New Member

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by cindy c, Apr 7, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    I posted about my cat Biscuit before I saw I was supposed to post here. He was dx about 3 weeks ago and last night his blood sugar was 170 and this morning it was 165, his dose was raised from 1 unit to 2 units last week and just thought I'd check it. Both levels were after food and before insulin. Only gave 1 unit last night and this morning. Doing a curve today. He is not really eating a lot compared to before, maybe 2 cans of 3oz pate, he weighs 15-16 lbs (he is a short cat, was the runt of the litter) he used to beg.....he has also started pulling out little tufts of hair
     
  2. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
    Hi Cindy and welcome to the forum. I am a newbie as well so i won't go with the dosing advice but anybody else who is experienced enough to do it will want to have some data in front of them before giving any dosing advice. Start by creating a spreadsheet. Click here for the sticky with the instruction on how to do it. Then fill in your signature with information about the kitty name, age, insulin used, glucometer used, any other relevant information, by filling in your signature people won't be asking you the same questions. Here is another sticky on how to set up a signature. If you need any help with setting up the signature or the spreadsheet just write in a comment and i am sure someone will be able to help.

    Good luck in your FD journey, this forum was a God send to us, i hope you will find your answers here as well:)
     
    cindy c likes this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I see in your profile you are giving 4-5 greenies a day
    They are high in carbs
    Most of the members give freeze dried treats
    Just Google freeze dried treats
     
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  5. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I see you said you increased from 1 unit to 2 units last week
    We increase or decrease by 0.25 or 0.5 units at a time
    Do you have syringes with half units markings?
    I would suggest getting some , it will be easier when you have to adjust the dose
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Cindy , the signature is at the end of everyones post, look at mine it's in gray
    It says Tyler/12 yr/DX 9/2018 and so on
     
  8. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    okay, thank you
     
  9. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    no I don't, where is the best place to get them?
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks for the signature, but could you please add to it what you are feeding Biscuit.
    I see it in your profile, you ate feeding friskies or fancy feast classic pates
    but not everyone looks at that, p!us the greenies are too high
    in carbs


    Since you are using a pet meter, the take action number is 68 which means you should feed him a little low carb food

    I see Biscuit is 77 @+5. I would check him maybe @+7

    Do you have any medium and high carb and honey in case he really drops too low
    You would also post for help
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2021
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  12. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Welcome to the ADW Diabetes® promotion and online coupon page. We welcome you to use any of the coupon codes found below as we know that every bit of savings helps.

    Our mission is to Keep Diabetes Management Affordable.

    ADW Diabetes Storewide Promotions
    ADW5OFF
    [​IMG]
    Take an additional $5.00 off all orders of $50.00 or more!

    DIA10
    [​IMG]
    10% off your next order!
     
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Also you need med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Or any other ones listed in this food chart

    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
     
  16. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Cindy you are supposed to withhold food 2 hours prior to testing because you don't want it to be food influenced.
    You can then feed small meals during each 12 hour cycle
    Cats usually drop lower at night so it's important to test at night also
    Usually with a new diabetic we say not to shoot if the AMPS or PMPS is below 200
    What do you think her no shoot number should be

    I see you did and so far he's safe
    I'm going to tag a few members to take a look at your SS and see what they say

    @Wendy&Neko

    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    @Bandit's Mom

    @Deb & Wink

    Thanks ladies trying to help Cindy out, also told her to get syringes with half unit
    markings
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2021
    cindy c likes this.
  18. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Cindy if you ever get a low reading please post for help, something like
    HELP ! LOW NUMBER
     
    cindy c likes this.
  19. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I wouldn't know why he's doing this maybe someone could give you a reason
     
  20. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    thank you for all the info, ordered the syringes, I bought karo syrup for possible low blood sugar, will that work?
     
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yes but it wears off quickly, I would get some of the medium and high carbs food also. You are welcome :cat:
    Just make sure you always keep your SS up to date
    Don't forget those greenies are high carbs to be feeding him 4-5 per day
    Look into freeze dried treats, just Google it

    Such as
    https://www.chewy.com/purebites-chi...MI6My9kq3t7wIVgYfICh2RugpyEAQYAyABEgIJEfD_BwE

    Or any
    vital essentials freeze dried cat treats Google it there are many flavors
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2021
    cindy c likes this.
  22. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Deb & Wink
    Hi Deb could you please take a look at #17
    I'm trying to help Cindy out, maybe you can also read some of the posts
    Thank you Deb :cat:
     
  23. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  24. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    wondering if I should withhold the insulin tonight, I'll test him one more time before he's due
     
  25. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  26. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    What time do you have to give the insulin

    @cindy c

    I just posted a new thread in feline health asking for help for you
    It's always good to post in the remarks column when you feed him
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2021
  27. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you tell me what type of food you are feeding at the moment. Is it the low carb pate in your signature.?
    When did you last feed? how long til PMPS?
    Is this your first day of testing?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2021
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks for seeing this Bron, hopefully Cindy comes back on soon
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  29. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Cindy have been waiting for you to check back in
     
  30. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    thanks for the replies, don't know how I missed them, sorry, I have updated the spreadsheet (including the number from last week) I have not given insulin since yesterday morning. I am feeding the pate. I tested him about a week ago and the vet recommended 2 units. His appetite is better, water intake and urine are less, so what do you all think?
     
  31. cindy c

    cindy c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2021
    the syringes shipped today and we have a vet appt on the 20th with my original vet (not the new one we have been seeing for the last month regarding the diabetes)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page