https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/once-again-with-new-account.252858/ @FrostD @JanetNJ Hi girls, Wolvi is exactly 199 now at pmps shall a give him 1.8 or 0.8 @FrostD yesterday you wrote: "So 1.8U if the preshot is above 200. 150-199 then 0.8U. 120-149 then 0.2U." so I gave him 0.8 hope I did the best
And what should I do tomorrow morning? imagine if he is under 199? And if he is 210 for example? When do you think that I should do a BC? Thanks @FrostD
I would do the same thing mentioned 3 posts up above. See how he does. I'm hoping he's right around 200! Once his cycles even out then we'll be able to figure out a good dose, we want to be able to give the same dose both times
Another bounce. Not too surprised since he did drop 300 points this morning! Hopefully he comes down a little bit by morning. Let's see how tomorrow goes and see what to do
Good morning is 45 minutes to AMPS and he is crazy meowing - for sure he is high. And for the first time he made pee in his bed
Lovely midcycle greens though! I would reduce to 1.6U since he went under 90. He will probably follow the same pattern of blue at PMPS then bounce overnight. If you can keep an eye on him tonight, do you think you could try shooting full dose if above 150-ish? It may help cut through a bounce and stop this pattern
Ok, I will give him 1.6 above 150 and yes, I will keep an eye on him thank you so much girls @FrostD @JanetNJ
Here I'am again. He is now +3 - 100. So for sure his nadir will be under 90. I will test him again in 2 hours. What should I do in the morning? TY @FrostD
Ah see he did not the full dose should help stop the bounce (note for anybody lurking this is strictly for Wolvi and his pattern as of late, it can be dangerous to shoot that dose at a low preshot without a bounce coming). I'm hoping he's in the 200s tomorrow! If he is in the 200s I would shoot 1.2U. If he is 300 or higher do 1.6U. 150-199 I would try maybe 0.8U. I know this is a lot but you're doing a great job! We just have to try to get him to stop bouncing
Ah darn, 466. Let's try to hold the 1.6U for a few days as long as he doesn't earn another reduction. Does he eat anything after PM+6? Is he on any medications?
Hi, @FrostD During the day he eats PSAM +3 sheba perfect portions +6 miamor or true instinct, or others but all low C +9 or + 10 little of LC too when he asks for PSPM +3 some low C and then just at PSAM because during the night he sleeps and don't wake up for eat. But I always test him before eat I have microchip feeders for them because I have a renal girl and an skin alergic girl and I'm sure he doesn't eat orher food. I also have an automatic feeder for him (for the night only) but most of the time he doesn't go there during the night. He doesn't take any medication.
@FrostD He was at PMPS 180 so I gave him 1.6 and will keep an eye on him. Also today I bought some blood ketone strips and tested him - 0,3 mmol/L so in the normal range I supose.
Finally! Since he got that 66, let's try 1U if he's between 150-299. If he's 300 or higher try 1.2U (no those numbers are not typos). 1U may be a bit too low but I'm being cautious. We are almost to consistent dosing!
Hi girls Wish you and your family a Holly and Happy Christmas ❤️❤️ Nose kisses from Wolvi and a big hug from me
If you already fed him, and can monitor, I would try to estimate 0.1-0.25U. Or you can skip. But I suspect he went low enough and will bounce again, but giving anything higher than 0.25U is too risky in my opinion
I'm home so i will stay alert Thank you so much for your help even at this time of the year ❤️❤️ your are the best @FrostD
Good morning My boy being the same... This morning 135... after 1U last night So I only gave him 0.2 U today what do you think? @FrostD
If the preshot is lower than expected I would stall without feeding for 30-60 min and see if it's going up before deciding whether to reduce the shot.
Hi Janet stall is something almost impossible here at home because I feed all my 6 cats at the same time and they know that is eating time and the go "crazy" if I don't gave them food. Not easy specialy in the morning because they don't eat during the night
He surely doesn't want to cooperate with what we're trying to do! Looks like you have two choices - you can try to hold the 1U, or you can reduce your normal dose to 0.8U. I suspect the 1U took him down close to 90 last night, if not lower. Plus that 0.2U this morning also took him down to 90.
Could you please take a look at his 2019 tab at the end before his remission he was like that. Around 0.2 , 0.4, 0.6...
Again a high number Gave him 0.8 My vet always says: you need to keep the same dose for some days how could this is possible with a boy like Wolvi
No shot for my boy tonight - he was 94 Let's see how he will be in a couple of hours @FrostD @JanetNJ
Ah you should have done 0.8U this morning but it's ok! Let's take him down to 0.4U tomorrow morning and try holding that dose. He's on a mission!
