Prozinc works once then stops

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by rtoler, Aug 14, 2022.

1. rtoler

rtoler New Member

Hi, I’m relatively new at this diabetes treatment, and I’m totally confused. When my Oreo was diagnosed a few weeks ago, the pro zinc seemed to work, but then her numbers wouldn’t come below 350. The vet tried glargine last week and the numbers stayed above 400, so Friday we put her back on prozinc. The first dose brought her down to 240 and I was really excited, thinking we were on the right track. After the first injection she dipped to 350, then right back up. Shes at 4 units now and eats glycobalance. I’m at my wits end all and any advice would be appreciated!

2. Suzanne & Darcy

Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

Hi there! Welcome. When was your kitty diagnosed? What was the fructosamine level at diagnosis? I do hope the diagnosis was made with a fruc test, but if not it would be helpful to know the BG level. Are you home testing? Are you keeping track of the blood glucose (BG). The “glycobalance” food is too high carb for a diacat, but we can work on diet. Try not to worry. I know what it’s like. We are here to help.

3. Suzanne & Darcy

Oh, also I can’t really comment too much until you have some data - a spreadsheet- to help analyze the insulin given and BG recorded. I hope you have some because we definitely want to keep your baby safe.

4. rtoler

rtoler New Member