Panzer lots of head twitching

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
Panzer BG was 312 at PMPS he's now at 133 +5. He is having alot of head twitches? Could it be from the Metacam or because he is in a normal range? Neuropathy? I was planning to feed him his normal patte at 2am. It is 12:45 am in my location. Feed or not feed?I don't want him to dip to low.
 
It's fine for you to give him a teaspoon or two of his regular food but I think he's pretty close (or at) his nadir so I doubt he's going to drop much more (or course he could make a liar out of me)

I have no idea what to tell you about head twitching. I've never heard of it being from Metacam or from being in a mid-blue number that's nowhere near "too low". If it continues, I suggest you get a video of it to show to your vet.
 
It's fine for you to give him a teaspoon or two of his regular food but I think he's pretty close (or at) his nadir so I doubt he's going to drop much more (or course he could make a liar out of me)

I have no idea what to tell you about head twitching. I've never heard of it being from Metacam or from being in a mid-blue number that's nowhere near "too low". If it continues, I suggest you get a video of it to show to your vet.
Ok I'm going to test him again before I do feed. My vet is worthless, they told me when I picked him up on Wednesday to only test right before shot time!
 
My vet is worthless, they told me when I picked him up on Wednesday to only test right before shot time!

Well the "twitching" has nothing to do with when you test or don't test. Any time the cat does something unusual that they've never done before, the best thing you can do is try to get it on video so you can show your vet. Cats are a lot like cars....as soon as you take your car to the mechanic, that "clunk clunk clunk" noise it's been making for weeks magically disappears and doesn't re-appear until you've paid the mechanic to check it out and get at least 5 miles away .....then the "clunk clunk clunk" will come back.
 
Do you have any med carb in the house
The scale for an alphatrack meter is 68-150


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
Last edited:
Do you have any med carb in the house
The scale for an alphatrack meter is 68-150


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Ok I have fancy feast chicken with gravy give that to him?
 
Tomorrow read about prozinc and the dosing methods
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
I'm not a prozinc user but I do know this , I copied it from the prozinc dosing methods
Reducing the Dose:
  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
I'm going to tag
@JanetNJ she'll probably see this tomorrow morning hopefully, what time do you test .
You can test him then post what it is and see what @JanetNJ has to say

I would definitely reduce tomorrow morning since he dropped below 90
So it would be 3.75 units as long as his BG isn't crazy low, then ask for help
 
Last edited:
Same by me, If the med carb was a little to high to feed him , better to be safe , I've really never had to help anyone before if their cat started dropping but he'll be ok.
I wonder having the dental and getting rid if all those bad teeth lowered his need for the higher doses .
He's supposed to take 6units. A prozinc lady told me to give him 4units so that's what I've been doing.
 
Tomorrow read about prozinc and the dosing methods
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/
I'm not a prozinc user but I do know this , I copied it from the prozinc dosing methods
Reducing the Dose:
  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
I'm going to tag
@JanetNJ she'll probably see this tomorrow morning hopefully, what time do you test .
You can test him then post what it is and see what @JanetNJ has to say

I would definitely reduce tomorrow morning since he dropped below 90
So it would be 3.75 units as long as his BG isn't crazy low, then ask for help
That's what I was thinking. I shoot at 7am
 
How did he ever start on 6 units to begin with?
Hopefully Janet will see the tag, don't know if she's up that early
Let's see what it is tomorrow, but definitely reduce going by the dosing methods I gave you, I'll try and be up at 7 AM to see what he is
He just tested at 144 on the alphatrack & 124 on the relion
 
He just te sted at 144 on the alphatrack & 124 on the relion
Ok if you feel comfortable leaving him a little low carb out, his regular fancy feast you could do that, or set an alarm and test him in another hour

What I meant about the 6 units when he was diagnosed the vet started him in 6 units?
Christina
Your spreadsheet up top says diagnosed 1-10-2020? Your signature says 1-10-2021
Which one is correct, if your SS is wrong please fix it or vise versa
Also on your spreadsheet can you fill in up top what meter you are using


Also lol on you SS in the remarks section you wrote

I gave him fancy feast with gravy at 230-240 am when he dropped to 86. I retested with alpha trak at 310am & got 144. Also tested on relion same time 124BG

What you want to put is fed med carb @+7 (That's when you got the 86 BG)

Then when you tested him 30 minutes from then in the same cell (space where the 86 is) make a space under the 86 and put 144 @7.5
If you want to do it correctly, I'm a fanatic about things :p that's how you should do it
@Chrispooky12

Oh did the head twitching stop
 
Last edited:
Christina, the dose should be dictated by the BG numbers.
He may have needed 6 units before but he obviously doesn’t need that much now.
Diane has copied and pasted information from the prozinc dosing method in post 17.
I agree with her. You need to reduce the dose down to 3.75 units at the next dose….as long as the BG is high enough to shoot.
Hopefully Janet will be along soon, but if she is not, please give the reduced dose as Panzer has earned the reduction….congratulations!


 
Christina, the dose should be dictated by the BG numbers.
He may have needed 6 units before but he obviously doesn’t need that much now.
Diane has copied and pasted information from the prozinc dosing method in post 17.
I agree with her. You need to reduce the dose down to 3.75 units at the next dose….as long as the BG is high enough to shoot.
Hopefully Janet will be along soon, but if she is not, please give the reduced dose as Panzer has earned the reduction….congratulations!

