Post pituitary surgery discussion of medication - We said goodbye

Discussion in 'Acromegaly / IAA / Cushings Cats' started by sbluhrs, Nov 26, 2018.

  1. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    @John Irene and TITAN , @Amanda & Shmee and I have all had our kitties undergo surgery to remove their pituitary gland within a one month period. If you want to ready about some of the issues we have had with the meds they are now on, and a number of other things we have encountered, please go here:

    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...r-and-go-otj-with-sophie.205746/#post-2295111

    One thing you need to know about this surgery is that it doesn't fix things immediately and there is also a learning curve with regards to providing your kitty with the proper care afterwards. But, if you have negotiated the waters and have learned the Sugar Dance, you will have no problems learning this new one, as its merely a variation on the same theme.
     
  2. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    This ^ is the thinking that helped me decide to have the surgery. But, I still don’t know if it was worth it for Shmee. At this time I honestly think it wasn’t, but I’m trying my best to hold out hope it will be at some point. Shmee became OTJ, but he’s not my cat anymore. He’s depressed, lays around all day, hardly meows (very different than his old self), and when he does it’s not the same. Literally a different sound. He’s easily annoyed, developed pancreatitis from the trauma and stress of the hospital, always extremely hungry and no one knows why (my vet says “fat cats are hungry”...... but he was never like this before) and will most likely be on the extremely expensive (way more than insulin) Desmopressin for the rest of his life (something that is “very rare”...). If he was younger, and a different personality, this may have gone better. He is very sensitive and I should’ve known him better, that he couldn’t handle the stress. He was so happy before this. Now we are all suffering and I miss him every minute of the day and second of the night, as he used to lay with me almost all his life... right next to me. Now nothing. His eyes are also constantly dilated. Just my two cents... I hope sometime in the future I can update this and say he’s better.

    PS Susan have you tried the refractometer yet? I haven’t. I don’t understand it and Dr. McCue hasn’t called or emailed in quite a while.... I tried to get some pee but Shmee got very mad at me. So I don’t even know if I’ll be able to get a sample like I used to but I have to try again soon.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  3. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    This is a very good info thread.

    Amanda, I also hope Shmee eventually turns around and becomes a friendlier kitteh. None of us really expected him to become so radically transformed. .....I was just in NYC for the last 3 days and was remembering the nice lunch we had together there...when Shmee was having his operation.
     
  4. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    I finally got a sample for the refractometer and got a 1.020 reading. When you first use it, you have to zero it - take a drop of water and focus the lens, then adjust it per instructions to set it at zero. The SG readings are the ones on the left.

    Sophie mostly uses pee pads in litter boxes, though occasionally she is starting to relent and use a regular litter box at times. I just happened to be in the basement where everything is set up and she was peeing in her favorite box on a pad. I grabbed one of the clean cans from our recycling and scooped up some pee before it could sink into the pad. Plenty to create a sample to use on the refractometer.

    I really wonder what the deal is with other kitties who have had the same operation, whether it be at RVC, AMC or in Washington. No one discusses moods, etc in anything that I had read prior to deciding on Sophie's surgery. This is very important information when deciding on a life changing operation like the one our guys went through. I just hold onto the hope that 6 months or so from now, all of our cats - Shmee, Sophie & Titan from the UK - will be in a better place mood wise and back to their normal selves.

    Sophie is still on desmo, too. I use injectable from Wedgewood Pharmacy out of NJ. It costs $86 for the vial including shipping ($56 for the meds, $30 for shipping, shipped overnight), less than the place that AMC got it at in NYC. She is just on a very small amount, so that vial will last me a long time.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  5. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    I am really sad to read Amanda's post. We think titan is still improving slowly, learning all the things that he seemed to have forgotten and regaining confidence in himself and us. But it's a slow process and made more difficult by his deafness which mysteriously arose at the time of the operation. He may get back to his former self, or we may just get used to his new self, but at the moment he is definitely a changed cat.
    It would be a good project for a student vet at RVC to do a study of character changes in cats that have been treated.
    Nothing has changed in Titan's medication. He is still on desmopressin, and we judge that he still needs it by the amount he drinks and pees. We have never taken a urine sample; only at the vet who takes it with a needle.
    He is developing a habit of spitting out his cortisone pills and we may have to start crushing them....so far we use a pill pocket when he does that.
     
  6. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    I am sorry to hear of Titan's issues, including his new deafness. When we first encountered Little Dude as a wild kitteh in the neighborhood, he was fearful of everything. Fast forward 3 months - we had tamed and treated his issues. He was 99% deaf from ear mites, and that was causing the extreme fear because he was "feral" at the time. We killed off the ear mites, and within ~3 more months he regained most of his hearing. His behavior changed significantly after this, and now he is a lovebug.

    I think the major loss of a sense (hearing) could be quite disturbing. I hope the best for all the kittehs here, and I hope Titan gets his hearing back.
     
  7. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Maybe the common factor is memory loss. Shmee reverting back to his pre-rescue character and Titan finding everything unfamiliar.? Titan has been loved and spoiled every second of his life, with only his weaning onto solids causing him a problem. So loss of memory wouldn't cause him as much stress as Shmee.
    How about Sophie?
     
  8. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    If Sophie has any memory loss, I really don't have a baseline for which to determine how she acts now. I adopted her in February of 2017. I don't know her pre-diabetes, etc., so I don't know what her personality was back then. She is basically the same cat that I adopted. My biggest problem is getting her to eat less. She has gained a lot of weight since surgery and is now a little porker. I am now watering down her meals and giving her less food and not letting her get away with eating any of my other cat's meals. Admittedly, we spoiled her a bit during the Holidays with letting her lick plates, but that has stopped.

    My gut is telling her that I won't see who she will be for another 3-6 months down the road, perhaps a year. Her vet thinks that part of it is that her body is still adapting to her new hormone levels and it is just a matter of time. I'll just be happy when spring rolls around and I can take her out for walks on the harness and, hopefully that exercise will make a difference. The runs up the basement stairs help a bit, but she needs more.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  9. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Shmee wasn’t a rescue, I’ve had him since he was a baby. Memory loss was never discussed with me either. I feel extremely let down by this whole ordeal. Let down isn’t even the right phrase, but I won’t say how I really feel.

    I’m sorry I haven’t been around, I hope everyone had a nice Christmas. Thank you for being so supportive.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  10. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Sorry Amanda. I don't know why I thought he was a rescue... must have confused him with another. Signature is clear enough!
     
  11. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Behavior issues are definitely something that NO ONE ever mentions regarding the pituitary surgery. Seriously, this is an issue that needs to be addressed and people need to be informed BEFORE they have their cat undergo the procedure.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  12. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Did a trial of no desmo this AM with Sophie. This is what I noticed - HUGE behavior change - not sleeping the whole day, engaged in life, did a few things that she hasn't been doing in MONTHS - including kneading. Not quite as hungry as usual, but, unfortunately, drinking a lot and peeing more than is good. So, back to her needle juice of desmo this PM.

