? New Member Trying to Get It Right

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Gina Brown, Nov 30, 2024.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Hi, my name is Gina and I am a cat mom to 9 year old Bella. She was diagnosed in 2022 and it's been an adventure to say the least. She's had one bout of pancreatitis and we are at 5 units of insulin glargine in the morning and 4 at night as of yesterday as her fructosamine (?) came back at 615 Wednesday. I am trying to condition her to be tested at home, we have always just done fructosamine every 6 months. It's a challenge as she stresses very easily and so do I...
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Gina Brown
    Hi Gina , in your title where you have Trying to get it right can you go back to it and put New Member in front of that . To do this look to the right and tap on Thread Tools then tap on Edit Title and add that then tap save


    Can you set up your signature
    Your signature should be in gray letters, do you see mine at the end of my post
    This is where you can set up what we call your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this information. You will link it to your spreadsheet

    • Add info we need to help you:
      • Caregiver & kitty's name
      • DX: Date
      • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
      • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
      • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
    Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.


    We need you to set up our spreadsheet where we track our kitties BG . Here is the link and it will also explain how to use it. It's really not hard at all .
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

    If you should need help setting it up just ask
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2024
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
    When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
    Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
    You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
    Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
    A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand notthe lancing device
    I find it better to see where I'm aiming
    Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

    Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up

    Be sure you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings since we adjust the dose by 0.25 units at a time .
    If you don't have them I can tell you where to get them

    Try to start rubbing Bella's ears to get her used to it.
    Give her a low carb treat such as freeze dried . Link below . before testing her and after so she will associate getting a treat when you test her. Bring her to the same spot when you test her .
    One thing we usually give the same dose of insulin both for the day and night cycle


    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

    Click on this link and look at post #6. Numbers are to the right
    You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brand-new-many-questions-3.255627/#post-2878703

    Freeze dried treats that only contain one ingredient (the meat or fish) is zero carb and fine to feed to a diabetes
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2024
  4. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Thank you so much! Wondering what kind of meter to get. Vet also recommended prescription food. On the meter have seen varying opinions regarding using glucometer for humans, going to pick up a monitor today.
     
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Gina almost all of us use human meters that's what our numbers are based on


    Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
    Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
    https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

    The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
    https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
    At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart

    No need to feed prescription food . Most feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies . The Dry DM is very high in carbs . Most feed 6 % carbs or under

    Take a look at this food chart it lists the carbs

    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
     
    CORKY likes this.
  6. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Thank you so much! I will pick up today. Will keep working with Bella to get her used to having her ears handled.
     
    CORKY and Diane Tyler's Mom GA like this.
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    The Purina Pro Plan DM Dry it's 18% carbs, it's too high for a diabetic kitty.
    If you are feeding that now I would make the switch slowly because cutting out that dry food could drop the BG by 100 BG numbers . So you will have to try and start home testing


    There is nothing special about the Purina DM wet cat food except the high price
    Purina DM WET food is about 6 percent carbs and so is okay to feed a diabetic cat
     
    CORKY likes this.
  8. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Wow, I will transition her out of that! I saw a lot of members feed Fancy Feast pate?
     
    CORKY likes this.
  9. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    There is nothing special about the Purina DM wet cat food except the high price
    Purina DM WET food is about 6 percent carbs and so is okay to feed a diabetic cat


    You can even feed the Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky
    The are either 4%, 5% , and 6% which are also ok to feed

    Chunky Chicken Feast - is 4% carbs.
     
    Gina Brown likes this.
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I added this later so don't know if you saw it
    You can even feed the Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky
    The are either 4%, 5% , and 6% which are also ok to feed

    Chunky Chicken Feast - is 4% carbs.

    Good luck with the home testing and setting up our spreadsheet
     
  11. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    She loves Fancy Feast so I will grab some of that too and (very gradually) transition her over. Thank you for all the advice! This has been quite a journey....
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA likes this.
  12. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Yes, they are US regulated so no waste goes into the food, and they have many flavors to pick from, just make sure they are between 0-10% carbs, the Food List Diane referred you to, on the third column, you will have the carbs per food, you should also create what is called a HYPO KIT, this should contain Karo Syrup or Honey, some Medium carb foods between11-15% and some High Carbs between 16-24%(gravies) , it come in handy when/if the BG reaches 50 or lower,(or what the insulin glargine protocol call for) although the feeding protocol is healthier than a quick fix, we can help you with that if needed, and if you are switching to wet low carb as Diane explained is important to go slow and test before each dose and a few more times during the day, until you see a good result on the food switch, you do not want to be caught by surprise, we are here for you, it is very overwhelming at first, but in this Forum you can be sure if in any doubt you post your concerns and there will always be someone to guide you along, the faster you create your signature and spreadsheet, we will be there right along with you, and do not worry we have all felt the same... Am I doing it right? You are not alone:bighug::cat::cat:
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom GA and TravisM like this.
  13. TravisM

    TravisM New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2024
    I just started the blood glucose readings for my cat after getting fed up with expensive vet visits to have the unreliable freestyle libre put on and then not work.

