? Norbert PMPS 323, +4 90, +5 86

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Norbert’s Mom, Aug 6, 2020.

  1. Norbert’s Mom

    Norbert’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    I think Norbert is starting to stabilize more on the Lantus. This morning’s AMPS was 248. He got 1.5U of Lantus and his +3 bg was 63. I gave him a palmful of DM food (medium carb content) and tested again at +5. Got a bg of 118. I didn’t test again until his PMPS and he was at 323. He had dinner and then got another 1.5U. Tested at +4 and he was 90. At +5 he’s at 86. Based on these numbers, should I keep him at the 1.5U, or has he earned a decrease?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    SaraW1983 likes this.
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Congrats! Since he dropped under 90 and you are following SLGS a reduction has been earned. The new dose is 1.25.
     
  3. Norbert’s Mom

    Norbert’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    WooHoo!!! My sweet, little man is already feeling so much better! Thank you!
     
    Sonia & Leo and tiffmaxee like this.
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    That's great news! :)
     
    Norbert’s Mom likes this.
  5. Norbert’s Mom

    Norbert’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    So, Norbert is up to 238 at +6.
    @Wendy&Neko I was a little nervous earlier because he dropped from 90 to 86 so I gave him a plamful of the DM kibble. Probably equated to 2 Tablespoons. Do you think that’s what caused the rise? Or is he bouncing from being lower than his body has been used to in a while? Maybe he really is carb sensitive.
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Usually when they first hit the green numbers, a couple tsp of regular low carb food is all you need to give. 90 and 86 are pretty much the same number within meter variance. Jumping to 238 is a lot. Might be a combo of both greens he's not used to (yet) and the higher carb food.
     
  7. Norbert’s Mom

    Norbert’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Ahh! That probably explains it. I’m going to keep doing what we’re doing and if he drops again tomorrow, as long as it’s not really low, I may just give him a snack like you said and then retest again in an hour to make sure it’s holding or coming up a bit. Thank you so much!
     
  8. Norbert’s Mom

    Norbert’s Mom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2020
    Well, Norbert’s AMPS was 406. Dropped to 298 at +2, and down to 71 at +6. He had a small amount of low carb food and now he’s up to 316 at +9. Man, he’s a bouncy boy! We’ve got to get this boy’s body used to being in a normal range so he can surf better.
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Fast, steep drops also cause bounces. I used to think they result3d in even worse bounces for my girl. Hopefully you’ll find a dose soon where he can be a bit steadier.
     
    Norbert’s Mom likes this.

Share This Page