    But, I also decided to research the affect of Desmo on feline behavior. Some side effects of it can include mood changes (irritability), and tiredness. Usually, this is seen in high dosages, but, since our cats are not the typical, they might be more sensitive to the drug. That might be why they are more sluggish and crabby. I'm going to ask Dr. McCue, along with our Maine vet about this.

    So, all the behavior issues might be related just to this. Wow!
     
  13. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Very interesting! Titan's still on 3 x 1 eyedrops a day. Still slowly improving, has started resuming play fighting with his sister (led by her) early morning. Think his deafness may be improving. Still peeing and drinking. Still coughing. He is certainly rather sluggish but not at all crabby.
     
  14. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Emailed Dr. McCue today and, amazingly, he got back to me this evening.

    He is amazed that needle juice of desmo makes a difference for her, that such a small amount will keep her regulated regarding her water consumption and peeing. She's a little off today regarding this, but I am chalking it up to not getting 1 shot yesterday, and getting the second very late, but she should be back to her pattern of peeing no more than twice a day soon.

    He didn't have anything to say regarding possible side effects of the desmo re: moods & energy level, but he wants me to continue giving him info regarding our observations.
     
  15. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    OH, and I forgot to mention, Sophie saw her Maine vet last Friday (1/4) and her ears were a little dirty and had a bit more yeast in them than is good. Not enough to need an antifungal, but we didn't want them to get worse. Well, the doctor put her on prescription ear drops that have some steroid. Wouldn't you know, those stupid drops threw her out of diabetic remission - look at her numbers on 1/8 & 1/9 - called the clinic on 1/9 (Wednesday). So Sophie is no longer on those drops and I will just clean her ears twice a week instead. Already she is doing much better. Just seems that she will need an AM shot for a few days.

    I'm thinking that the stupid drops were the same reason why the trial to stop desmo didn't work.

    Some cats don't seem to be affected much by the drops, others are like Sophie and get a significant jump in BG. AMPS on Wednesday was 384, and she was down to 56 at +8. Just NJ today, and she dropped from 219 to 47 - so really, she doesn't need insulin. Just spot checking this evening and tomorrow AM and she should definitely be definitively OTJ, baring any other stupidity with steroids other than the orals she gets.
     
  16. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Gee, Sophie definitely is a mystery wrapped up in an enigma. She sure is the poster child for ECID. Got results back from Michigan for her IGF-1. It was 0!!! You read that right - 0. Michigan has never had that happen before. Dr. McCue doesn't seem concerned - he just thinks that it shows that there is no problem with recurrence - that, obviously, since the tumor was encapsulated, and the whole thing was removed, along with the pituitary gland, that all is good. One of the vets here in Maine was concerned that this might be a reason to increase the amount of Sophie's steroid dosage, but I guess that is not the case.

    And, on the desmo front, just giving her nj once a day - 7 pm. It definitely affects her personality. She is much more active during the day now as she doesn't get her big nj shot (being sarcastic here) at 7 am. Yes, by 7 pm she is drinking more, but with even just nj twice a day, she only pees once a day, twice at the very most, and it is very concentrated. So the plan is to continue weaning her off of it, encouraging those brain cells that have taken over making the kidney regulating hormone to do just a bit more.

    Oh, and she is off of insulin again. Only needed 3 shots to get her over the hump of the increase caused by the ear drops.
     
  17. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Those are good results for Sophie. Pretty amazing to have absolute zero on IGF-1. And great to have her off of insulin again. That part should be enjoyable, no more worries about hypos.
     
  18. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    At this point, we are now working on weaning Sophie from Desmo. She is getting 1 shot per day, only needle juice, at 7pm, with her evening meal. Usually she doesn't pee from that time until around 10-11 am the next day. Seriously. Yes, she will pee quite a bit at that time, but, then she pees about once or twice more the rest of the day. Pee amounts are still rather larger than a normal amount, but she is a big girl. She starts to drink more water than usual starting in late afternoon, but that resolves within an hour of getting her desmo shot at 7. The idea is that this will make her brain, which has already started the conversion of some portions to creating the hormones to regulate her kidneys, accelerate that process so that she will be off the Desmo in the near future. Hey, even if it takes another few months, it would be wonderful.

    Some of her bloat seems to be coming off, too. Desmo isn't supposed to cause water retention, except for cases when large amounts are used, but no one ever does studies on cats post pituitary surgery when it comes to this. And, then, ECID.

    Dr. McCue is amazed that such a small amount makes such a difference for her - again - ECID.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  19. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Got the ok from Dr. McCue to go down to 1.25 mg once a day of the Prednisolone. Hoping that helps with her appetite - still wants to eat more than a normal cat still peeing a bit more than a normal cat, but the frequency is going down. I'm going to wait a couple of weeks after the steroid dosage change and then do another trial with no desmo - her specific gravities have been doing well - I just seem to have been able to get some good samples lately, and she doesn't appear to be drinking significantly more than our other kitty, although both are drinking more than normal due to the dryness in the house.

    Oh, and her pee, all around, must be more concentrated as, on the odd occasion when she pees in a box with litter instead of on a pad, it actually clumps now instead of being a sticky, gooey mess. (we use clumping litter).

    She is still a little tubbo - up to 13.5 lbs, hoping that, between the steroid dosage decrease, and the fact that I am making her portions even smaller and cutting out her snacks, the weight will come off and that she will be back to a svelte 12 lbs.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
    JeffJ likes this.
  20. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    We've had a change in cortisone medication requested by the RVC. Instead of 1 X 2.5 mg of hydro cortisone, they want a quarter of a 10 mg tablet per day. The difference is that the old tablet was designed to stick to mouth ulcers and release the active ingredients topically or locally. The new tablets are more systemic.
    Titan seems to have reacted well to the change and is a bit brighter.
    He was doing well anyway, still improving day by day, purring when fussed, and coming to sit on laps, etc. The latest is a slight improvement in his hearing.
    Still coughing and still peeing and drinking, but he seems quite a happy cat. Now seven months after surgery we are very happy with the outcome!
     
    Wendy&Neko, sbluhrs and JeffJ like this.
  21. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Thanks for continuing to post these results. It is good to hear that both Titan and Sophie have done so well after surgery. Titan sounds like he is nearly a normal non-Acro cat except for the coughing.
     
    John Irene and TITAN likes this.
  22. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    We are delighted with the way Titan is responding to the different hydrocortisone tablets. He is brighter, happier, purrs whenever we touch him. We think he may be doing less coughing. And a few days ago he went out and caught a rabbit!!
    I forgot to mention that his hearing is improving, quite a lot! It is getting to be like having the good old Titan back !
    I also forgot to mention that his hair seems to be growing longer, especially his white hair. Wondering if some of the old growth hormone is lodged in the hair follicles, and whether it will wear off, giving normal hair length in next winter's growth ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2019
    Reason for edit: forgot to mention
    JeffJ and sbluhrs like this.
  23. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    What a great report on Titan. I am glad to hear his great progress. He is doing well enough to catch wildlife - that is pretty healthy.