    I went to wal mart and got the ReliOn platinum meter. Came with the easy to use meter, 50 test strips 10 lancets and lancing device. They have very friendly and helpful support over the phone for questions you may have. At least during non holiday weekdays. I opted for the platinum rather than one of the other relion versions only because it came with everything I thought I would need. The down side to this version versus the premier is the test strips for the platinum are about 2x the cost of the other relion meters. If you get a kit make sure you get plenty of extra lancets- those 10 go quickly and get 26 or 28 gauge.
     
  14. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Yes, Yes, the famous Libre, been there done that, unreliable, they fall off stop working before the 14 days expensive sensors, and also the low reading, are extremely lower than reality, and their monitor only reads as far as about 365 the it will just read HI , the ReliON meter and strips are the best, most of us members use them, Good job, half the battle already done! getting correct BG numbers:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
    TravisM likes this.
  15. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    I buy the FF from CHEWY.COM for the month better prices buying case of 24,no shipping charges ,at first I bought them at Publix, but their cans have go up to $1.14, it took a bit to get to know their favorite, but now we are down to 5 favs, and they cost between $0.80 - $0.83 per can, on auto ship, game changer and in 2 days they are at my door, as a matter of fact waiting today for shipment. I am even purchasing the Pretty Litter from Chewy.com it is almost $10.00 cheaper than Walmart or their web site, I swear on this litter it is awesome!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
  16. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Welcome to FDMB!

    You've gotten some great advice. Just to summarize (because it gets completely overwhelming):

    Meters: A substantial number of people use the Walmart Relion meter. The strips are the least expensive around. You will need a supply of strips -- I always had an extra container, lancets, and treats for both you and your kitty. Like Travis suggested, you want to use a wider gauge lancet at the outset since it takes a few weeks for the capillary bed along the outer edge of your cat's ear to develop so it's easier to get blood. Once it's easier, you can switch to a thinner lancet (e.g., a 30 gauge).

    Home testing: We are very strong advocates of home testing. It's the best way to keep Bella safe. I'd suggest getting some freeze dried protein (e.g., chicken) treats or any other low carb treat. Some cats prefer boiled chicken but whatever works for your cat is good. You want to give your cat a treat every time you test. It's important to reward Bella for putting up with your poking her ear. We also recommend testing before you give a shot so you are certain that Bella is in safe numbers and get at least one test during the 12-hour cycle again, to make sure her numbers aren't plummeting.

    Food: Fancy Feast is a favorite because of its price point. However, you have lots of choices.. I would suggest your check on the food chart that's in the post that Diane linked since not all Fancy Feast Pates are low in carbs. We consider low carb as under 10% although most people feed their cat a food that's in the 5% range. There are also alternatives if your cat isn't a fan of pate. We are not big fans of dry food. There are not many brands that are low in carbs! Also, I would not rely on the notion that pet foods are well regulated. There are only a handful of foods that are human grade. Most manufacturers throw everything including all of the unsavory parts into their grinding machines. Stick with a low carb, canned food that your cat likes!

    Glargine: Glargine is an insulin that likes consistency. Bella will do better if you are dosing the same amount at both AM and PM shot times. I'd encourage you to take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There's a great deal of information about glargine (Lantus) and how it works in those notes. In particular, the reason for dosing the same amount is due to the depot action of this insulin.

    Please let us know if your have questions. We're here to help.
     
    TravisM and CORKY like this.
  17. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    So much to go over, thank you everyone! My vet had told me going to dry DM would be fine and to give 5 units AM and 4 units PM. She has only had a few kibbles of the dry yesterday so I will see if Petsmart will take it back. She has eaten FF all along. Wondering is stress affected fructcosamine (am I even spelling it right?) She gets so spicy and agitated at the vet I have to give her both trazadone and gabapentin, could that affect the numbers? Eating and drinking normally.
     
  18. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
     
  19. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
  20. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Hello and welcome - I too had a kitty with high fructosamines to start. Then I started home testing and stopped getting fructosamine tests. Saved money for me and stress for the cat.
    Fructosamine measures an average over 2-3 weeks of blood sugars. But that 615 could mean kitty is spending all the time in those high numbers, or it's an average of a some low numbers and even higher numbers. We determine how to change the dose with glargine based on how low it takes the kitty, hence our interest in the blood glucose (BG) data.
     
    TravisM and CORKY like this.
  21. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Anything to reduce her stress I will make happen. She's good with taking her insulin. I feed at 6:30 morning and night and insulin at 7 because she's one that eats a little, plays a little and eats a little.....she gets rewarded with freeze dried chicken after insulin shot. I know eventually we will get the hang of testing but I think it's just getting started that seems kind of scary right now.
     
