PMPS 522,+1 341,+2 264,+2.5 177,+3 147, + 146

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Isabelamcgahee, Nov 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Using TR.

    Last night I had to leave the house to work. I work as a flight attendant. Left Fred with babysitter and husband care.
    Here is what happened the last 24 hours. Please help:

    11-07 Fred - we are in a eastern clock. 8 am and pm are the time of his insulin.

    8 pm eastern - PMPS 132 - 1.50/u
    3 oz FF Classic

    + 1 76


    + 3 32 At 11 pm eastern time babysitter said he was getting very crazy with meows. She tested and after getting 32 gave on his mouth 1 tbs of honey.
    He also did a lot of pee and poop in the floor. He is an inside cat.

    + 4 37 babysitter tested again and since it still low gave him 1 tbs of honey.

    + 5 27 - husband got home from work at 1 am eastern time and rated him 27. Don't ask me why but he gave him milk in a syringe because he was very weak and didn't want to eat wet food.

    + 7 43 - at 3 am eastern time husband gave him FF Classic and he eat some.

    11/08/15

    8 am eastern time AMBG 38 - he had some FF classic

    + 1 86

    + 2 77

    + 3 84 - he had some FF Classic.

    + 4 111


    Fred 13 years old
    DX DC 10/15/15
    Had ear and urinary infection.
    Took 2 antibiotics for 10 days. He finished them around 10/25/15.


    Had to be hospitalized because of bladder crystals. 24 hours later sent home.

    Used to eat only dry food.
    Now eats only FF classic - 3 oz.
    About 1 can every 3-4 hours during the day.

    He did lost a lot of weight. He now weights 11 1/2 lbs.


    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...C2LD3e-220AIP-iTHRS57Bo/edit?usp=docslist_api
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
  2. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Please advise us what to do.
    I have told my husband and babysitter to not shoot if it's bellow 50.
    To also test him every 15 min if it goes bellow 50 and if not increase to give him some honey.

    I am about to loose my job or mind since I am away from home.
     
  3. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Lots of pee around 11 pm last night.
    It was + 3 from his insulin point.
    Since he was low he didn't get shoot.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    It sounds like Fred was bordering on a symptomatic hypo last night. In the future, when numbers in the 30s and especially 20s pop up, I wouldn't go any longer than 15 minutes without retesting (which I see you told your husband and babysitter to do!).

    When you say "eastern", do you mean Eastern US? Also, what type of meter are you using? It sounds like switching Fred to canned food and clearing up his infection really helped him. I'm going to see if I can round up a few others to add feedback about where you should proceed from here.
     
  5. Anne & Hyde (GA)

    Anne & Hyde (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Wow - what a night!! He definitely earned a reduction! I bet he will bounce high after that night.

    Good that you are testing so much - what brand of meter are you using?
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  6. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It sounds like a symptomatic hypo to me. I agree with Amy, when numbers are below 40, I would be testing every 15 to 20 minutes. A reduction is a definite. And he may be extra sensitive to insulin after this.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  7. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    We live in Atlanta- GA/USA.
     
  8. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm glad your babysitter and husband were there.
     
  9. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    We use human. Can't remember the brand. Got at Walmart.
     
  10. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    I wouldn't leave him alone.
     
  11. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    So when his PM test for insulin arrive what number will be ok to shoot him?
    If he still bellow 50 no shooting then what?
     
  12. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Scary night for sure. Congratulations on reduction.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  13. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Relion machine
     
  14. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Isabela, I would try dropping the dose to 1.0u tonight and see if you can get him to have slightly higher cycles. I think it was smart to skip this morning. Hopefully that will allow the depot to drain some as well.

    If no one will be able to monitor tonight, I'd consider just giving 0.5u.

    Can you post an hour before shot time with his current test numbers so we can see if a different plan is better? That would be 7pm eastern time US, right?
     
    Isabelamcgahee and Amy&TrixieCat like this.
  15. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes both husband and babysitter will be at home with Fred.
    We can drop his insulin to 1/U. However what number he should have in order to shoot him?
     