    That's an interesting hypothesis about the fur. Leo is now 2.5 years post-SRT, and his fur has always been pretty consistent. Except for the past 6 months, it seems to be a little slower in growing back.
     
  24. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Sophie has slow hair regrowth on her hind leg that they saved for the catheter they used during her surgery. Her facial hair regrew pretty quickly, and where they shaved on her front leg recently for her check up in NYC, the hair has already come back most of the way, and that is a month ago. I guess the hair follicles in the slow growing area just were traumatized or something and are taking a long time to wake up.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  25. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Just a quick update on Sophie. Still on the same level of thyroid meds - 1/2 pill am 1 hr before meal, 1/4 pill 1 hr before meal pm, 1/4 steroid pill pm, and still on needle juice re: Desmo, once a day. She is definitely starting to act like a normal cat, getting into our faces and demanding that we pay attention when there is something she wants - usually food, LOL. Her weight is doing well, just broke 12.5 lbs the other day after porking up to around 13.86 just prior to her last visit to AMC back a few months ago.

    She acts like the typical middle aged female cat, a little bossy, but sweet and engaged in the world. Loves her special places for snoozing and hanging out, watching the birds, and enjoying sun puddles in the morning. And being our kitchen manager, LOL.

    She will have her thyroid level tested soon. Her coat looks good, and her BG is great - usually in the 70s. It was definitely the tumor causing all the problems with this.

    She'll have one more visit to AMC at the end of September, and, then, the next time she will be back will be after she passes, which could be years and years from now, as they would like her for a necropsy at that time.

    Feel so lucky that I happened to find the info about the subsidized surgery at AMC when I did. Timing is everything.
     
    Bronx's dad (GA) and JeffJ like this.
  26. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    I am so happy to hear that Sophie has done so well after the surgery. I will tell Theresa too, as she has been tracking the progress of the Acro cats through me. Your update will bring some joy to our home. We are happy that some people found the free surgery program and it was successful on some.

    Leoberry lost his fight with Acro and Lymphoma on Friday 7/5/2019, having recently reached his 13th Birthday. This forum and the people here have been our lifeline throughout Leo's 4 year struggle with Acromegaly. His life would have been much shorter without the loving help here. We miss him dearly.
    Leo's departure thread
    and
    Leo's Eulogy 2006 - 2019
     
  27. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sue, thanks for this update. What an awesome report! I especially like the part about how she is reverting to a normal teenage kitty, :joyful: I hope the work with Sophie and others will mean this surgery becomes a viable options for more acrokitties.
     
    sbluhrs likes this.
  28. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    An update on Titan one year post surgery.
    He is a very happy loving cat. Still drinking and still partially deaf. He purrs well every time he has contact with us, enjoys his food, and has a play-fight with his sister Misty most mornings. HE IS NOT DIABETIC.
    His meds are unchanged, except for some additional blood pressure medication. An occasional tummy upset is helped with cerenia and some probiotic which he loves.
    We owe a huge debt to this forum and especially to Wendy and Jeff. Jeff, I still have tears on my face after reading abou Leo.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    That is great news about Titan. What a great success story, except for the partial deafness. I'm really glad you posted the update - so we could have good uplifting news here. Cute pic of Titan too!

    I told Theresa about Titan last year, and just now too. And thanks for the condolences for Leo. I told Theresa of the condolences from across the pond and we had tears too. His passing is still feels recent, but it is now 2 months. He really was a great kitteh and we miss him. I still light the candle each Monday evening.
     
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    What a great Titan update. He sounds like a normal happy healthy kitty. :):joyful: He is so lucky to have found you.

    Thanks for giving us the annifursary update.
     
  31. Cynthia & Merlin (GA)

    Cynthia & Merlin (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Wonderful to hear! I wish Titan a long, happy, healthy, and playful life.
     
  32. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Sophie is going to see Dr. McCue at AMC in NYC on Sept 26th for her 1 yr checkup. She will stay overnight and have her scans, and blood tests done on Friday and then we will come home on Saturday. Not expecting anything significant. She is still on her desmo, but only needle juice PM and it seems that she will eventually be off it. She gave me a specific gravity of 1.058 either sometime last night or after breakfast as I found a nice sample in the litter box she uses that has a pee pad that she peed outside of. She is peeing more and more in a regular box, so I have fewer opportunities for a sample.

    I know I had read someplace about some cats being off of desmopressin within a few weeks or months of their surgery, but that sure isn't the case for Soph, Titan or Shmee. Would be really nice to have her off the stuff. She is great with her pills (levothyroxin and Prenisolone) in her food, the latter pill only in the PM. So, keeping my fingers crossed that she goes off the desmo at some point and that will enable my spouse and I to finally be able to take a few days away and use a pet sitter who won't charge us an arm and a leg.
     
  33. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    That is good to hear. Sophie has been a good example of a successful pituitary surgery. I hope she continues to be an exemplary case, and has a long life ahead.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  34. Cynthia & Merlin (GA)

    Cynthia & Merlin (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    On
    One year already! Good to hear she’s doing pretty well and you have helped her navigate post-surgery adventures! Sending my very best she has a great check-up and that you and your spouse get some much needed time away without draining your bank account. Sending much love to Sophie.
     
  35. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    No!! :( I am so sorry to hear this Jeff. I’m up crying for you and Theresa. You are such a kind hearted person and I know you loved Leo so so much. I will never forget meeting you in NYC. I wish I could give you a big hug. I am so sorry I haven’t been around. That job I started last year as a travel agent? That on top of my full time job takes up every moment of my spare time now a days..... I’m so incredibly overwhelmed.... it’s not an excuse though. Such terrible news and I’m so sorry I wasn’t there for you at the time you needed it the most. I will also light a candle for Leo tomorrow. ♥️ I know that had to be so hard for you.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  36. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Thank you Amanda. Our Acro kittehs take a lot from us, and in the end, leave us with the best memories. Thank you for lighting the candle for Leo. I responded on Leo's Eulogy thread too.

    It would be nice to hear how Shmee is doing these days. I hope he is better.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  37. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Hiya, crew! It's been just over a week since Soph and I got back from NYC where she went for her 1 yr checkup. Everything looks good. She is still on desmo, nj every 36 hours. Dr. McCue switched her over to Prednisone, as opposed to Prenisolone, as we can get lower dosage pills. She had been on 1/4 of a 5mg pill of Prenisolone every 24 hours, and now gets a 1mg prednisone pill every 24 hours. He did this because she has the typical rough coat and pot belly of a long term steroid feline patient. He's hoping that her coat will soften and the belly fat will go away, with more muscle on the rest of her body.

    Already her coat is much softer. And, within the past few days, I am noticing that her drinking more/peeing more portion of her cycle is slowly getting later in the 36 hrs. Typically, she will start drinking more at 28 hours in, and it seems that this is getting to be closer to 30-32 hours. Just haven't been able to get a sample.

