Good afternoon FrostD,
Looking at Oscars SS and where i am with him today, sadly it seems like im more or less where i was with him at the beginning.
I understand that his pancreas may have been spluttering and starting to heal, producing nsulin on its own again back in june/july but from his numbers now that doesnt seem to be the case?
He was dropping low with small amounts of Insulin, 0.25 / 0.1 mid July, now his dose is up to 0.75 but he is not getting anywhere close to those numbers? His numbers are very similiar to how they were in the middle of April when he was first diagnosed.
Its really depressing to be back here again because i can tell looking at Oscar that he feels under the weather, he is being vocal with me all the time when hes awake, constantly meowing, wanting food all the time, peeing more
Its not as bad as he was just before i took him to the vets in the beginning, but it does remind me a little bit of that time.
He was at one point almost back to his old self in mid June/July, the vocalising had stopped for the most part, so stopped peeing outside the box and he seemed much better. Only time he seems ok now is at his nadir and then after that when his numbers climb up again into the mid 300's he starts feeling rubbish again.
My concern is that by slowly increasing the dose with his numbers not improving- it might take me a long time to get him back into good numbers again?
Im concerned im risking his general health while he is unregulated, risking UTI's and other complications which is why i want to get him back to good numbers again ASAP. Im also unemployed at the moment and cant afford to take him for vet visits unless its absolutely necessary.
He is also urinating outside of the box again and its really, really unpleasant i dont tell him off because i realise its his diabetes, but it makes me a bit resentful towards him, im spending so much time looking after him and trying my best to get him well again.
FD is really difficult to manage. Im doing my best with testing and making him feel as comfortable and happy as possible.
I would just really like to start see some progress with his numbers again and get him regulated.
ATM i wonder even if i were to give him double the dose he is on now, up to 1.5 units im not sure his BG would get below 100.
Which is why im concerned, with his progress.
I am reluctant to go back to the vet because the last we spoke she told me to keep him on 2 units a day for a month and then after a month bring him in for a fructosamine test, which all seems wrong and a waste of time and money.
Please help me with this, im really strugglling ATM.
Thank you again for all you help to date its very much appreciated.
Give it at least 3 more days. We usually hold for about 7 days with Vetsulin as it can take them some time to settle in.
This is unfortunately one of the frustrating things about FD. Insulin is a hormone, their needs can change. Taking him off insulin/reducing the dose too soon wore on his pancreas, so now it needs some time to heal again.