Number way below normal

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Hi,

Sorry I am sure I am not posting all of this correctly, but I couldn't get on the forum yesterday and haven't transitioned to the Lantus forum yet.

FCC has been given insulin for 10 days. We moved from 1 unit to 1.25 units two days ago. He has never had numbers in the blue. He tested at 137 and the second test was slightly below that (just to make sure nothing had gone wrong.)

He has never been below 268 and usually his numbers are much higher.

I have to leave the house for several hours (an appointment, no choice) so no insulin was administered. I gave him food and am not leaving the house for another 45 minutes. Do I need to do anything else? I will obviously test him several times when I get home.
 
I am going to read everything and also figure out how to post properly on this part of the board when I get home.
Here you go!
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ

In a nutshell, we request members to post a new thread every day. This ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read. Especially in time-critical situations like low numbers or a member stalling a shot.

The thread title nomenclature is:
<Date> - <Kitty's Name> - <AMPS/PMPS number and any other BG numbers you may have for the day> - <Question, if any>
Use the the '?' prefix in the thread title if you have a question, so people know that it's not just an update.
For e.g.
"? 6/25 - FCC - AMPS 137 - Lower numbers than usual!"

We also ask that you link your previous post to the current post - just paste the URL of your previous post in the body of your current post saying "Previous Post". This helps us look at history quickly.
 
I couldn't find a way to edit my title, but I'm sure there must be one. I will read more, I just wanted to ask two questions. I just got home and FCC BG is now 439 at +4, but we didn't give insulin because his AMPS number was 137. These are now the highest and lowest numbers he's had. Should I be worried or just carry on with insulin as normal tonight and if his numbers are low again monitor him for potential problems? I know we are supposed to keep this to one thread a day so I didn't want to start a new one. If I hadn't started a post until now it would read ? 6/25 AMPS 137 (lowest ever), +4 439 (no insulin given) should I be worried

Sorry, I just want to make sure I have it right for next time. I was so worried this morning because I had to leave and I felt terrible for not giving him insulin, but he hasn't been on it long enough for me to really understand what it's doing to his body.
 
Hi Acadaca, You can edit your thread title by going to the top of this post, and click on Thread Tools and in the pulldown menu choose Edit Title.

With the 439, what you are seeing is a bounce from the 137. When a cat experiences lower than usual blood sugar levels, the liver panics and dumps sugar it's got stored into the bloodstream. Given the fact that you skipped the shot this morning, you will probably continue to see high numbers for a while until a few more cycles pass when you are able to give a consistent dose twice a day. Don't worry, though, he will get back on track. :) You should definitely give him insulin tonight if he's above 150. Someone will be here to confirm it's safe if you want to post your PMPS number on your thread title as "6/25 FCC PMPS # - do I shoot?".
 
You definitely are seeing a bounce and/or higher numbers due to the skipped dose and unless under 15 give the usual dose. If under 150, stall, don’t feed and ask for dosing advice. I think you will see a high pmps though.
 
Thank you for the advice and concrete numbers. Is there anything I've done to make his levels so out of whack? I didn't give insulin because I couldn't be there to watch over him and those AMPS numbers were just abnormal and low.
 
Don't worry about the skipped shot, until you have more data it's hard to do anything else and make sure he was safe. Once you have some data from shooting lower numbers, when you are home to monitor, you'll have a better idea how to keep him safe with lower preshots. Do you have an automated feeder? That is one tool we use to give them food at times we are away but might need extra food.

The good news is that the 1.25 units was working well to bring his numbers down.
 
Don't worry about the skipped shot, until you have more data it's hard to do anything else and make sure he was safe. Once you have some data from shooting lower numbers, when you are home to monitor, you'll have a better idea how to keep him safe with lower preshots. Do you have an automated feeder? That is one tool we use to give them food at times we are away but might need extra food.

The good news is that the 1.25 units was working well to bring his numbers down.

That is good news. I'm still so unsure about how to deal with his readings etc. I figure right now it is most important to keep testing whenever I can.

I don't have an automated feeder yet. It's on the list, but so far I have been somewhat free feeding FCC and his civvie companion. I only wanted to disrupt so much of his routine at one time and neither of them are impressed that the dry food was removed and they can't munch on that whenever they want. Wet food has been available to them most of the time (with the exception of 2 hours before each 12 hour cycle).
 
Back
Top