    We had gone to the 36 hour cycle as she was giving me 1.056 and there about specific gravity at anywhere from 20-22 hours in. Dr. McCue said that when she can maintain 1.025 to 1.040 on her own, we will consider her weaned all the way. With how the steroid had been affecting her coat and making her tubby, and how that is resolving, I'm hoping that this will be the last piece of the puzzle to get her off the desmo. I mean, she only gets needle juice once every 36 hours. Dr. McCue is amazed at her response to such a small amount, but that's how she is . I guess she is just really sensitive to certain drugs and we just have to go with that. Like they say, ECID.

    If you are interested, I've transcribed her blood tests from her visit in her spreadsheet, as the last worksheet.
     
  38. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Still hanging in there. No changes to pred or Levo dosages, but her coat is much softer than it was in the summer when she was on Prednisolone as opposed to the lower dosage of Prednisone. Sill on the nj of Desmo every 36 hours, but I still am hoping that she will be off that. Might take another year, but, its no big deal - 1 shot every 36 hours is much more doable than every 12 hours....
    And, if I want to adjust the shot day by 12 hours due to personal appointments, etc. it isn't a big deal. Did that when we went to visit friends for Thanksgiving and I was able to adjust so that our cat sitter didn't have to give a shot. If she goes for an occasional 48 hr period, not an issue.

    And, we got another kitty 3 weeks ago. Another girl, shelter said she was 5, but vet agrees with me that she is more like 2.5 or 3. Not special needs, but my spouse basically put their foot down that not another special needs cat right now, after all we went through with Soph and Enzo, our epileptic. Everyone is doing well and the adjustment didn't involve any huge problems. The new girl, who is a buff tabby, is named Angie. Her shelter name was Angel, and we like to keep an Italian name trend (Vinny(GA), Rocco(GA), Enzo, Sophie, and now Angie).
     
    Amanda and a Loudogg and JeffJ like this.
  39. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    That's really great news all around. I'm glad to see these great results from the surgery, and also hearing that Sophie is doing so well these days. Leo's fur degraded on the Pred too - I guess it happens with a lot of kittehs. I bet Sophie's new friend will be great at keeping her snuggled in the coool months.
     
  40. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sounds like Sophie is doing well. Did the pot belly go away with the change in steroids? My two non diabetics that were or are on pred did not have coat issues. Might be the raw food diet helping out.

    Good luck with the new girl cat!
     
  41. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    She is getting less dumpy. It's a process......
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.
  42. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    If you want to check out how she is doing with getting off of the Desmopressin, check her spreadsheet. Slowly getting closer and closer to possibly going to 48 hours.
     
  43. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    So far Soph and our other special needs, Enzo, are co-existing nicely with the new girl, Angie. Angie definitely is keeping them on their toes and it is good, because they are both more active, keeping an eye on what the little twerp is doing. Actually, Enzo and Angie have become close to partners in crime, chasing each other around from time to time and having to make sure that they know what the other is doing. Everyone has their favorite places, and Angie's most favorite is on the couch with my spouse. She will also venture onto my lap from time to time and likes to supervise us when we are in the bathroom. Sophie and Enzo are a bit more reserved.....
     
    Amanda & Shmee and JeffJ like this.
  44. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Wonder of wonders, Soph is definitely starting to get some brakes on her appetite. She no longer haunts us when we are eating dinner and I don't have to immediately clean up the second we are through. Yeah, she still haunts my spouse at lunch time, but Ivy does spoil her and give her tidbits of cheese, and she does like to hang out while I eat my bowl of steamed veg, as she likes to like the bowl afterwards to clean up any small bits of leftover butter and cheese if I put some on it. But Dinnertime is so nice and calm now. Everyone gets their cat food, and then they go chill out.....
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  45. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Great updates on Sophie. She is doing so well. One of the best success stories on this subforum.

    One of our cats (Scoobs) used to love cheese and butter too. And he wasn't diabetic. He also liked whipped cream.
     
  46. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    I know that we are lucky with how Soph is progressing. Some people don't have it so easy (well, it hasn't been easy, but the progression is rewarding). I just wish I could see more people whose cats have had the surgery relate what the process was AFTER the surgery - that is what I had the most questions about. Everything seems so easy - cat off insulin in a month, off desmopressin in a few weeks, yada yada yada. Well, that isn't how it is. Its a process, it takes time. I don't expect her to be off of desmo for a while yet, but I am optimistic about how she is doing with it. We have people whose cats have gone into remission using Lantus and diet changes, etc., and lots of info on this but nothing about what happens post surgery, so I am sticking with this thread in hopes that some who are considering the procedure will have a bit more info to help with their decision making.
     
  47. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Hi everyone, sorry it’s been so long for an update from me. I’m up right now in the middle of the night because I’m waiting to test Shmees sugar in about 20 mins. He is back on insulin... His blood sugars have been very high for a while, since about November. Dr. McCue thought at first that the Prednisolone was making it go high, but after months of it being very high (and me emailing him three times without a response so finally calling him) that he said we need to put him back on insulin. To my surprise.. I was mostly ok with this. Weird to think, but I wanted something to try to make him feel better, and I remembered what insulin had done for him in the beginning, and knew this would really help him. I think it has already. It’s been a little over a week now? And he’s already about to go under 100 I think tonight. So I’m happy because I know he is feeling better.

    He is still not the same Shmee he used to be.. which I’m sure is one reason it’s hard for me to come back to this board.. it makes me think of the old shmee, and I miss him. Anyway.. he is doing ok. He is definitely not as mean/moody as he was months after the surgery. He was incredibly hungry for just about this entire time after the surgery... Dr. McCue didn’t know why. My regular vet found an article about sometimes in humans with brain surgery’s something happens where your hunger drive is just constant. Still not sure about that. Back then (months after the surgery) his blood sugar was fine, so it wasn’t because he was diabetic.

    He is coming around very slowly. He is acting a little more lovey now, will come up in our laps sometimes. He looks so different.... he has a lot of brown / reddish tones in his fur now... Dr. McCue doesn’t know why. My regale vet said she thinks it could be from the thyroid hormones. I will upload photos eventually. He just had another dental and had to have another three removed! Back when he had diabetes he had seven removed! My vet said this gets more common with older cats (he’s 12), and we will need to do cleanings more often..

    He has been surprisingly good with me poking and prodding him. I’m so proud of him. He lets me get his blood sugar without a problem and will even purr when I put him in my lap to do it. (I need to update his SS).

    For now, here is a photo of him sleeping on me as I wait to test him here in a few mins. I really hope I can come on again soon and read about best one else and get caught up. I hope everyone is doing well.

    upload_2020-3-6_1-27-46.jpeg
     
  48. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Hi Amanda. Good to hear from you again, but sorry to hear why. Scheme looks very comfortable on the bed.

    How high did his sugars get? Did he have any other signs like peeing and drinking? His coat looks pretty good.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  49. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Hi Amanda. I always wonder how things are going with you.

    Just a week or two ago someone posted about the fur turning red. Or maybe it was the FB page. It was a simple remedy. Maybe post the question in both places.