Hi Bron, I was getting nervous telling her how many carbs to feed since I really never had to do that with Tyler. I can never remember what to feed if they drop low meaning when to feed low, med , or high carb
I told her med and he really went up , she tested with both the alpha trak and human
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Christina I just want to be sure you read my posts #17 and #24. ( the numbers are on the right side of each post)
and you read Brons post #25
When you read something can you hit the word like so we know you read it
I see you tested him again 225
I am going to bed now . please read all the posts I mentioned ok
Good night :cat:
 
Last edited:
Ok if you feel comfortable leaving him a little low carb out, his regular fancy feast you could do that, or set an alarm and test him in another hour

What I meant about the 6 units when he was diagnosed the vet started him in 6 units?
Christina
Your spreadsheet up top says diagnosed 1-10-2020? Your signature says 1-10-2021
Which one is correct, if your SS is wrong please fix it or vise versa
Also on your spreadsheet can you fill in up top what meter you are using


Also lol on you SS in the remarks section you wrote

I gave him fancy feast with gravy at 230-240 am when he dropped to 86. I retested with alpha trak at 310am & got 144. Also tested on relion same time 124BG

What you want to put is fed med carb @+7 (That's when you got the 86 BG)

Then when you tested him 30 minutes from then in the same cell (space where the 86 is) make a space under the 86 and put 144 @7.5
If you want to do it correctly, I'm a fanatic about things :p that's how you should do it
@Chrispooky12

Oh did the head twitching stop
No but it has eased up
 
Christina, the dose should be dictated by the BG numbers.
He may have needed 6 units before but he obviously doesn’t need that much now.
Diane has copied and pasted information from the prozinc dosing method in post 17.
I agree with her. You need to reduce the dose down to 3.75 units at the next dose….as long as the BG is high enough to shoot.
Hopefully Janet will be along soon, but if she is not, please give the reduced dose as Panzer has earned the reduction….congratulations!

Ok thank you. I'm testing on alphatrack & relion now. I dropped the alphatrack meter after the low reading.
 
Ok if you feel comfortable leaving him a little low carb out, his regular fancy feast you could do that, or set an alarm and test him in another hour

What I meant about the 6 units when he was diagnosed the vet started him in 6 units?
Christina
Your spreadsheet up top says diagnosed 1-10-2020? Your signature says 1-10-2021
Which one is correct, if your SS is wrong please fix it or vise versa
Also on your spreadsheet can you fill in up top what meter you are using


Also lol on you SS in the remarks section you wrote

I gave him fancy feast with gravy at 230-240 am when he dropped to 86. I retested with alpha trak at 310am & got 144. Also tested on relion same time 124BG

What you want to put is fed med carb @+7 (That's when you got the 86 BG)

Then when you tested him 30 minutes from then in the same cell (space where the 86 is) make a space under the 86 and put 144 @7.5
If you want to do it correctly, I'm a fanatic about things :p that's how you should do it
@Chrispooky12

Oh did the head twitching stop
He was diagnosed on January 20th 2020 & was on novalin until I switched vets.
 
I'm testing on alphatrack & relion now
Hi Christina, are you testing with the alphatrak or the ReliOn meter now? It’s very confusing to test with both and we won’t know which is which.
It’s much better to decide on one and stick with it. Is that possible?

Also I noticed you have added some remarks in the remarks column which are really helpful but they are not in the correct line but will show up in dates in a few days time. Can you change it so the remarks are all in today’s date please. Just keep typing in that spot and the space will expand for you….does that make sense? Thanks. :)
 
Hi Christina, are you testing with the alphatrak or the ReliOn meter now? It’s very confusing to test with both and we won’t know which is which.
It’s much better to decide on one and stick with it. Is that possible?

Also I noticed you have added some remarks in the remarks column which are really helpful but they are not in the correct line but will show up in dates in a few days time. Can you change it so the remarks are all in today’s date please. Just keep typing in that spot and the space will expand for you….does that make sense? Thanks. :)
I am using both incase the alphatrack is not reading right because I dropped it. I will only put the alphatrack #s on here. I gave him 3.5units because the U-40 syringes only have half marks. I did not want to get anywhere near that 4 mark. I will figure out the note part later today. I've had less than 2hrs of sleep, but I will be up every 2hrs to test.
 
I am using both incase the alphatrack is not reading right because I dropped it. I will only put the alphatrack #s on here. I gave him 3.5units because the U-40 syringes only have half marks. I did not want to get anywhere near that 4 mark. I will figure out the note part later today. I've had less than 2hrs of sleep, but I will be up every 2hrs to test.
You have to eye ball the 3.75 units, syringes don't come in 0.25 adjustments
You could be missing a good dose for him by adjusting his doses by half units
 
Last edited:
He was diagnosed on January 20th 2020 & was on novalin until I switched vets.
You need to change this in your signature, doesn't matter what insulin he was on, so can you please put the date in your signature that he was diagnosed on 1-20-2020
To change it go to the top of your title to the right you will see Thread Tools, tap on that then you will see Edit Title ,tap on that fix the diagnosis date then hit save
 
You need to change this in your signature, doesn't matter what insulin he was on, so can you please put the date in your signature that he was diagnosed on 1-20-2020
To change it go to the top of your title to the right you will see Thread Tools, tap on that then you will see Edit Title ,tap on that fix the diagnosis date then hit save
Hi Diane I believe it has the right date of diagnosis on it now
 
Alright Christina! Yep it's fixed, again I'm sorry about driving you crazy
How's he feeling today, eating good?
Ya! Your fine, I really appreciate all of your help! He's doing good just tested him, fed, & gave him his Metacam. He's running a little high today. I'm going to figure out where the .75 is at shot time so we can see if that's the right dosage.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top