New to this..

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Socks<3Katie, Jan 7, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Socks<3Katie

Socks<3Katie New Member

Hi everyone!

My name is Katie, and my fur baby’s name is Socks (in case my username didn’t give it away :)). He’s been recently diagnosed as diabetic, and I’m at a loss as to where to start...He is 17, and has been with me since I was 12..so more than half of my life. The vet helped somewhat, but didn’t really give me a general direction on what should be done. He has ordered insulin, but that’s about it. Does anyone have any advice, or just recommendations on food to give him? Attached is a photo of my sweet baby

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 8, 2020
  2. Juls and Billy

Juls and Billy Member

Awww! Your Socks is the cutest! I am also a newbie, and boy have you come to the right place! If you go to the Health Links section of the forum, there's a ton of useful information. Scroll down until you see a post that says "Feline Diabetes- Newcomers, start here!" That will get you started.

Also, there's a sticky post at the top of this forum section, "Dr. Pierson- New Food Chart." which is a great place to learn what diet can help your kitty. It helped me and Bill so much. Many members here feed Fancy Feast canned food because it's low in carbs. The variety is important. The classic pates and the naturals are low in carbs, as are some of the flaked flavors, but not all FF varieties are low carb, so check the chart.

What I've learned is this, with some knowledge and care, you can really help your kitty feel better. So, don't fret, start reading, and you rock for taking such good care of Socks!

3. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Welcome to the FDMB!