    Shmee looks very comfortable. Could the teeth have caused his sugar to go up? I thought since gland was removed diabetes wasn't possible.
     
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  50. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Hi Amanda - overall a pretty good status for Shmee. Maybe he has pancreatic (normal) diabetes now. I'm glad to hear his mood has settled and that he is more affectionate now.

    Dental issues happen with lots of aging cats. Our kitteh Little Dude was a rescue cat, estimated 5-8 years old upon adoption in 2016. He had teeth removed then, and more teeth removed last year from adsorption. My point is that cats don't have the cleanest mouths and tooth loss happens. In case anyone needs a dose of cuteness, here is Little Dude from this week.

    Little Dude rolling around on the deck
     
  51. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    I tested him a few times within those few months and it was around 350. Yes he was drinking and peeing A LOT. But he also is still on desmopressin and has the water concentration issues from the surgery, so Dr. McCue didn’t want to call it diabetes too early I guess. Plus he was on an increased dose of Pred. because we took him to the ER maybe 5 months ago or so after having bad diarreah, and the vet said he thinks he has either small cell lymphoma or IBD. But the weird thing is... I’m still not convinced of that because this happened right after he threw up A LOT of plastic... he was just so hungry that he started eating plastic, and he got into thick larger ziplock bags. I think his stomach hurt for a while before he threw it up because it was so much. Anyway I assumed that was the reason for the diarrhea as well, but the ER vet said they were two completely different things and he thinks he has small cell lymphoma or IBD... still not convinced because since then I have tried to reduce his Pred. Back to his normal amount and he hasn’t had any diarrhea at all.

    Very interesting about others experiencing the color change! I will try and find that. I asked about the teeth problems and his BGs, and both vets sensed to think it wouldn’t make it go as high as his was, but it could’ve definitely had an impact on it. I waited to start him on insulin until about five days after his teeth were done, just to see if his blood sugar would go down at all, and if didn’t so I started the insulin. About the tumor - it can grow back.. :/ and the only way to tell for sure if it’s back is to get another IGF test, but I don’t want to spend the $300 to do that test again. He could’ve also developed diabetes... he got very big after surgery and just didn’t want to get up at all. He was always just lying by his food, not in a very good mood. Didn’t (and still doesn’t) want to play at all. Didn’t really move around. He does move around more now, not a lot, but definitely better than before. I don’t think it’s acromegaly again, because so far the insulin is working well. Today he is up to 1.5 and got down to 76. So it seems like his dose won’t have to go as high as it did before with the tumor.

    Soooo cute!! Glad to see Little Dude is doing well! Such a soft belly. You’re right about the regular diabetes, this is a definite possibility.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
    Ana & Frosty (GA) and JeffJ like this.
  52. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Coat colour change, from black to red, can be a result of poor absorption. ie. from IBD or small cell lymphoma. Seen it now three times in a row with black and whites. :rolleyes: GI issues are quite common with acros, both Neko and Leo for two, I could name others. If he had an ultrasound, they would have seen bowel wall thickening, though the pred can disguise it. You can't really diagnose whether it's IBD or small cell, until he's off of pred. It is good to know what you are dealing with, as the treatments are different, though pred can be one of the things given for both.

    Glad to hear his numbers are being well controlled this time.
     
  53. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Hi Amanda
    Sorry to hear that Shmee is back on the insulin, but relieved to hear that he is responding. I still remember vividly the feeling of panic when Titan seemed not to react at all to the insulin doses.
    Good luck with the new way of life.
    Titan is still OK. He is quite fat and enjoys his food. At 15 years old he is not as fast as he was, and nothing like as fast as his sister. He purrs a lot and seems happy. But he still drinks a lot of water and pees buckets. In fact he seems to be be drinking more than ever. We are a little concerned about his kidneys. Yesterday Irene did a blood glucose and it was 5.6, right at the bottom of the blue zone, so we are not concerned about that.
    We are 20 months or so post surgery, and very grateful for all the good times we have had together since then.
    Greetings to Sue and Jeff and Wendy !
     
  54. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Wendy is spot-on about the intestinal issues - acro causes lots of problems there. Leo had thickened intestinal walls, and of course small cell lymphoma.

    Titan's report - so glad to hear he doing so well. The time sure passes quickly - wow, 20 months. I'm a bit surprised he is going thru so much water. But that's a small issue compared to the larger acro issue that got resolved. You are so right - 20 months post-surgery is something to be happy about.

    I guess since you guys and Titan are on an island - your relative isolation is somewhat of a good thing for Covid controls.
     
  55. Wendy & Eric

    Wendy & Eric New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Hi All, Eric is coming up for a year now post his pituitary removal surgery at RVC. He is doing well and leading a normal life, his coat has returned to the silver grey and all the redness in his fur has gone, his coat feels much softer. He still takes a half of a 100mg desmopressin tablet every 8 hrs, I tried to reduce to every 12 hrs but his drinking and urinating increased. In addition to this he has a quarter of hydrocortisone 10mg tablet and .08ml Levothyroxine every 24 hrs. I have just had his T4 tested which is showing high, my vet said 137 (I didn't catch units?), so I'm waiting for RVC to advise adjustments to meds. We are due to go to RVC for ATCH test in August so guess they will check T4 again then.

    Eric was diagnosed with Cushings and was never diabetic.

    I hope you don't mind me joining in conversation as others have said it is good to hear how your kitties have progressed post op.
     
  56. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Thank you Wendy for stopping in and giving us an Eric update. Stories of surgery for Cushings are rare, so it is good to hear this success. :joyful:
     
    Ana & Frosty (GA) likes this.
  57. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    That is great news about Eric. Especially about his fur and general health. i'm glad the surgery went well. There have not been many surgery cases reported in the U.S. because of the expense.
     
    Ana & Frosty (GA) likes this.
  58. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    So sorry to see that Shmee is back on insulin and still not himself. Hang in there. But good to hear that Titan is doing ok. And I didn't know about Eric, so good to hear that his surgery went well.

    Sophie is, as always, a mystery wrapped up in an enigma. Healthwise, she is doing quite well - we're stabilized on thyroid and steroid levels, since we saw Dr. McCue last year. She is on needle juice of desmo every 36 hours, but my gut is saying that she just needs to take her own sweet time with this. She is starting to use the litter box instead of pee pads, although she continues to stubbornly poop on the pads. Her coat is much thicker and lush than it has ever been, but its taken a good year for it to get this way.

    The major change, though, has been her personality. She is actually becoming quite affectionate and likes to sit with my spouse on the couch in the morning. We also brought another cat into the household (another girl) in December, and they are getting along fine. It took a while before Sophie learned that she wasn't allowed to steal Angie's food, but she now understands that she has to wait and, if Angie leaves something, she can have it.

