? Not eating, vomited, bleeding while urinating, skip dose right???

Stefania S

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...sitive-shoot-reduce-skip.280722/#post-3096632

She had a CAT scan yesterday, appetite seemed ok but it came and went. I gave a very late half dose at 10pm and woke up many times to see she hadn't eaten much, then finally she had a little more.

This morning she has gone scores of times to the litter and I noticed that there was blood in the urine. She is pooping ok, but a little constipated. Contacted the oncologist, overseeing tumor removal. She really doesn't understand about FD. She was first saying I shouldn't skip, give a half dose, then saying that a hypo is more dangerous than hyper. She said to wait and see and if she gets worse bring her to them. They are 25 minutes away.

Vet says the bleeding could be that sometimes in extreme stress cats get urinary inflammation.

Now I need to decide if to skip the dose or give a reduced dose and how reduced. Please help.

After vomiting today she was breathing hard. Now she is hiding

She drank tons, more than ever, all evening and night after the CAT.

HELP please!

There are no numbers in then spreadsheet since 7/15 because we have been without a sensor for weeks. I just need to know if to shoot or not or give a reduced dose.

Last night I was able to get a BG read of 248 before giving insulin.
 
Last edited:
Update: she is eating a little bit right now. Haven't given AM insulin yet. Soon it won't be AM anymore.
 
I guess I'm skipping. It's too late to give her an AM shot now. I will wait until PM and if her appetite returns to normal give her a shot. I still need to know how much to give. Yes, I don't have any recent numbers in the spreadsheet. So it has to be a general kind of advice based on the situation. Otherwise I will have to wing it on my own.

I will see if I can do another BG test, but now more than ever keeping stress levels down is crucial. I could only get it last night because she was still under the effects of the anesthesia so her response time was altered. Now she is more alert and vigilant.
 
If anyone has experience with post anesthesia symptoms or urinary bleeding, I would appreciate feedback on this too, thanks!
 
Is there any reason why you haven’t updated the SS? We can’t really give dosing advice if we can’t see any data.
Are you able to do manual testing with a handheld glucose meter. ?
Just guessing how much to give of the insulin is not safe. And I cannot suggest a dose when there is no data, I’m sorry.

I think what the vet is talking about with the urinary bleeding could be FLUTD. That can be brought on by stress. I would suggest googling it and looking at the treatment.
Would you mind taking down the 911 please as that is reserved for emergencies such as hypos and very ill kitties.thanks:)
 
Back
Top