Kwyn
Member Since 2021
Hello,
I would really appreciate some dosing advice please.
Admittedly I am a terrible sugar kitty Mom as Marvin was diagnosed 7 months ago but I am only starting to test now. Lots of reasons/excuses why but none of them valid. For this reason his spreadsheet is lacking in data and only has a 4.5 days worth of testing.
Backstory:
He was diagnosed in Sept 2021, stayed with the vet for 3 days and put on Vetsulin with a dose of 2u once a day. I questioned why only once a day and was told it is what was working for him. I also didn’t need to home test and we would check his levels when I needed a new vial. I wanted to trust that my vet knows what he is doing.
I transitioned him from dry food to Fancy Feast and Friskies and quickly got over my fear of having to give an injection. His behavior returned to normal, eating well 4 times a day, drinking less water, grooming and playing.
Fast forward to roughly 2 weeks ago. He stopped eating and drinking and received a renal failure diagnosis. He didn’t have food or insulin when I took him in and had a BG reading of 156, presumably on a pet monitor. Also a temp of 104. We did a course of antibiotics. I was a bit scatterbrained at the time because I had a second sick cat in as well for other testing so I didn’t get all the info I should have. I am hoping to get him in today for fluids and will get all the info. I need a better vet but this is what I can afford at the moment.
He is doing much better, drinking and eating. It not as much as I would like so he is being fed more often. Working on switching him to low carb and low phosphorus wet food and have a phosphorus binder for his regular low carb food as I educated myself on CKD as well. He does have some neuropathy which seems to be improving some in the last week.
I have been going through this forum for BG numbers and dosing for Vetsulin and after seeing what Marvin’s numbers have been with the 4.5 days of testing so far and I am now worried I may over dose him and he goes too low. I do have a hypo kit ready.
Sunday I skipped his shot as I couldn’t be home to monitor him for the entire day but tested as often as I could. His poor ears with how much testing I have done.
Skipped his shot again today (Monday) as he is getting nowhere near 200, which it is my understanding that he should reach before giving Vetsulin. Should I keep skipping with these low numbers? Is this possible remission or is he too low? Should I lower his dose and do 2 shots a day? I was worried about skipping the AM dose altogether since we don’t do a PM dose but his numbers stayed pretty consistent.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you so much for your time!!
Kwyn & Marvin
I would really appreciate some dosing advice please.
Admittedly I am a terrible sugar kitty Mom as Marvin was diagnosed 7 months ago but I am only starting to test now. Lots of reasons/excuses why but none of them valid. For this reason his spreadsheet is lacking in data and only has a 4.5 days worth of testing.
Backstory:
He was diagnosed in Sept 2021, stayed with the vet for 3 days and put on Vetsulin with a dose of 2u once a day. I questioned why only once a day and was told it is what was working for him. I also didn’t need to home test and we would check his levels when I needed a new vial. I wanted to trust that my vet knows what he is doing.
I transitioned him from dry food to Fancy Feast and Friskies and quickly got over my fear of having to give an injection. His behavior returned to normal, eating well 4 times a day, drinking less water, grooming and playing.
Fast forward to roughly 2 weeks ago. He stopped eating and drinking and received a renal failure diagnosis. He didn’t have food or insulin when I took him in and had a BG reading of 156, presumably on a pet monitor. Also a temp of 104. We did a course of antibiotics. I was a bit scatterbrained at the time because I had a second sick cat in as well for other testing so I didn’t get all the info I should have. I am hoping to get him in today for fluids and will get all the info. I need a better vet but this is what I can afford at the moment.
He is doing much better, drinking and eating. It not as much as I would like so he is being fed more often. Working on switching him to low carb and low phosphorus wet food and have a phosphorus binder for his regular low carb food as I educated myself on CKD as well. He does have some neuropathy which seems to be improving some in the last week.
I have been going through this forum for BG numbers and dosing for Vetsulin and after seeing what Marvin’s numbers have been with the 4.5 days of testing so far and I am now worried I may over dose him and he goes too low. I do have a hypo kit ready.
Sunday I skipped his shot as I couldn’t be home to monitor him for the entire day but tested as often as I could. His poor ears with how much testing I have done.
Skipped his shot again today (Monday) as he is getting nowhere near 200, which it is my understanding that he should reach before giving Vetsulin. Should I keep skipping with these low numbers? Is this possible remission or is he too low? Should I lower his dose and do 2 shots a day? I was worried about skipping the AM dose altogether since we don’t do a PM dose but his numbers stayed pretty consistent.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you so much for your time!!
Kwyn & Marvin