the vet.

The vet did an IDEXX Chem-17 on her and her glucose was 422 mg/dL & the Catalyst FRU result was 452 μmol/L. The diagnosis was that she has diabetes. I started giving her FF classic pate series on the day she was diagnosed. I have no idea what's her entire diet as she's a stray.

The vet did a glucose curve (4 hours intervals during 12 hours period) for her while she was in the clinic. She was started on Lantus insulin 1 unit twice a day (12 hours apart). I have been following the vet's advice of doing home testing with a human glucometer before feeding her and giving her the insulin shot. I have included the data in the spreadsheet (in my signature). One week later, I sent her back to the clinic as requested for yet another glucose curve (4 hours intervals during 12 hours period). I was told by the vet that 1 unit is not enough and told me to increase it to 2 units.

So the next day, I started her on 2 units in the morning and night as her BG is still over 10 (less than 10 is the value that I was told will be a no shot). Then the next morning, her AMPS value actually dropped to 4.1 (it was 11.4 before the previous shot). So I gave her FF classic pate and did testing 1.5 hours later and it went up to 6.1 (insulin dose was skipped). Called the clinic and was told to reduce the insulin to 1.5units for the night dose.

Instead of giving 1.5units, I gave her 1 unit (PMPS 22.5) as I'm worried she might get hypoglycemia with that dosage. The next AMPS was 10 so I stalled for 1 hour and recheck her BG which dropped to 9, thus I feed her and skip the dose again. I gave her 1 unit for the night as PMPS was 17.7.

This morning her AMPS was 9.3 so I called the clinic for advice, the vet advised me to feed her and test her BG again 2 hours after eating. If it's above 12, give her the shot, if not skip it. Her BG was 11.4 so I skip the dose again.

To say the truth, I'm quite lost and worried about this situation as the vet is actually a newbie (it's her first time managing a diabetic cat). It also confuse me that their glucose curve was done 4 hours apart for only 12 hours period. And they are not able to provide me with the nadir time.

I actually planned to do a 2 hours interval glucose curve over 24 hours period starting this morning, however, her morning AMPS was under 10 and I skip the dose. So I'm no longer sure what should I do and thus posting here to get some help. I'm thinking if she needs a reduced dose of insulin as I'm not sure skipping a dose every day is something that will help her condition.

Thank you for reading my super long post and will appreciate any advice.

P.S: I can't find 1/2 unit marking insulin syringes here so I'm also worried about how am I supposed to give 0.25 or 0.5 unit dose accurately.
 
Hi and welcome Jingwen and Tabby to the forum. What a handsome boy! That is very kind of you to take in a stray kitty with diabetes.
Well done setting up the spreadsheet and the signature.
You have a great insulin for cats (Lantus), are feeding the correct food and are hometesting! Lucky Tabby.


I can't find 1/2 unit marking insulin syringes here so I'm also worried about how am I supposed to give 0.25 or 0.5 unit dose accurately
I live in Australia and we can’t get 1/2 unit syringes here either. They can be bought from the UK but I think there is a supply issue at the moment. I only used the 1 unit syringes too, most of the time except foe a short time when someone gave me a few1/2 unit ones. I had no trouble getting the 1/4 and 1/2 unit doses….what I did was use a magnifying glass and made sure I was in a good light.

Are you able to get any tests in during the PM cycle? It is just as important as the am cycle so even if you can only get a before bed test in that would be helpful. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle, not the preshot BG so it’s important to try and get tests in during the cycles. Cats often drop lower at night so it’s a good idea to get at least one test in.

Are you feeding a meal before the insulin shot and then giving a couple of snacks during the cycles? It is better to give the snacks during the first half of the cycle if you can around +3 and +5 for example. A snack is about a tablespoon of the low carb food. Give the snacks for both the am and the pm cycles.

