Oliver is “HI”on meter

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Shelley & Oliver, Feb 3, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Morning! Started using the Relion meter this morning and Oliver registered “HI” I had never seen that before so I tested him with the meter I am accustomed to (Alpha Trak) and it also read “Hi”. Is there anything special I should do or just give him his shot after eating.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2021
    Reason for edit: Tags below
  2. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
  3. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Hi, just linking your previous post for history, given his scary hypo a few days ago.

    I'm not comfortable advising since I know a few mods and others had plans for your doses to make sure he recovered safely from the hypo. You might want to tag some of the people who were helping you (by typing @ followed by the username, no space...like this @FrostD )

    The HI just means he's above the range the meter can detect...in the case of the AlphaTrak I believe it's 750+, and the ReliOn is 600.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  4. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Ok, thank you!!!
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    His body needs to adjust have the lows and skipped shots. All you can do is wait it out. Check for ketones. How’s he acting? Eating and drinking?
     
  6. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    He is eating and acting more like his mischievous self than he has in awhile. Noticeably more active.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s great. Were you advised to skip the night if 2/1?
     
  8. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Yes. I never started the night shots until just last night. This was the advice given.
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Right. That was by the vet. He needs to adjust to dosing every cycle. He will probably need more than .50 but give him a little time first.
     
  10. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Not the vet. If I was following the vet I’d be giving him a lot more. I am liking this slow approach better. :)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So who advised one shot a day? I’m bringing others in to help figure out what to give tonight. The 3.0 was definitely too much but I think .50 is too little. We will figure this out for tonight.
     
  12. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2021
  14. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Sorry to be confusing, it was his twice daily shots at a higher dose that caused his horrible hypo incident. I tagged Wendy and Chris for now. I was talking to Wendy last ...
     
    Critter Mom and tiffmaxee like this.
  15. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Elise

    Shelley didn’t have enough test strips. We wanted to be sure Oliver didn’t clear a bounce and come down drastically without testing supplies to keep him safe.

    Shelley....if you have testing supplies now, we want to start increasing the dose but, since he is getting nadirs in the 200 range, we want to be a little more cautious. If you don’t see any BGs below 200 today, I’d increase his dose to 0.75u tonight provided you can test him at +2 and before bed.

    If you are using the ReliOn from now on, I will convert his SS formatting for a human meter. All of his AT data will stay right where it is so we can all see it.
     
    Critter Mom and Shelley & Oliver like this.
  16. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Yes, will be using the Relion from now on. Thanks for updating his spreadsheet.
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  18. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    You’re both welcome.
     
  19. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I updated his SS for you. Wendy suggested, and I agree, that it’s better if you post on the Lantus/Basalgar/Levemir ISG as there are more Lantus users there to keep a watch out.

    thank you!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page