  16. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    To answer your earlier question; if he's below 50 at shot time, then you don't give him any insulin and see how he does.
    If he's below 150 tonight, because of the recent very low numbers and possible symptomatic hypo, I would stall a bit to see if he comes up any. If he doesn't, I think I would skip. Or given a teeny token dose.
    I agree with Julie, if you can test at +23 (one hour before his normal shot time)
    and post that number, then we can compare that number to the +24 and get a better idea of where he's going.

    Edited to correct: To correct +11 to +23 and +12 to +24.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
    Reason for edit: To correct +11 to +23 and +12 to +24.
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  17. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Ok.

    So at shoot time:


    1) So if he is more then 150 he needs to get a shoot.
    How much? Original 1.50/u or 1/u?

    2) If he is bellow 50 no insulin and teste him every 15 minutes 3 X. If he doesn't get any higher to give some syrup/honey and call for help here.

    3) now if he is between 51 - 149 test every 15 minutes 3X and what else after it? I am confused here.
     
  18. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    These are just my thoughts and opinions, so let's see if others chime in before your PMPS.

    If he's below 50 at PM shot time, then you would do your normal frequent testing and feeding to get him up into the 60s and hopefully beyond that, and skip the shot. Then we would wait and see how he is tomorrow morning.

    A lot of us, who have lots of data, would shoot our regular dose at a number around 100 to 150, as long as we had testing supplies, syrup, and were going to around to monitor. Because your kitty just had that extreme low and possible symptomatic hypo which may cause him to be extra sensitive to insulin, if he is within that range at PM shot time (+24), I would stall without feeding and test again at +24.5 just to see if he comes up. I again, would also recommend getting a test one hour before shot time (+23), so we can compare it to his PM test.
    If he does not come up to above 150 by PM shot time, then depending upon the numbers, I would either skip or give a token teeny dose.

    If he is over 150 tonight at PMPS, then I would do the 1 unit.

    But, let's see if there are other opinions. We have a while. Is your shot time at 8:00pm EST? I will be sure to check in an hour earlier.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  19. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I certainly can't advice on dose. I just had this with Smokey last night. On the 5th he went hypo. Earned decrease. Last night PMPS was 145. I wasn't comfortable shooting normal dose so close to hypo episode. I decreased for that one time last night expecting a high this morning. Back to normal dose this morning. He has come down nicely today. We are back on track.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  20. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    IF over 150, I think I'd only give 1U at most

    under 50, no insulin...if in the 40's, feed a small amount of low carb food and retest in about 20 minutes and post for help

    If between 51-149, I'd stall, DON'T FEED and retest every 15-20 minutes so if his numbers do start to rise, you can shoot when it's safe
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  21. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Fred 11/08 AMBG 38, + 1 86, + 2 77, + 3 84, + 4 111, + 7 253, + 8 290, waiting on husband to send me more reading
     
  22. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Thank you all!
    I just finish flying for te day. God what a long day.
    Buffalo/Phoenix/delay/Buffalo.
    Will be back home tomorrow at 12 pm. Will be able to take care of Fread myself for the next week.
     
  23. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    As I said I am waiting on husband to send me more test numbers.
    Based on + 7 253 , + 8 290 he will be getting insulina right?
    And only 1/U.
     
  24. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    I'm traveling at the moment, Isabela, but wanted to check in on you.

    I wouldn't give more than 1u tonight even if he's very high. But that's just my opinion.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  25. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Let's see what the test is.
     
  26. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I agree with Julie.
     
  27. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Looks like he's starting to bounce

    I think I'd probably stick with the 1 unit tonight ....we don't know how he's going to react to the symptomatic hypo so it's better to be safe. They can be much more sensitive to insulin after a hypo with symptoms
     
  28. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes Julie. Thank you.
     
