Old kidney cat now with diabetes

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by (GA) Gypsy's Parent, Jul 24, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. (GA) Gypsy's Parent

(GA) Gypsy's Parent Member

My 16 year old kidney cat started drinking more water and increased frequency of urination. Her annual visit reveals she has diabetes. She has been on low dosage prednisone for more than a year and I wonder if this is steroid related. Today I picked up needles and insulin from the vet and Gypsy got her first shot tonight. As I've been doing subq fluids in cats for several years, the insulin is a breeze. She is getting 2 units of ProZinc. Next up is home monitoring without breaking the bank and trying to get her on a wet food diet.

My old cats and a younger cat who had his ear canal and middle ear removed because there was a small, benign tumor are really chewing up $. The younger cats are sweet, but Gypsy has been a problem cat since the day I got her. She doesn't get along very well with the other cats.

Always a challenge!

2. Sarah&Soph

Sarah&Soph Member

Welcome! Unfortunately steroids can cause diabetes in cats so it’s possible that it’s related.

I would definitely recommend home testing! You do not need to use a pet meter, which are very pricey. If you are in the US, the ReliOn Prime is a popular (and cheap!) choice - I believe the meter itself is $9, 100 test strips is about $20, and lancets for the ear prick are very cheap. As for wet food, there’s a list somewhere around here that has wet foods that are good for both diabetic and kidney kitties. There are lots of tips and tricks here to help you get started :) My Sophie is also a problem cat so I definitely empathize lol

Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  3. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Welcome!

4. (GA) Gypsy's Parent

(GA) Gypsy's Parent Member