    TravisM likes this.
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Most of us test the blood sugar, feed then shoot, all within about 10-15 minutes. Lantus/glargine doesn't start taking effect (onset) until typically a couple hours after the shot. So you have time to get food into her.

    You are right that it's overwhelming to start. :bighug:. We've all been there and remember what seemed like a ton of information to absorb to start. That's why we are here to help.
     
    TravisM, Gina Brown and CORKY like this.
  23. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Ok. I'll start doing that. Maybe that's part of the problem.

    So grateful found this board! Miss Bella is my baby and she was the one that alerted me that I had sleep apnea by waking me up when I stopped breathing, she would slap me in the face, lol. She took care of me so I wanna take good care of her!
     
    CORKY and Sienne and Gabby (GA) like this.
  24. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Ok. I'll start doing that. Maybe that's part of the problem.

    So grateful found this board! Miss Bella is my baby and she was the one that alerted me that I had sleep apnea by waking me up when I stopped breathing, she would slap me in the face, lol. She took care of
     
    CORKY likes this.
  25. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    :D:joyful::joyful::joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat: low carbs is the answer!!!:cool:
     
    Gina Brown likes this.
  26. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Actually one more question then I'll hush up for the night, lol. How do you deal with kitties that like to graze their food? She will eat enough for her shot but likes to go back and forth, does not eat it all at one time.
     
  27. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Both my cats were raised on MeauMix kibbles, once I learned the damage I caused, they are both on the same schedule AMPS/PMPS main meals and 2-3 snacks in between, never missed the grazing. But then again all cats are different, I found for small snack a 1-2% carb ham, cut it up in small squares and is not only healthy but keeps them to their next complete meal, you can see in Corky’s spreadsheet at the end of the day REMARKS how I spread their meals and both are very content:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
    Gina Brown likes this.
  28. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Don't worry if kitty is a grazer, we've got lots of them here. Human diabetics are told to eat several small meals - kitty is doing the same. Smart kitty!
     
    CORKY, TravisM and Gina Brown like this.
  29. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Thanks! I feel better after talking to everyone today and all the wonderful advice, so nice to meet everyone and Bella and I look forward to our journey with you!
     
    CORKY likes this.
  30. TravisM

    TravisM New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2024
    It is a bit scary Gina, but you can do it if you are already giving insulin injections ! - when the freestyle libre device was working for my
    kitty, I thought I had it made and might never have to test the Blood glucose with lancets and meter. When I had the second freestyle libre the vet installed never even work at over $200 apiece, the decision to do the testing myself was forced, as I certainly could not afford the status quo and it was causing both my cat buddy and myself too much stress.

    I would suggest that you practice a time or two on yourself or a willing family member just to get the hang of things before you stick Bella. You need to get a good stick with the lancet- the lancet device that came with my ReliOn meter has settings and I have found that at this point that it is best to use the middle (3) setting in order to get sufficient blood. You will need to get enough to cover the whole of the testing end of the strip - anything less and you will get an error message - ask me how I know. I have found that I need to keep fairly firm pressure on the non tested side of the ear in order for the lancet to get a sufficient poke for a good sample. Unless you are very lucky or very good, you will have some failures when starting out. The first first two tests I did on my cat went like clockwork - me thinking, well this is certainly pretty easy - then the third time up it took me 3 or four sticks and strips to get a successful sample. If it happens keep a cool head and don't let it frazzle you or your kitty. Take a breather for a minute or more and go over what you might have done wrong and what you can do better next time. It really isn't difficult and with practice it will become routine for the both of you.

    I might also suggest as soon as you get your new meter you call the number of the manufacturer and get the control solution for checking the accuracy of you meter should it prove necessary. They will ship it to you at no cost for the solution or shipping.

    I want to add that there is a LOT of good information here in this thread that I have learned from - thank you to all the contributors.
     
  31. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Gina what Travis talks about, has happened to me as well, and even after going on 3 years, it still does, now and then, that's why when I am going to test I have 2 strips in front of me , and yes, take a step back, breath in breath out, cats are very sensitive to stress and feelings, so when we stress, they stress, before you know it, it will be like a walk in the park:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
  32. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    I was wondering about what to set the meter on so thank you! Am picking up meter this afternoon and was going to spend a few days getting her used to having ears handled. She does not put up a fuss over shots now so hoping once we get used to testing it will be the same. Also place I bought dry food from agreed to take it back so returning. She has been eating FF pate all along, I just bought dry per vet saying it would be a great idea,just got it Friday. I gave her a few kibbles out of the bag but no full meals of dry.
     
  33. Gina Brown

    Gina Brown New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2022
    Also ordered some freeze dried minnows as a treat after testing and items needed for hypo kit.
     
    CORKY likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page