  29. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Isabela....now that the crisis is over, you can take the 911 off too...just edit your subject line and choose "no prefix"

    That way if something happens later and you need to put it back up, we won't think it's the same one...it also helps to prevent anyone just coming online from having heart palpitations when they see it ;)
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  30. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    You might already know this, but I'm thinking you should let your husband know that even if his numbers are still high tonight when he shoots, that doesn't mean that they can't drop still tonight.

    These high numbers are a bounce from the low numbers laat night and bounces clear faster when the cat get used to normal numbers. Spending a lot of time in normal numbers like he has in the last several days may mean that his bounce won't last very long.

    Your husband should just be on alert and if his numbers start to decrease tonight after he gets his shot he needs to continue monitoring then.

    He also might bounce untill tomorrow or the next day, there's just no way to know.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  31. milfordcollector

    milfordcollector Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Again based on current readings, 1u cause he earned reduction & now bouncing.....vines being sent ((((purrs & headbumps))))
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  32. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    I may still need 911.

    Fred 11/08 AMBG 38, + 1 86, + 2 77, + 3 84, + 4 111, + 7 253, + 8 290, +9 481, + 10 344, + 11 379, PMPS 522 - babysitter gave wrong amount of insulin. Instead of 1/u she gave 1.75/u.

    What is going to happen now!
    Is this 1.75/u hurt him?


    JESUS please help me!
    Neither her or husband know how to follow instructions!
    I will be home tomorrow only.
    I may need to pay someone who know what they are doing to take care of Fred when I leave to work.
     
  33. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    He was 522!!!! OMG! Sounds bad!
     
  34. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    I just suspended her for caring for Fred.
    Husband will try to do until I arrive home tomorrow.
     
  35. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....don't panic!! Starting out at 522 is high, so hopefully the 1.75 will just help him get through this bounce. I'm not surprised he's that high considering how low he got earlier today

    Just have your husband get a +1 and a +2....let's see how he does tonight

    You can take the 911 down for NOW....you can always add it again later if you need it....that's what I meant
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  36. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes!!!!
     
  37. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    What can be done???
     
  38. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    I just removed 911.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  39. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Nothing right now....but don't panic....he started out pretty darn high so he may do fine though this cycle

    Just have your husband get a +1 and +2 and keep us informed on how he's doing. Make sure you have high carb food and Karo/honey/syrup in the house just in case
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  40. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    You can't take it out. He needs to be tested often. The bounce may be helpful in this case.

    I agree with chris, keep the hypo supplies handy. Make sure there are plenty of strips. If not have him get more now.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  41. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    We have all at home.
    He will test him in 15 minutes for his + 1 and in 1 hour and 15 minutes for his + 2.
     
  42. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    With any luck he will stay in a bounce through this cycle.

    Your husband should identify a vet ER that he can go to if he needs it, just to be prepared.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  43. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Can my husband leave his food available. He ate some only. Or should we put it away?
     
  44. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Yes, leave the food out. As he starts dropping, he will feel hungry and eat some more.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  45. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Julie asked a few more people to keep a watch on you tonight. I'll be around quite a few hours yet. As I expect will Chris.

    You can leave some food out, but I wouldn't put all of his food out quite yet. Last thing we want is him getting full if you need him to eat high carb food later. So maybe reserve 1/3 or so of dinner for later.
     
  46. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Why an ER? Because he could get worst ten he did last night?
     
  47. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Ok new reading.
    1+ 341. It did went down from 522 to 341.
     
  48. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    So:

    Fred 11/08 AMBG 38, + 1 86, + 2 77, + 3 84, + 4 111, + 7 253, + 8 290, +9 481, + 10 344, + 11 379, PMPS 522 - babysitter gave wrong amount of insulin. Instead of 1/u she gave 1.75/u, + 1 341
     
  49. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Knowing your closest ER vet is a precaution. Because we know he saw a symptomatic hypo on 1.5u, we want to prevent that again. If he gets too low, an ER vet can put him on a glucose trip and keep him safe until the Lantus wears off. For now, we'll try to keep him safe by testing and giving him carbs as needed. That was a big drop to +1 but you don't need to do anything just yet. I'll watch for the +2.
     