    Her weight is stable at 12.5 lbs. She had been looking porky, but, with the decrease in steroid, she is more muscular, though not svelte, but she is a big girl and doesn't look fat. She gets a third of a can of Fancy Feast pate four times a day and gets a half of a freeze dried chicken neck as a treat a few times a week. My spouse does spoil her and gives her a bit of lunch meat or cheese while she is making her lunchtime sandwich and we give her the butter dish to lick clean. But, no more issues with counter surfing, though she does like to watch while we cook. Still, we don't have to be anal anymore about cleaning everything up before we actually eat. Amazingly, she does finally seem to have some brakes on her behavior when it comes to food.

    Its been almost 2 years, though. I often get discouraged with the fact that she is still on desmo, but I just have to keep reminding myself that it is a marathon, not a sprint. Like we are going through now with the Covid-19 process.....
     
  59. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Wow, it has been 2 years already. And almost 2 years for Shmee as well.

    Nice to hear this great report about Sophie. Overall, those sound like pretty minor issues. And the eating issues (begging etc) seem to happen with non-diabetic cats too. Scoobs (GA) used to beg and try to get food persistently, and he wasn't diabetic. It is great to hear that Sophie's personality is affectionate as well. You are lucky - she is getting along with the new kitteh. We still have Chinus and Little Dude, and Chinus is so mean - she really doesn't like our orange puffball Little Dude.
     
  60. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Titan's Two Year Report
    It's nearly all good news. His general well being continues to improve slowly. Apart from excessive drinking and deafness he is a perfectly normal 15 year old cat. He is a very happy cat, purrs whenever he meets a human, goes outside to patrol and mark his territory, eats well, plays with his sister most mornings, comes to find us and sit with us at regular times of day. He has developed a liking for Goat's cheese and Goat's Yoghurt, and can be quite vociferous in asking for a taste. 20200831_072313.jpg
     
  61. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    All in all we have no regrets about the surgery. We had some doubts for the first few months, but TITAN has given and received so much love and a affection, and continues to do so, that it all seems well worth it.
     
  62. Wendy & Eric

    Wendy & Eric New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Wow Titan looks fab and great to hear his 2 year check up went well. Thank you for all the updates reading these and others convinced me to go ahead with hypophysectomy for Eric, it is now 13 months since op and I have no regrets he leads a normal life. All generally fine but he is losing weight, bloods revealed his T4 was very high 138! We reduced the Leventa to 0.02 and still T4 in 70’s. So now we have stopped all together the last 3 weeks. We went to RVC for blood tests last Thursday and awaiting results .
     
  63. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Great reports on Titan and Eric. And a great picture of Titan relaxing and enjoying life.
     
  64. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Paws and Fingers crossed, Soph might FINALLY be off of desmopressin, only 50 months post surgery..... She had been getting nj of desmo every 36 hours for quite a while, probably at least 18 months. Just recently I had been able to get samples pretty regularly and was getting urine Specific Gravities of 1.20 to 1.022 +32 hours etc. after her shot. This is the only way we are able to objectively test to see how well our post-surgical felines are doing with regards to level of that medication. Then, voila, just recently, got a 1.024 @ + 45 after I started doing 48 hour cycles instead... This is a Magic Number as Dr. McCue had indicated that when she is able to generate specific gravity in the mid 1.02's, we could consider her to be OTJ with regards to desmo.

    I had just started the 48 hr cycles the last week in October. You can check out her spreadsheet. Please note that I have just started recording her weight several times a day during the past few days, as I have had her on a diet for at least the past month, and she really doesn't seem to be losing. I did a little research on desmopressin, and noted that side effects include water retention, and lethargy. Started wondering if her body was jettisoning the excess fluid in her tissues as the desmo dosage wore off. Today she just passed 60 hours since her last minuscule shot, and she is drinking and peeing like a normal cat.

    Just want to pass on my observations in case they are of use of anyone else. All of the experience with regards to insulin and weaning from that drug DO apply to weaning from the desmo...Hopefully others can follow the same process. And, as always, it takes an extreme amount of patience....
     
  65. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Almost 4 days into Sophie's weeklong off the desmo trial, sg of 1.018 today. Not a deal breaker. Hoping for other samples within the next few days before the week is up. Like with weaning from insulin, weaning from desmo is data driven. And the only easy data to obtain is urine specific gravity. That and observing her behavior. She is definitely more perky not having had a shot for close to 4 days, and it shows me that the desmo, even though it is just a tiny little amount in the form of needle juice (which vets like to call hub shot), she has significant reaction to it. TG I have the info from everyone on how they wean their kitties from insulin and my own experience with this to draw on as the process DOES apply, just moves at a different pace. And, as always, ECID!!!
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2020
  66. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    That is great news. ~25 months after pituitary removal. Sophie has been one of those cases that Dr. McCue probably would like to use as a great success story. I hope the OTJ off desmopressin lasts. It is odd how each cat responds differently to the same procedures.
     
  67. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Well, not OTJ yet. Stopped at 60 hrs in, still, she is giving me 1.022 -1.024 pretty late in the cycle. Just found a sample that has to be +43-44, and it was 1.024 with a bullet! If she can give me that sort of specific gravity at +60, we will know she is OTJ. I am still using the same vial of desmo that I got more than 8 months ago, even though it is technically expired as of August as I figure it is ok if it isn't so potent. I had wanted to get a concentration that is half of what Wedgewood compounds (0.1%), so this will have to substitute for that.... Have a new vial in reserve, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I won't be opening it. No worries, as I have a friend whose cat has Diabetes Insipitus, so I can always send it to her as she does injectibles, too.
     
  68. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Well Done Sue !!!! It's a great achievement and an example to the rest of us. I feel quite ashamed to admit that we have never taken a home urine sample for Titan. We are just giving him the desmo eye drops and waiting for him to stop peeing and drinking so much. And waiting....and waiting.... but as you say we are just flying blind. Still he seems happy enough.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  69. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Well, at this point, I am playing it by ear with Sophie. She doesn't seem to want to be on any fixed schedule for her Desmo shots. I just key off of increased drinking/peeing. She makes it easy on me in some ways as she is a picky girl and will only use a pee pad and I have 2 of those in litter boxes, plus a couple more place on the floor. Better to go along with her wants/needs than fight a battle I will never win. I can get lucky and find that she has either pushed a pad aside in one of the boxes when she peed or happen to be downstairs where the boxes are when she is peeing, so I can also push the pad aside. Then I can get a good clean sample to measure. No way I could do this if she was a normal cat and used the boxes with the kitty litter.
     
  70. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Girl decided to leave me a nice sample in the box this morning - sg 1.024!!! That was after close to 72 hrs since her last dose. I was dumbfounded. Dr. McCue said that we have to base when to stop by her specific gravity and the goal is mid 1.02s. I am not calling it as off of Desmo, but it seems like extending the time between doses has made her kitty brain wake up more and get with the program to make its own desmo. You have to realize that she is getting an infinitesimal amount of that drug - needle juice of the drug at a 0.01% concentration. And the bottle I am using is expired, manufactured in February 2020, expiration date of 8/10/20. I am using the expired stuff on purpose (yes, I do have a new vial, but haven't opened it yet). I really wanted to try a dosage that is half of the .01% or 0.005, but the compounding lab doesn't seem to make that. But, my gut is saying that she is finally getting there. Take a gander at her spreadsheet if you are interested.
     