Do you have a hypo kit set up in case of low numbers. The link below has the hypo information in it plus other useful information.
HELP US HELP YOU

We can help you with dosing if you like. What you will need to do is have a look at the two dosing methods and decide which one suits you better. If you are not feeding any dry food and can test at least 4 times a day…ie the two preshot BGs and at least once every cycle….you can do the tight regulation method. It is quite an aggressive method but gets good results.
The Start Low Go Slow method is the other method and you can feed dry food and don’t have to retest as much but you do need to test before every shot.
Here is the link to The two dosing methods for Lantus

Going from 1 unit to 2 units is doubling the dose. We commend doing increases in 0.25 unit increments.
I would go down to 0.75 unit and see if you can shoot both the am and the pm dose with that dose. It may not be enough but you can Increase later. You will need to hold the dose for at least three days (with TR) and 7 days (with SLGS) to let the depot fill.

If the preshot BG is under 200 I would stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. Also post and ask for advice.
You can gradually reduce the preshot BG.
Keep asking questions, we are happy to help you.


 
Thanks for the assurance, the 1 unit gap is so small that's why I'm worried that I might not get the doses correctly. Sometimes it took me a while to make sure exactly it's exactly 1 unit. I have checked with the distributor and confirmed that there are no half-unit marking syringes here. I guess I just need more practice and get a magnifying glass!

Yes, I'm able to test for the PM cycle, may I know how many hours intervals should I start with?

Right now, I'm only feeding her twice a day 30 mins before her insulin jab as advised by the vet. Ok, I will start giving her snacks at +3 or +5.

I have already set up a basic hypo kit (Honey + MC food), and am planning to get some HC food tomorrow. Is honey ok or must I get corn syrup (it's not that common to get corn syrup here)?

Yes, I will love help from the group to help me with the dosing as I really think my vet is not an expert about it. I'm able to test her at least 4 times a day so I will like to go with the tight regulation method if possible after I get more MC & HC food in my hypo kit.

Do you think I should start with 0.75 unit later in the night (10 PM - GMT+8, if I get a reply in time)? If not I shall start tomorrow.

Can I check, what should be done if the BG is still under 200 after stalling 20 minutes?

Should I be doing a glucose curve for her so that I'm able to get more data?

Sorry for asking so many questions in advance as I'm worried that due to timezone differences, I might not get a reply in time.

Thank you!
 
Is honey ok or must I get corn
Honey is fine. That is what I used.

Right now, I'm only feeding her twice a day 30 mins before her insulin jab as advised by the vet. Ok
you don’t need to wait 30 minutes before giving the insulin with Lantus. You can test, feed and give the dose one after the other. The onset of the insulin is not for about two hours.

like to go with the tight regulation method if possible after I get more MC & HC food in my hypo kit.
Can you put TR in your SS at the top and in your signature please, now that you have decided to do TR?

you think I should start with 0.75 unit later in the night (10 PM - GMT+8, if I get a reply in time)? If not I shall start tomorrow
I would start the 0.75 dose at your next dose.

Can I check, what should be done if the BG is still under 200 after stalling 20 minutes?
Post and ask for advice. Change the subject line at the top of your thread to read something like……stalling, BGxxx, please help! That will get our attention.

Should I be doing a glucose curve for her so that I'm able to get more data?
No need to do a curve as long as you are getting some tests in during the cycles. Think of the SS as a big puzzle and what we want to see is the bits filled in so we can see the big picture.

Sorry for asking so many questions in advance as I'm worried that due to timezone differences, I might not get a reply in time.
Don’t apologise for asking questions….we encourage questions. I am in Australia and am just about to head to bed but I’ll ask @Bandit's Mom to keep an eye out for any questions from you…she is in India and I’ll ask @tiffmaxee who is in the US to pop in as well. They can both answer any of your questions and there will be others as well.
If you want to tag one of us, you just use the @ and then start to type the username and a box will pop up and you click on the name you want.
 
Noted, have added TR in both the SS & signature.

Ok, I will give her a 0.75 dose tonight then.

Good night @Bron and Sheba (GA).

What interval will be good to do for PM cycle? is +3 & +6 ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top