  50. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Thank you Wendy.
    Husband is about to test + 2.
     
  51. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    New test.
    + 2 = 264
     
  52. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Fred 11/08 AMBG 38, + 1 86, + 2 77, + 3 84, + 4 111, + 7 253, + 8 290, +9 481, + 10 344, + 11 379, PMPS 522 - babysitter gave wrong amount of insulin. Instead of 1/u she gave 1.75/u, + 1 341, + 264
     
  53. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Ok, still coming down fairly quickly. What is his normal food? Just wondering if a couple of teaspoons of dinner but maybe a little higher carb food. DH can probably wait an hour until the next test.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  54. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    At 8 pm he received FF Classic only. Didn't eat much.
     
  55. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    I meant 2 hours ago.
     
  56. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Is there something in the house a little higher carb that you think he would eat? I'd like him to have some food on board for the insulin onset.
     
  57. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes. Will feed him.
     
  58. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Feeding him right now. Will test him again in 15 minutes.
     
  59. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sounds good. Don't fill him up though. I'm about to start PMPS here, so I may be a few minutes getting back to you after that test.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  60. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes. Thank you so very much!
     
  61. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    I'm home now and will watch for your next test.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  62. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    @Jill & Alex (GA) I see you're keeping an eye out here tonight - if you have advice, it would be welcome.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  63. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    New test. After offering carbs. Waited 15 minutes: 177.
     
  64. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Fred 11/08 AMBG 38, + 1 86, + 2 77, + 3 84, + 4 111, + 7 253, + 8 290, +9 481, + 10 344, + 11 379, PMPS 522 - babysitter gave wrong amount of insulin. Instead of 1/u she gave 1.75/u, + 1 341, +2 264, + 2 1/2 177 ( after giving carbs).
     
  65. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    What do you mean "after offering carbs?" Is he willing to eat?
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  66. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    So in 2 hours and 1/2 he went from 522 to 177.
     
  67. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    He eats when my husband holds the bowl for him.
    He eat half of it.
    He is not weak.
     
  68. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    thanks for explaining.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  69. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I was hoping to see the drop slowing, but given the circumstances, I would abort the cycle. There's nothing to prove. Kitty has been overdosed and has already earned a reduction.

    I'd pull out the big guns: HC gravy and karo syrup. Alternate between feeding gravy plus karo and HC food.
    Carb him up and keep him up with carbs, but try not to fill him up. We don't want him to vomit.

    If the drop cannot be stopped soon I would take him to an ER where they can put him on a glucose drip.
     
  70. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Out of curiosity - do you have an estimate how long it would take to get to that ER if you needed to?
     
  71. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    10-15 min drive.
     
  72. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Please retest at +3.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  73. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good, that's pretty close for the ER. I'd start Jill's suggestion of some HC food alternating with gravy and a couple drops of karo mixed in. If he won't eat the karo, then rub it on his gums. We want to get him to stop dropping. Do this just a tsp at a time so as to not fill him up. So feed the high carb/karo, then test 20 minutes after he's eaten so we can see how it's working.

    If your husband would like to join the conversation on the board, we'd welcome him here. Just one less step in communications.
     
  74. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Will do.
     
  75. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Can I add him or he must register to participate?
     
  76. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Just give him your sign in and I think you should both be able to post as you. Maybe he can sign his posts so we know the difference between you two.

    Thanks for weighing in, Jill.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  77. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Another question: Does your husband have a lot of test strips on hand?

    "If" Fred vomits, please let us know immediately.

    "If" Fred will not eat anything or if he can't get karo syrup into him... let us know immediately.

    "If" Fred does anything out of the ordinary, please let us know immediately.
     
    Isabelamcgahee and Wendy&Neko like this.
  78. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    We have about 75 strip (1 full box with 50 and half of other box).

    Will let you know if anything changes.

    Will test him again now.

    Will try give husband my log in info.
     