    Amanda & Shmee and JeffJ like this.
  71. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    That is really great news and great results after all this time. I am glad to see Sophie have a nice recovery. It sounds like Sophie will be needle free pretty darned soon. A good gift for the holidays!
     
    sbluhrs likes this.
  72. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    It's been 26 and a half months since her surgery. Dr. McCue indicated that 75% of the cats come off the Desmo within 3 weeks. He didn't mention any that had taken a couple of years or so to get with the program. Wondering if the CBD oil that I added to her diet regularly a few weeks ago are the triggering factor for her to just go a little bit more. She'd been on a 36 hour cycle since early Sept 2019. I had tried longer intervals before that, but she just wasn't ready. Then, in April, I started playing around with 48s. Just trying to work between sg data and her behavior. Something that I notice is that her sg is higher with an overnight or early morning pee, just like humans, and later in the day tends to be a bit more dilute. Consistent with consumption of food, etc. throughout the day. She also likes a particular waterbowl more than the other one and I can track if that bowl seems to be emptier.

    The best part of fewer desmo shots is that she is definitely perkier. From what I ready about humans, desmo can make you lethargic if the dosage is too high. That is consistent with how she is when she gets her shot.

    Playing it by ear, its all undiscovered territory at this point....
     
    Amanda & Shmee and JeffJ like this.
  73. Ana & Frosty (GA)

    Ana & Frosty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Hi all, stopping by because a friend’s cat was diagnosed with DM so I told her about this site. Wanted to catch up on the kitties who had the surgery. I am glad that over all it seems most are improving, although at their own unique rate, I can’t believe it’s been 2 years since Shmee’s surgery, I remember following along closely with his progress. I hope everyone is staying well during this crazy time! Nice to see familiar names on the board still :)
     
  74. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Just slowly plodding down the road to getting Soph off the desmo. We've been doing 5-6 days between shots. Just got a sample at +30 and sg was 1.032. Per available info, the desmo only stays in their little bodies for 12-24 hours, so the fact that she was able to generate a specific gravity in the 1.03s was amazing....Just 2 weeks ago, I got a sg of 1.020 at +32. So my tactic of longer delays between shots seems to be working and encouraging her brain to get with the program and make that last little bit of Desmo internally.

    Also have been rigorous about giving her some CBD oil concentrate 3 meals a day, and that might be helping, too.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  75. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    The news with Sophie just gets better and better. This will always be a good thread for future hyphysectomy patients. It was always unfortunate that Shmee's behavior changed so much. I guess the old adage "each cat is different" still holds true with these surgeries.
     
    Amanda & Shmee and sbluhrs like this.
  76. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Was hoping that Soph would be allowing me to consistently extend time between shots longer, but not able to get any consistent pattern so far. In general, though, the trend is positive. Literally just got a sample at +48 of 1.024 and that means no shot. I've had to key off of how much water she seems to consume, as I haven't gotten any samples lately, but lucked onto her just peeing in one of the boxes, so I was able to grab a good sample.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  77. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Sooo very close to OTJ. Just got a good clean sample at +94, 1.024. I am setting my benchmark at 1.026, so we are very close. Of course, I'd like her to be in the 1.03plus area, but this is a very good trend. Take a peak at Soph's spreadsheet if you are interested.
     
  78. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Sophie's spreadsheet looks nice and boring. And I mean that in very good way. She could be a case study for how well a hypophysectomy (pituitary removal) can go. Great BG and desmo levels. I hope the trend continues.
     
  79. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Oh well, it was too good to be true, but my refractometor calibration was .008 off. So she is definitely not even close to OTJ re: the Desmo, and we are going back to the 36 hour cycle. Not that that is a bad thing, but I was really hoping that her brain was getting with the program.

    On a positive note, her coat looks INCREDIBLE!!! She's been getting Alaskan Salmon oil with 3 of her 4 meals a deal and a few drops of CBD oil at the same time. Her coat is lush, thick and velvety, with a definite undercoat. So thick that I have to make sure to take the Furminator to her every so often. Back before her surgery, it was rather thin and greasy, and she had no undercoat to speak of. Of course, she is rather roly poly, but she IS almost 9 at this point, so she looks like the proper middle aged kitty. Still LOVES her food, so we don't allow certain things, but she is definitely spoiled rotten.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2021
    JeffJ likes this.
  80. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How did you find out that the reading was 0.08 off?
     
  81. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Sophie had a vet visit recently, and I brought in a urine sample. The vet's SG was .008 different than the number I got. I went to my refractometer and discovered that the calibration was off. (recalibrated it, and I got a number consistent with what the vet had).
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2021
  82. Amanda & Shmee

    Amanda & Shmee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Hi everyone, I still cant believe this is real.. but about two weeks ago I put my Shmee down... He was showing neurological signs that was getting worse... I was terrified it was gettiing worse so quickly and the possibility of seizures that I made the decision. Here is the link to my post in the Lantus group. I hope all of your kitties are doing well and I genuinely am so happy the surgery went well for all of you (for the most part except some slip ups). This community has been such a godsend for me. Thank you for being there for me, and I will definetely be checking up on everyone in the future. I added photos to the Lantus thread but I could not help but add more here. I did not want to take up a lot of this thread so I made a new one in the Lantus group here. I have more details and photos in it. <3
     

    Attached Files:

  83. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Some great pics Amanda. I posted in the other thread. I will light a candle for your sweet little man tonight - may his spirit shine bright.
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/rip-my-shmee.244894/

    The brightest candles burn the quickest. Your sweet boy had a wonderful life with you. His journey to the Bridge was gentle. He was a good boy.:rb_icon:
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2021
    Amanda & Shmee likes this.
  84. Wendy & Eric

    Wendy & Eric New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2019
    Sorry to be the bearer of sad news following on from Amanda and Shmee's email, I had to say goodbye to my little Eric . Nothing to do with the hypopthysectomy which was a huge success for us. The little man had developed a huge tumour in his small intestine, he went for a check up in January and my vet felt nothing then. We were checking his T4 levels every 3 months prior previous blood tests revealing he didn't need the Laventa (thyroxine) anymore as he was producing his own. I was struggling to get him to eat hence I returned to the vets the beginning of March and this is when she felt the tumour plus he had lost nearly 1kg in weight. Further ultrasound and fine needle aspiration identified Lymphoma, we tried Prednislone but his decline was too rapid and we called it a day. I was contacted by RVC for an oncology appointment but unfortunately events had overtaken us.

    For all those considering the operation for pituitary removal I have no regrets and would do it all again. Having lost a previous cat to Cushings this operation gave me back my Eric for 20 months. I do wonder if the excessive Cortisol produced by the Cushings did keep Lymphoma at bay and by curing this we let the beast within grow? Genetically I guess Eric was destined to get Lymphoma as his brother was PTS at the young age of 2 with exactly the same. Now they are reunited ❤️.
     