Yes as long as he's above 150 ish. Below that is your decision if you want to dry maybe a drop dose or 0.1U or something. He breaks the bounces quick I wouldn't worry!
Good morning What do you think about Wolvi's numbers? Should I stay with 0.4U more days or rise? @FrostD @JanetNJ TY
Hi @FrostD Did you saw Wolvi's SS today? what do you think its going on here? This morning I was afraid to give him insulin and then at +6 he was 68 without insulin and now at PMPS I was expecting a lower value
Oh my goodness! I would have reduced to 0.4 or 0.6U. So go with one of those but this time let's hold it 7 days unless he earns reduction.
Snifff Reduced in the morning when he was with 109? Or today when he had 417? But I saw that 400 and gave him 0.8... Imagine that tomorrow he has again between 100 and 150 what should I gave him? And if he his higher then 200? @FrostD So sorry to bother you so much but I'm really confused ❤️
Tonight with the 417. He's shown he can go red to green in a single cycle, so the more cautious thing would have been to reduce. But it's ok you keep a good eye on him I'm sure he'll be ok. I am curious what would happen if you just stopped insulin altogether for a week, but that generally goes against most typical recommendations and risks ketones. Just looking at his numbers I wonder if he doesn't actually need the insulin and his body is fighting it
@FrostD It can be a possibility but right now I'm a bit afraid of trying it. My daughter tested positive for covid and we are isolated at home. We cant go out until our national health system sends us a "free pass". And if he needs a urgency vet I don't know what to do... At least I must stay 7 more days at home
I understand! For now I'd just reduce to 0.6U in the morning. Hope your case of COVID is mild. We have a very big surge here right now, most of my family is getting it for the second time, even though vaccinated
Thank you ❤️ We are vacinnated twice and my daughter 3 times because she got the third one early because she is dentist. Until now she is the only positive in the house but with no symptoms. My husband, my son and I are still negative. Just testing everyother day and waiting...
Good morning @FrostD Should I keep him longer with 0.6 U. I'm feel so bad watching my boy asking for food every hour, I don't mind giving him but the poor doesn't leave the kitchen and never relaxes - the values are so high again. And if I try 0.7U (even though it's difficult on a U100 syringe)
Wolvi! It's your decision, you could try 0.8U again, or 0.7U if you think you can estimate it. Last time he was high for 6 days...we chose to increase and then he went low. So I'm not sure if we just needed to be more patient, or if it was coincidence. Bounces don't usually last that long.
Give 1U tomorrow as well and see how he does, he tends to break bounces on the 4th day and give you blues and greens.
Gah! Increase. Don't want these high numbers to get "stuck". This is quite an unusual pattern. I'm thinking he might have IAA just at a very low dose (not sure if that's possible). It wouldn't necessarily matter because there's nothing to do but wait it out
I will increase to 1.2U??? Back in 2019 the first time he had diabetis we went to an endocrinologist because he had the same issues with regulation. Cushing/addison’s disease, acromegaly, insulin resistance and hyperaldosteronism (because he had low potassium but no high blood pressure) were ruled out.
Hi @FrostD Hope you're Ok I didn't said nothing before because I didn't want to bother you so much since we don't have many changes... Can you take a look at Wolvi's SS... Should I increase the dose or wait a couple of more days with 1.6U thanks
It's never a bother! I'm sorry, usually I try to keep an eye on the cats I follow but I have been so busy lately. That 98 doesn't really leave room for an increase. He needs to stop bouncing! He's having nice slow dips so there's not much you can do except (1) wait for him to stop bouncing (weeks/months) or (2) try an insulin like Lantus/semglee
I will wait some more time... I've just bought a bottle of Prozinc on 10th January... but changing insuline is something that my vet also said me once. Changing makes me a little bit nervous, because the way of acting of Lantus is diferent isn't it? That "98" was just that day sniffff... I will try to wake up in the middle of the night to give him food because we are having more high numbers in the morning maybe he goes very low during the night. What do you think? Could it be because of that? Because during the day he eats every 3 hours...
I don't think he's going too much lower. Yes I would use up the vial and see how he does, unless he just keeps bouncing for another month or so...don't want him in those high numbers for too long I thought Lantus was scary too when I first switched! It's really not that scary, just a little different. But there's a lot of people on that forum to help as well, day and night