    Jill & Alex (GA) likes this.
  79. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    While we're waiting for the +3 test result... some thoughts about tomorrow:

    If I were in your shoes, I would skip Fred's shot in the morning even if he's in high numbers. I'd give his body a chance to adjust after the symptomatic hypo and this over dose.

    Once this crisis is over you can perform some random spot checks to help you figure out what to do for tomorrow night's shot. Hopefully, you'll all get a chance to rest and relax after the last couple of days. You guys must be exhausted...
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  80. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thank you!
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  81. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Thank you.
    Unfortunately he prefers to have me as the middle guy.
     
  82. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes ma'am!
    Tomorrow insulin is going to be suspended.
     
  83. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It's ok. My husband would probably feel the same, but tell him we don't bite! He might change his mind. :D

    How are the two of you doing?
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  84. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
  85. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Awful!
     
  86. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Very stressful !!!
     
  87. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    + 145
     
  88. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Fred 11/08 AMBG 38, + 1 86, + 2 77, + 3 84, + 4 111, + 7 253, + 8 290, +9 481, + 10 344, + 11 379, PMPS 522 - babysitter gave wrong amount of insulin. Instead of 1/u she gave 1.75/u, + 1 341, +2 264, + 2 1/2 177 ( after giving carbs), + 3 145.

    going to give him some karo and test again in 15 minutes.
     
  89. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The drop is slowing = good. Continue with alternating gravy plus karo and HC food.
    However, it's possible this could go on again all night.

    Just throwing this out there for your consideration...
    you have an option to take him to an ER where they can monitor him all night as well as put him on a glucose drip. It might make the most sense. You guys are wonderful and you're doing great, but this is two nights in a row now. It's something the two of you should consider... seriously.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  90. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    You're doing great under difficult circumstances, Isabela. Do you have to fly tomorrow? Your husband's probably feeling the stress of this too.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  91. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Yes I am in a layover in Buffalo. Will continue flying tomorrow at 5 am. Will end my trip in Atlanta at 11 am.
     
    julie & punkin (ga) likes this.
  92. Suzi_S

    Suzi_S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Been watching this while I'm at work. You guys are doing amazing!! Hopefully this will slow down for you.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  93. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    I am going to be very honest.
    Unfortunately we can't afford to go to the ER at this moment.
    We took him last month and it dos cost about $ 1800 on care credit.
    I dont really know what else to do.
     
  94. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    At least he's slowing down some! He only dropped 30 in the last 30 minutes

    Can you try to keep your subject line updated? Just the PMPS numbers since we're all watching (it's not essential, but it helps and then you don't have to keep retyping all the numbers in each update...we all understand that you have your hands more than full so don't worry about it if it's any trouble!!)

    Just have it say PMPS 522,+1 341,+2 264,+2.5 177,+3 147

    Then as you get new tests, just add them to the end

    I agree with Jill though....this could be a very long night for you both...it may be easier on both you and your husband to leave him with an emergency vet that can watch him closely all night but if you can't, all you can do is what you're doing....but realize he may make the decision for you so keep it in mind
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  95. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I understand. Many of us can relate.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  96. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Subject line is now updated. Ty.
     
    Jill & Alex (GA) likes this.
  97. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Maybe alternate each of you grabbing a short 45 min nap? (45 minutes is roughly the duration of 1 sleep cycle in humans)

    Didn't realize you aren't both there.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  98. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    They aren't both at home, BJ. She's in another state right now and communicating to her husband at home.
     
    Isabelamcgahee likes this.
  99. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Please allow me to take one second to "THANK YOU ALL"!!!
    Fred had a bed night last night and thank God he mad it to today.
    Only today around 5 am I learned about his low numbers.
    I tried everything I could to be able to go home but it didn't happen since I was all the way in the west coast.
    I went to the airplane bathroom every single free minute I had to cry.
    So please let me "Thank you" ALL for been here for us!
    I have no words to describe how thankful and fortunate we are !!!
     
  100. Isabelamcgahee

    Isabelamcgahee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    New test: 146.
    He had 1/2 can of gravy FF and 1 small spoon of karo.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page