  85. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hi Wendy, I'm so very sorry to read that you lost your Eric. That is so sad. It sounds like you managed several different conditions with him. Again, I am very sorry.
     
  86. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Wendy, I am sorry to hear the news. :bighug:It sounds like Eric had a great 20 months post surgery. Too many times we've seen cats get treatment and pass from something completely different.
     
  87. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Sorry to hear you have lost Eric. He had a great life with you. I hope you can treasure his memories through pictures. You could be right about the hormone balance letting something else happen. But we will never know about that, or why our kittehs get Acro in the first place. I hope Eric had a gentle landing at the Rainbow Bridge, he was loved.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  88. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    More updates on Sophie. She is still on Desmo and we are back on the 36 hour cycle. I have resigned myself to her being on this the rest of her life. I guess her brain and other organs are just doing all they can do to compensate for the lack of pituitary, so it just won't get to the point where she is off it totally.

    Her biggest problem has been her weight. And I think I have finally figured out how to deal with this. She is a very very very food motivated cat. She LOVES food, she will do ANYTHING for food. So, using that, I figured to take a clue from dog trainers who use treats for motivation and my own education in Operant Conditioning (Have BA in Psychology, from the State University at Stony Brook, NY, and the psychology department there is heavy into operant conditioning). I give my other two cats some Young Again Zero crunchies in microchip feeds (using the feeders so that Sophie won't gorge herself on the dry food, because she would) and twice a day, when I walk downstairs to check cat boxes, etc., call her to come downstairs and give her a few crunchies there. Now, every time I go down into the basement, she has to make sure she follows me, just in case she will get a treat. Well, on a very rare occasion, she might get one, but that is only done to keep her offbalance and hoping that she will get something EVERY time she goes downstairs.

    This is working like a charm. She has dropped 1/2 lb since the beginning of the month. So, it was really not a matter of feeding her less, but feeding her more, with more activity. And, with this weight loss, she is more active, running around the house on occasion, poking into what we are doing, etc.

    As to her other medical issues, she just had a vet visit on 4/2, and everything is stable. Thyroid level good, steroid doesn't need to be changed dosage wise, kidney numbers good (despite the typical drinking more than a normal cat and peeing more in certain points of her desmo cycle). So, I guess she is set to live many more years. She is approx. 8 & a half now, so she still has a good portion of her life in front of her. She is getting along well with the other two, just not cuddle buddies with either, but that is ok. Very quiet girl, except when Mealtime comes around when she has to SHOUT about how happy she is that she is getting fed.
     
    NyCatMom and JeffJ like this.
  89. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Sophie is lucky to have you. So many owners on the forum are like you - dedicated to their cat's health. I think Sophie is fortunate that the surgery went well, and that the minor medical issues have been relatively small. I will not be surprised - to hear updates about Sophie 10 years from now. She is really doing great.
     
    sbluhrs likes this.
  90. John Irene and TITAN

    John Irene and TITAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Titan's third anniversary after surgery has just passed . He is still a happy, loving cat, now 16 years old and showing his age. He can jump up onto chairs (just) eats quite well . However he still drinks and pees a lot and is on thrice daily 1/4 of a 1.25 mg desmopressin tablet. Which doesn't seem to be making any impact. He is still deaf. He still has a thyroid supplement, blood pressure medication and hydrocortisone daily. Misty, his sister, is still going strong, although losing a little weight, now about 4.5 kilos. They are both great cats, and we are very lucky to have shared time with them. We do not regret Titan's surgery.
     
    Karen&Rocket and JeffJ like this.
  91. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That is so wonderful to hear that Titan is doing so well. And Misty, too!
     
  92. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Thanks for the update John! Always good to hear longer term how the kitties are doing after pituitary surgery.
     
  93. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    What a great status report. And good results even after all this time. We all know that many cats don't even make it to 16 - even if they don't have Acro or diabetes. Thank you for the great update. I am so happy that Titan is doing so well.
     
  94. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Geez, just realized that I missed Soph's anniversary for her surgery. Can't believe its been 3 years.

    She is still a round girl, but I've decided not to stress over it. She isn't eating mass quantities of food, her metabolism is just slow, even with the thyroid meds. I've been on thyroid meds myself since 2000, so I can understand how, even with the medication, your body just wants to hold onto the weight.

    She is definitely a different cat than when we got her. She is still food focused, but she just likes to hang out with us now and sit next to my spouse on the couch and give and get love. She gets along with the other cats even if she isn't one to be snuggling with them. When we first got her, she went out of her way to let them know that she had to be the Alpha, but she doesn't seem to really care about that at all now. She looks at our other female cat as her equal and will, on occasion, hang out with her on the same piece of furniture, or on the table right next to her.

    Her coat is SOOOO Lush. Seriously!! It was always rather greasy and thin before surgery and for a short time after, but now her coat is so thick and soft. Sometimes she gets a bit lazy with her grooming, but, in general, she is taking good care of herself.

    Still on Desmopressin. We've gone back to once every 24 hours, as she would start drinking a lot when the 24 hour mark hit, and, the daily shot seems to be helping her just chill out.

    Nothing else has changed, meds wise. When I check her BG every few months, it is always spot on, in the 70s. Her periodic blood checks are always good - I record them in her spreadsheet.

    Hope you all have been well.
     
    Karen&Rocket likes this.
  95. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Glad to hear such a stellar status. Sophie is doing really well after 3 years. That's a long time in the cat-world.

    You may want to consider giving an update to AMC in NYC. I sent yearly updates to the SRT center in Ft Collins after Leo's SRT. I think it is good for them to hear the success stories and longevity. It can help future kittehs.
     
  96. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Good idea, Jeff. Just shot off an email to Soph's surgeon, John McCue at AMC. I am sure he will be happy to hear about how she is doing..
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  97. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Amazingly, Sophie is no longer the porky girl she was just a few months ago. Portion control definitely has made a difference. Just had a vet visit this past week which showed her weight to be just about 12 lbs, down from 13.2 lbs in May. Yeah, she looked like a little bowling ball then, but slow and steady has gotten her to a more reasonable weight. Now I just have to figure out how to keep her at this level....
     
  98. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Always good news with Sophie, and I'm glad to hear it.
    When you figure out the magic of weight control - please tell us all! For our humans and kittehs!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  99. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Jeff, so far, it just seems that portion control is doing it. And cutting down on the human food goodies....
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  100. sbluhrs

    sbluhrs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    I guess no news is good news, eh? Sophie has been pretty stable, meds all at the same level, desmo shot once a day. Sometimes just settling into a doable routine is the best result. And the meds she is on cost a whole lot less than insulin..... BTW, haven't been taking BG readings very often, but when I do, she is consistently at normal levels... So Acro was really her only issue. Still, I'm keeping all of my cats on a diabetic diet because it is just plain healthier for them...
     
    JeffJ and Suzanne & Darcy like this.

Share This Page