? New - My Sugar Kitty is Losing Weight

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Marney, Apr 14, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marney

Marney New Member

Larry was diagnosed late Feb, using ProZinc, 1 U every 12 hrs, eating FF pate & some kitten FF, @ 3.5 cans daily. He has lost nearly 2 lbs in 2 months, from 13.8# to 11.8#. In Feb all else on blood work was normal.
    Wondered if anyone else has experienced similar weight loss? Or suggestions please!

I'm wondering whether I should take him to the vet for another blood workup? But, vet won't let pet parents in with your pet at this time - don't like that!

Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Marney, I'm going to tag
    @Deb & Wink

@JanetNJ
    Who are familiar with Prozinc
    Is there any reason you can't get some tests in after his PMPS
    I'm no expert but he's been on 1 unit for a long time
    I love your kitties names Moe, Larry and Curly so cute

Thanks ladies

Last edited: Apr 16, 2021
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

Noah & me (GA) and Deb & Wink like this.
  4. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Had his thyroid been tested? Feed him as much as he will eat.

5. JanetNJ

It looks like you need to go to 1.25 u... Can you try to get a dailt mid day number and a before bed test?

Deb & Wink and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  6. Marney

Marney New Member

Have done some +6s - 4/3 was 205, 4/6 was204, 4/12 was 252. Haven't done bedtime tests but can and record. Thanks!

7. Marney

Marney New Member

Yes, did a full sr. blood workup end of Feb and thyroid was fine, as it was last Nov when I just had thyroid checked. He pretty much eats some all day and I try to really keep an eye on his food bowl.

Deb & Wink likes this.
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

Deb & Wink likes this.
  9. JanetNJ